An Unexpected Holy Week Mini-Medical Mission

4 26
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

The original plan was just to stay home for the rest of the week, that is until Sunday, because Monday would be back to work. Also we had a memo from the hospital that for health workers receiving the 2nd dose of vaccine next week, we should be staying home, that means no travels and no big gatherings. So, when my mom asked me to buy her stuff for the "binignit" (this is like a sweet porridge cooked with coconut milk, glutinous rice, sweet potato, 'saba' banana and etc.) Anyway, this is really a delicious tradition during Holy Week and going back to the topic, I just bought the ingredients in a nearby fruit stand to avoid the crowd in the market. Thus, complying with the hospital's advice for us awaiting the 2nd shot of the Covid19 vaccine. I hope.

However, this morning as I was helping my mom prepare the ingredients for her "binignit," our neighbor came telling us that a family friend needs his blood pressure checked because he got dizzy in a nearby small local market. I fix myself in a rush, put on my face mask and brought with me my Blood Pressure Apparatus. As soon as I was outside, I realized that he might be in the market so I went back to get my faceshield, for an additional protection, just in case. Remember: We really have to protect ourselves first before we go out and help others.

Aloha! 😜

As I had expected, he was in the marketplace since they own this small stall selling vegetables and other commodities. I ask him if he was okay and replied to me that he was not feeling dizzy anymore, but his wife insisted that she want to know his blood pressure since monitoring isn't always available for them. And, I agree with her, there is no free BP check up in the community ever indeed. One can get access in the local health center but this is not convenient for the working class or the small-scale stall owners in the market who are so busy early in the morning until late in the afternoon.

As I was taking his BP, his wife was asking me to take hers too. Another woman noticed me checking on them and asked if I could do it for her too, and this reached in the neighboring stalls as well and I have to stay a bit longer to check on their blood pressure too -Β  and it got me thinking 'what an unexpected Holy Week Mini-Medical Mission?" lol! πŸ˜‚

I think out of 10 people I have seen today, 6 have borderline Hypertension. Moreover, I had adviced them to exercise, a 30-40min. Walk is always a good exercise for hypertensives and if possible see a doctor for medication prescription. Some would shrug off saying that their work in the market is more than an exercise but I would still insist that leg exercise is more effective to maintain a normal blood pressure. I have seen 2 more elderly women with painful knees, one swollen and adviced them to lose weight because they look overweight for sure joints in the lower limbs are already complaining, and also minimize long hours of standing and walking for joint conservation. Of course, all medical advices are apt from a Physical Therapist knowledge, I would still recommend them to see a doctor if the need arise.

The fruit of my labor πŸ˜‚πŸŽπŸ˜Š

At around 3pm I'm headed home carrying some fruits and vegetables from the vendors I've seen in the market. I refused to take money, so they insisted to accept the bananas, some cucumber, apples, orange and mandarin. My bag is full, and my heart as well. I am sweating from face down to my back, but I'm still smiling. That was my first time in an unexpected medical mission - alone but I know Someone above is smiling for what I have done.

Indeed, literally a Good Friday.

Photo is mine

_____________

Photos are Mine.

_____________

Write your world and earn! Scroll up and SIGN UP for FREE!

#MiniMedicalMission #HolyWeek #GoodFriday

5
$ 4.20
$ 3.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @ChrisMarie
+ 1
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Comments

Wow tumayo pa balahibo ko sa last word galing naman po napakalaking tulong din na may therapist ma kagaya mo na handang tumulong ng walang hinihinging kapalit good job oo and with that God will blessed you more😍

$ 0.02
3 years ago

That was so wonderful! May the Lord bless you. I can feel your happiness through the screen for I was also smiling the whole time i'm reading this. What a good Friday indeed!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bless your heart for doing this wonderful act. Most of them would really just don't mind their blood pressure, no matter how much you try to convince them it is a serious matter. But they would always take every opportunity to be seen and checked, however work and money would always be an issue. Btw, I, too, am on the medical side, a medical student.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I always try to help when someone calls me to get BP checked. Just a very simple task for me that would make a big impact to these busy people. Yeah ive read one article from you mentioning that you're a medical student. God bless you too and i'm sure you'll be helping a lot of people too one day. Thanks sa tip 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago