Passion Vs Practicality

0 6
Avatar for Love_16
2 years ago

"What do you want to be when you grow up?"

This question has been asked to almost all kids who are just starting to know themselves and the things that they want. It was such a very common question that gives joy and happiness to those who are listening and makes those who answer wonder about the things they actually wanted to achieve.

I came from a family who doesn't expect much from me because my parents are like that. "What's important is you graduate." That's what my parents always tell us siblings. Since there are no expectations, there is no pressure. "Enjoy your studies." My parents always tell us to enjoy and to not be pressured. That might also be the reason why all of us siblings are part of top 10 in class.

My older siblings has medals. Even though the three oldest are not college graduates they now have their own jobs and business. While my 4th sibling is a dean's lister when he graduated in college and he now has his family and he's now a project manager. My sister and I are now both working in our respective careers. We are never left behind in our classes. While the 7th child is in his 3rd year in college and the youngest is now a 1st year college in Accountancy.

That way of my parents upbringing to me and my siblings helped us to excel and do better. It was never easy to choose the path that you want to take as it is a lifelong commitment and journey. My parents also allowed us to choose who do we want to be and how we want to manage our lives.

Passion:

Many people said that passion cannot feed me. There is no money in passion which might also be the reason why many people live a mediocre kind of life. Nothing's extra, nothing new, just the same at all times.

Passion is what will drive you to do the best that you can when you can. It is what will make you go through the limit. But the fact is that there is no money in it and only a few had breakthroughs by doing what they love doing.

Practicality:

This is where money is and your family is happy but you aren't. Each day you wanted to give up but you have to live by because of the salary that you will have. You can buy the things you want but you can never have that sense of fulfillment in life. You will always look back and desire to want more.

You wake up each day looking forward to the next payday. You can provide for your family's needs and people always look up to you because you are the provider. It's just that your passion cannot feed you and your family.

Options to choose from:

If you are my reader, you will know that things has been difficult for me the past few months. I have no one to share it with so I always end up writing here in read cash. My first job is toxic but it's my passion so I lasted for two years then after my contract I finally decided to try in public school but no luck, I did not pass. I was unemployed for 10 months which made me desperate, anxious and sad since I felt like I'm not doing enough. I'm a degree holder with license and yet I'm unemployed.

I came to a point where all of the Facebook ads about job openings and sending resume in job street are what I've been doing the whole day. Then I finally got hired and stayed in the company for 9 months. The original plan is to stay until April or May next year since most teachers are hired this year but started to teach the next year but God has a different plan.

God made sure that when I lost papa he gave me a new and better opportunity. I know that my father is now happy in heaven forever and always.

I resigned immediately and started my journey in public school. Then something unexpected happened. When I decided to ask permission for my resignation my team leader told me that I was up for promotion. The salary is higher and I no longer need to answer calls. But I chose my passion which is teaching.

If I were to choose the practical side I will stay because the offer is bigger and if only I can have both, then I'll definitely choose both. But the sad thing is I can't have both. Also, I don't want to die of over fatigue because I don't have enough rest.

As of now I'm still adjusting and the biggest support I have in pursuing my passion is my family. I love how they assured me that no matter what I choose, I'll always have their support. As time passes by, I have another goal in life which is to work abroad because I have a lot things which I wanted to provide for my family. But I'll stay and seize the moment while I'm still working here and if ever the opportunity is better and I wouldn't need to go abroad, then I won't.

Love_16

November 4, 2021

Thursday

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.40
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Love_16
2 years ago

Comments