Ways to handle stress

0 4
Avatar for Love_16
2 years ago

As humans, we have all experienced stress at some point in our lives. It might be because of studies, job, relationship, personal life and other factors which contribute why you feel stressed out.

Stress can also be experienced by animals and all ages of human. This often leads to further complications if not cured right away. Stress can also be life threatening if not addressed properly.

In my previous articles, I shared with you my health struggles which I'm experiencing again at the moment. I had to go back and forth to the doctor complaining about my aching chest and stomach. I've been prescribed with two types of medicine and I also have food restrictions. My initial diagnosis way back 2020 was hyperacidity and heartburn. But now, I have GERD.

Sometimes, I will have to sleep in pain and I also need to lie down on the bed with at least two pillows so the acid won't climb up to my throat and chest. I also feel as if something is stuck on my throat and no matter how much water I drink, it is still there. I also have indigestion and it's all because of stress.

A lot of things has been stressing me out lately and that's not just it. My new job has been really challenging for me as well. Dealing with kids and their parents are way too difficult for me. A lot of things happened this year and those things are what helped to build me into who I am today.

So I will share with you a few tips of how I personally deal with stress. This might not be applicable to all of us and if ever you have your own way of dealing with stress, I would highly appreciate it if you can share it in the comment section.

WAYS TO HANDLE STRESS

  1. One step at a time

Things had been overwhelming for me this year. My father died. I resigned. I have to pay the amount for the breach of contract. I got hired in public school. I have to deal with lots and lots of paperworks. I have to be the reading teacher. I have to adjust to all the things that needs to be done. I even came to a point when it's already 2 a.m. and yet I'm still working.

Up until I realized that I need to pause, breathe and take things one at a time. I decided to get a pen, take note of the things that I need to accomplish for the day. I have a schedule and I make sure that I make a checklist which is realistic and can be accomplished in one day. You see, when the schedule is cluttered, it also makes you feel cluttered. Your mind will be clouded with thoughts and worries.

  1. Have a guilt-free rest

When I was just starting in teaching, I felt guilty for resting and just sleeping. I felt as though I have to be like my co teachers who work even late at night and such. I thought that it's what I'm supposed to do as it was what they're doing. And guess what, my though are all wrong and never right.

I then started to put boundaries. I will only answer personal messages from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. I will teach on time and finish on time. I will also make sure to still relax by using my phone, doing calligraphy or just speaking to my nieces and nephew through video call. It's okay to rest, it's part of the day which is why there is night time. It's okay to rest and it shouldn't make me feel guilty.

  1. Have a Me time

This is one of the things that I lost in the process. I don't have time for myself anymore. Before, I was able to go out, enjoy, chat and speak to others but now I don't. I'm stuck in my laptop and phone all day to answer queries, do school paperworks and all that. I don't have much time to sleep either. I know that I'm still adjusting but now, I know that I've been pushing myself way too much.

Spending time with yourself doesn't make you selfish. In order to grow and become better, you need time to reflect, rest, meditate and just enjoy the peace and serenity of life.

  1. Talk to God

I don't know but out of all the things I did, this is the best thing to do for me. It's as though after I've said everything to God, the situation is still the same but the fact that He listened to me is more than enough to make me feel safe, happy and contented. Especially with everything that I don't have anyone to share it with.

I hope that this somehow helps.

Love_16

December 2, 2021

Thursday

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Love_16
2 years ago

Comments