A Blast from the Past

22 35
Avatar for Luna09
Written by
3 years ago

When we get old(not that old though), we tend to think of our past, memories, from our childhood until today. Like what I am doing right now, Lol!

I was born in Davao del Sur. My grandparents on the mother's side are from Makilala while my father's side is from Cotabato. I love how simple our life back there. Although we have simple food and simple life, we were happy. Our house was built along the road. It was a nipa hut. Our houses were like in a row. From my Lola's house to our house then to my Tita Daka's house.

When I entered elementary, I went to Don Juan dela Cruz Elementary School, from grade 1 to grade 2, together with my Tita Leah who was grade 6, and my cousin Michael who was also in first grade same as me. It was a long walk from our house to school, but it was not very tiresome for us because we enjoyed our journey to school.

Our school has a very big playground if my memory serves me right. We always play hide and seek and tag it. My cousin and I were in the same class. On the first day of our class, our teacher thought that we were twins because we were always dressed alike. The school uniform was not a must at that time so we always wear our best casual clothes.

My cousin is a bright student and I would say, so am I. We were always on top of our class. He is good at Mathematics while I am good at English and Science. We always helped each other with our school assignments. Then one time, our teacher gave us a quiz. But on that day, my cousin was not feeling well, so I told him to keep quiet and I would answer his quiz on his behalf.

When our teacher was checking our paper, she noticed that it has the same handwriting and same score. So she asked us about it, she asked if who among us answered those quiz. I was trembling because I thought she would punish us for what I did. But I still told her the truth. I told her that my cousin was not feeling well so I answered his quiz for him. She just laughed and said not to do it again.

When the school year has ended, my cousin transferred to his Lola's hometown. I was left behind together with my 2 uncles and my Aunt Gingging. At that time, the rest of our family transferred to Manila. Although most of the time, I was alone in our house, I don't feel lonely. I feel independent at the age of 8 already. Most of the time my 2 uncles were always outside together with their friends and my Aunt Gingging was busy with her studies. I always eat alone, washed our clothes and clean our house.

I am not afraid even if I fell asleep with our door wide open that time.

Then the school year starts, I was in grade 2 and I could still remember how terror my teacher was. She always gives us a slight spank and hit us if we gave a wrong answer. So even though I know the answer, I didn't dare to raise my hand. But I think she acknowledges my ability because every time there was a quiz bee or an event that needed some students to participate, she would always have me on it.

The picture above is my school when I was in grades 1 and 2. On that same spot, I recited the Star Scout Promise. I was trembling and very nervous that time and I think I sweat a lot too, lol!

But before that, let me tell you how I ended up reciting the Star Scout Promise. I wasn't the first choice, my classmate Lorena( I still remember her because she is so beautiful, like smooth skin and everything). I was scribbling at the corner of our room. When suddenly my teacher called me and told me to memorize the Star Scout Promise. I need to recite it in front of our class the next day so I did my best to do it. The next morning, me and Lorena we're told to come in front and recite the star scout promise. Lorena was first to recite but she was stammering most of the time. Then my time came, I was nervous but I can proudly say I did a great job because, after that, I was chosen to do the task. I was so proud of myself back then.

When the school year has ended, I became the first honor and Lorena was the fourth honor in our class. I feel so proud of myself but I had no one to share my achievements with. Though it was fine with me, I get used to it. The only regret that I have was I don't have pictures with all those memories! If only camera phones were common at that time, I definitely had more photos and selfies than most of my daughter had right now, lol!

So, take a picture more often because photos will serve as memories that will be treasured forever.

That's it guys, thank you for patiently reading my story!

Related article;

Unforgettable


8
$ 0.26
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @SassySissy
+ 2
Sponsors of Luna09
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Luna09
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

What great memories. Life back then was so simple. I miss my childhood.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, simple life means happy life.. It is refreshing to reminisce memories like that..

Thanks for the upvote..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome. I am a new user here, by the way. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh,, welcome to read.cash. Can't wait to read your articles..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganyan talaga and buhay dito sa probisnya,simpleng simple lang,kakatuwa from Makilala pla ang grandparents mo ganda dyan lalo na ngayon,daming flowers dzai. Bisaya jud diay ka.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oo dzai, bisdak jud ko. I remember going sa Makilala njn gamay pa ko kaayo. Sige mig ligo sa sapa, nindut jud kaayo diha..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gani,laag puhon dri

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kung makakwarta ko puhon malaag jud ko diha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's always nice reminiscing the memories we have in childhood. I think I should write mine too 😅

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hahaha,, of course. I would definitely want to read your experiences jeaneth..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree that when you get old, you will always be brought on the memory lane. Small things will make you feel nostalgic and I love reading this experience because it helped me reminisce on my experiences as a kid. I told you on my comment in noise that I can't recall any unforgettable experience, but reading this made me realize that my most unforgettable experiences were my experiences when I was still in grade school. Maybe I should just write about it 😊

$ 0.01
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Hahah,, i told you.. Yeah, i agree with you that mostly our memorable experiences came from when were in grade school because that was the time when we have learned our every "first"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti na lang nag comment ka sa article ko, ang hirap kasi hanapin ng bago mo 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Ako din nahirapan, pag type ko un sc iba lumalabas😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is such a nice memory to relive ate Mel. I am so proud of your achievements as a kid. You have mentioned you have no one to share it to but look now, you are sharing it to the world. I hope in reading more of your experiences. Its just so full of wisdom.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you sassy, and also thank you for the sponsorship! ❤❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome ate. Keep sharing your wonderful memories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will, thank you for ecouraging me..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

memories of 1990 to 2005 is the best hahaha

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hahaha, of course. Im sure we have our own memories to share.

$ 0.00
3 years ago