Reasons why people settle for less

0 28
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

When the SALE or 50% off are posted our eyes shine instantly. It's as if we are programmed to enjoy what's offered in lesser price. I'm not immune to this. I went to a mall last Monday and I never stopped walking and check all the isles not until I was able to get a good deal. The price was reduced to at least 60% off.

I was actually thinking of going back and bringing all the money I have in order to buy a few more pairs of branded jeans.

When free food are given we can't help but to line up as well. I mean, who wouldn't want free food right? Anything that is free is good as long as it's not from something bad and it's edible.

In the supermarket, many buyers goes to the buy one take one area. People goes pushing and trying really hard in order to get a few items in buy one take one. Even in purchasing food, we all would want to settle for buy one take one, thinking that we are able to reduce the amount of price to be paid.

To be honest, these are not just the things that we settle for.

In this article, I will state a few reasons why people settle for less even if they can actually have the best.

Reasons why people settle for less

  1. People settle for less because they think that it's what they deserve.

Most food in buy one take one category are the food which are about to expire. They try to make it look like you were able to save money, when in fact, you bought food which are near its expiration date.

The items on sale are actually the only items left for the year and they just want to make it sold out before they put new items to sell on the market. But many people love this things because it somehow entice them and boost their confidence by wearing branded clothes.

It's not the clothes that make a person attractive, it's the attitude.

I have also encountered many people who says that they are happy and contented even when I see all the evidence of the fact that they aren't. They try to make themselves look tough even when they are slowly losing their sanity.

I have a friend who has experienced being cheated on repeatedly by her boyfriend but they are still together. She can't seem to let go of him because she loves him. They had been together for years even if he continuously cheat on her. When the man asks for forgiveness, she forgives him. When he tells her not to go with us to hang out, she doesn't, on the other hand if the man wants to go out to drink and party she can't do anything about it.

In my own opinion, the fact that she cries about him and he does the act repeatedly is not a sign of love. Cheating is cheating. No matter what reason or how much you try to justify yourself, the fact that you chose to cheat is still cheating.

Love doesn't make you settle for less, it makes you be the best you can.

  1. People settle for less because it is the only choice they have.

When you are born in a poor family you think that eating three times a day is luxury. No one has ever wanted to live this way. Each of us wants to live in a concrete home with all our needs and wants as well as the safety and comfort of staying in a place called home.

Not all people are given this chance to live in a place like that. Many people are constantly hungry that even if they work for 24 hours they can't still get enough money to sustain all their needs. Illiterate people never wanted to become illiterate. They just don't have the choice and freedom to study. It is actually being reflected by this COVID-19 pandemic. Many students, parents and teachers suffer for the inaccessibility of internet connection and the gadgets needed for the online class.

Not everyone are blessed enough to be able to purchase and have access to the following needs.

Most especially when it comes to food, not everyone is blessed enough to put meal on the table and eat healthy food. In medicine, most people choose to do self-medication in order to lessen the expenses. They try to become doctor themselves and heal their physical sickness.

You see, not everyone is privileged to afford this things. This might be nothing for you, but it's luxury for others.

  1. People settle for less because they are afraid to let go.

Many people choose to stay stagnant because they are afraid to try new things or they can't handle the responsibility.

When the pandemic started I have a stable job with low salary. When my contract has ended last March 2020 I still felt safe and secure because I was waiting for the job opportunity I have applied for but then the results came and I wasn't qualified enough to get hired. In other words, I have been unemployed since April 2020 upto present.

I was so confident with myself that I thought that I'll be able to get hired. Things did not go as planned and I tried looking for the same job in the industry but I wasn't hired. I was too comfortable with my previous job that I was afraid of trying new things.

When I've seen the need to get a job with good salary, I tried different opportunities even if it means that I have to do something I have never done before.

Nothing will happen if I keep on living in my comfort zone. I need to let go of my fears and get a job for its what I needed. I have a brother to support and a family to help financially.

  1. People settle for less because they see it as the only choice they have.

In a family where the parents can no longer make their relationship work, they often choose to settle in this relationship because they chose to marry each other and they have kids. They don't want the kids to grow up in a broken family.

I know a family who has the parents tried everything they can in order to make the relationship work but when it didn't, the kids has to be separated from both of parents. The kids were left in the care of the moms family and they were too far form their relatives in their father side.

The mom has her own life as well as the father. Their choice was not to continue living as husband and wife but to live separately. They both never stopped caring for the kids financially but they were never there physically for the kids.

The kids was left with no choice but to live far away from their parents. They had to live on their own with the guidance of their grandparents but that's all. They weren't even given the chance to live and stay to the family they want to live with. Even when the kids want to live in a house with both of their parents, they can't. They don't have the freedom to choose.

The parents might have had a mutual understanding but the kids weren't given the chance to choose what kind of family they are going to live in.

It's always the children who are left with no choice.

You don't have to settle for less when you can have the best.

We always have the power to choose what's best for us. The people around us can give their opinion and advice but it's still us who has the last say in everything.

It's your choice to get beaten by poverty or to use it as a motivation and stepping stone to success.

It's your choice to stay in a toxic relationship where you aren't valued enough or to let go no matter how painful and difficult it is for you.

It's your choice to beat your circumstances or to get beaten by it.

It's your choice to allow yourself to get broken or to allow yourself to grow.

Never think that what you have is enough. Never settle for less. You deserve the best.

Love_16

December 12, 2020

Saturday

6
$ 6.79
$ 6.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

Comments