Meat on Eid al-Adha

6 50
Avatar for Luna1999
2 years ago

Two days ago, I got a meat pick-up coupon. For Muslims, Eid al-Adha is a big day. Livestock such as cows, goats, and sheep are slaughtered and the meat is distributed to anyone in need. Btw, I am not a Muslim, nor am I an Indonesian citizen.

Both of my parents are Buddhists, although I don't follow any particular faith, my friends and the neighbourhood where I live are predominantly Muslim. I am still a Malaysian citizen, I came to Indonesia only to complete my study program.

I rented a house near campus, one day before the Eid al-Adha celebration, someone called me from outside the house and gave me 1 coupon for meat pick up. At that time I was surprised and asked in my mind, why did I get it? Even though I am not a Muslim and not a native of Indonesia. Even during the Eid al-Adha celebration, I was also given two plastic wrappers of beef and mutton by my neighbour. Each pack of meat weighs 1 kg.

I don't know how to process meat, I'm not smart enough to cook let alone process meat into delicious dishes. In food preparation, I usually only saute and boil vegetables, fry eggs and make instant noodles. When I want to eat meat, I usually only buy ready-to-cook. Geez, how do I cook these meats? In the end, I gave these meats to my friends so that they could be made into delicious dishes. After all, she is very good at making dishes. Every time I visited her house, I was always given delicious food by her mother.

Here I can find out about the beauty of Muslims in terms of sharing. The Muslim religion has a view called "Rahmatan Lil'alamin" which is to give love to the universe. If explored more deeply, Muslims do not discriminate against anyone to get good. All races, all ethnicities, all religions have the same right to get blessings and goodness. So, even though the people in my environment know that I am a non-Muslim, I am also treated the same as other Muslims, namely being treated well as a human being. I am sure that not only does one religion teaches this kind of practice, other religions also teach to give love to all people. Even when I was a child I was also taught compassion towards the Buddha Dharma.

So, the essence of the discussion of this article is, Giving goodness and blessings is the obligation of all people. Both religious and non-religious. Help all people when they need help. Be it food, clothes, or whatever. Because giving will not make us poor, and stinginess will not make us rich. Hopefully, this short article is useful for friends here who read it. thank you

All photos in this article are my own.

9
$ 0.86
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @Pearlkel
Sponsors of Luna1999
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Luna1999
2 years ago

Comments

i think you are an veganism.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no, im not vegan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eat well and have blessing of this holy occasion of muslim and islam. This meat have more healthy effects. This is great service really hat off for those guys who are doing such well mannged and great work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think every beef and mutton does have nutritional value, and if you eat too much it will cause cholesterol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a Christina and I do not eat the meat, my faith does not allow me eat. I appreciate the fact that charity and love is discussed at the levels of nearly all religion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's good if you don't eat meat. In Buddhism it is also not allowed to eat meat. It's just that it's a form of compulsion. not a desire from the heart. I still eat meat, but don't eat much of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago