Copied without credits: plagiarizers on read.cash beware

5 32
Avatar for M3i
Written by
3 years ago

While going through some articles in the home page section of the read.cash platform I observed that some articles had topic tags. It was at that point that I also observed that a topic tab had been included to the left of the search bar which is quite a welcome development. This will further help users who are interested in particular topics or areas easily locate articles that fall within that category or area of interest.

I was therefore excited to begin editing my past articles to tag or include them in the topic which I feel they best fit in. I had successfully tagged my most recent article only to get an error prompt with the second article that there was an article with very similar content on the platform hence I couldn't save the updates I had made. At this point I engaged the search tab to locate the said article and located it.

From the few lines of the article which appeared in the search results, something seemed eerily familiar so I proceeded to open the article. Lo and behold, my entire article had been lifted and republished by an unscrupulous user. The only thing the culprit did was to include some additional images which were largely out of sync with the copied text.

I was indeed dismayed and vowed to ensure that the culprit was reported promptly to the read.cash support team. I quickly got the links for my original article as well as the plagiarized one copied to my Google notes app and thereafter mailed hello@read.cash. Within a few minutes of my mail being sent, I got a reply from the read.cash support that the plagiarized article had been deleted.

I must commend the read.cash admin for the great job of maintaining sanity on this platform especially the promptness with which complaints are addressed. I was really impressed with the speed with which this particular case was handled.

To other users who have had similar experience with their articles, do not hesitate to contact hello@read.cash with your complaints. I am very sure if you notify the support team, the issue will be addressed. To aid the support team I suggest the following

  1. For the title of your mail to hello@read.cash include the title of the article that has been plagiarized.

  2. In the body of the email, state when your article was originally published and also when the plagiarised one appeared on the site or when you discovered it.

  3. Lastly and very importantly include the links for your original article and the plagiarized article

These were the steps I followed to lodge my complaint and hopefully other users with similar issues will find it useful in getting justice for the unlawful copying of their content on this platform.

Update: Hello@read.cash has drawn my attention to the fact that for faster response, the report function accessed by pressing the three dots below the name of the erring user should be used. See screenshots below

I also observed that the user who plagiarized my content was apparently commenting on his own article in the guise of being a different user. Most of the comments bore the same username but with different digits at the end. What I mean is that if the plagiarizer's username for example was :

@plagiarizer01

there were comments from @ plagiarizer011, @plagiarizer055 e.t.c.

indicating that it was the same user making comments on his own article but with multiple accounts. I honestly do not know what such individuals hope to gain from this act of dishonesty but be warned if you plagiarize my article I will not let it slide. I will ensure that I report you to the appropriate authorities and I am sure justice will be served.

I urge hardworking writers on this platform to always report cases of plagiarism appropriately and never turn a blind eye. These individuals shouldn't be encouraged in any way to persist in their crimes and smear the image of this platform.

On a final note, the algorithm of @TheRandomRewarder may need some tweaking to further improve it's efficiency at checkmating plagiarizers. I am still trying to figure out how the plagiarized article slipped by the anti-plagiarism check which is quite good. I hope if any vulnerability exists that these plagiarizers are exploiting it is fixed as soon as possible.

Shukran

Danke

Merci

Gracias

ขอบคุณ

ধন্যবাদ

Спасибо

for reading.

8
$ 0.73
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of M3i
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for M3i
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You seem like a favorite of those spammers 😅 I also saw that some of my articles are saved for no reason and I should start doing what you did and see if someone plagiarized my articles again. Thanks for the update.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I should probably get a plagiarizer repellant 😆

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

haha you should 😂 They usually target you lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good thing read.cash admin is very active and alert.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i bookmarked this. haha. 😅

detailed reports like this is what the community needs to keep running.🏃

because of your information this makes it easier for others that try to always write their best, to help safeguard against those that just seek to steal 😑.

anyway, if they want to steal, they should "steal like an artist" go google that book by austin kleon. it will teach you the proper mentality for content creators. 📚. highly recommended 😀.

$ 0.00
3 years ago