Getting back on track after experiencing writer's block

2 20
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

In my previous article, I've given you an insight about how I deal with writer's block. Now I wanna share to you what I did in order to get back on track after experiencing writer's block.

When I experienced writer's block it took me at least a week in order to gather my thoughts. I have too many drafts to finish but I can't get myself to start finishing it. It's as if there's a blank slate in my mind which made it difficult for me to continue my drafts.

I came to a point when I would visit my drafts one by one but not be able to write anything else. I tried thinking of a new topic but I can't. I forced myself to write at least a few lines but it just made me exhausted.

It's difficult to write just after experiencing writer's block. It was actually a lesson for me to slow down and take things one step at a time.

What I did after writer's block:

  1. I ate literally, spiritually, mentally.

Literally. I was having a hard time coping with my hyperacidity. I was used to eating till I get full but now I have to eat just a little portion of food but at least every 3 to 4 hours. I ate fried chicken because I just felt like eating it. Good thing is that I have the money to buy it. As I was eating, I made sure to enjoy every single bite of it. I don't know but it somehow helped me to feel a little better since all I did every after meal was to throw up since I often exceed my food intake.

Spiritually. I always pray. Bothered or not. Problematic or not. Sad or happy. I take some time to pray. Usually when I pray, I cry. It's not because I feel too heavy in my heart but it's more of my me time. I feel comfortable, safe and secured then afterwards I feel better. Maybe it's because of the fact that I was too reserved so I find comfort in being alone in the presence of God.

I also have my daily devotion where I write a few verses and how God talked to me through it. I also write a few important details for that day. For example, birthday or just something I did which I want to be reminded of. I just actually bought a few pens of different colors because I journal it on a notebook. I also love handmade crafts which makes me being out the creativity in me.

I also go to church every Sunday since we can now go to church for physical Sunday services given the fact that only 30% of the capacity will come. I also have some time to fellowship with a few of my churchmates which I missed because of the prolonged lockdown.

Mentally. I feed my mind with positivity. Aside from reading the Bible, I also watch a few video clips about facts (Project Nightfall and Nas Daily videos), I watch the news and rest myself from all the toxicity that social media brings. I do digital detox which means giving sometime to stop using my social media accounts since it wasn't helpful at all.

  1. I detoxify myself from toxicity.

Digital detox. I take sometime off of my phone and my social media accounts. I do it at least for 24 hours or I just open it for an hour per day. It helps in calming my mind since I won't have to see posts which are irrelevant.

Emotional detox. I don't really know the right term for it but when I say emotional detox, it's when I write all my worries on a sheet of paper or jot it down on my phone and pray for it. Since I've stated above, I often cry every time I pray. During Sunday services I also cry as the praise and worship happens. It helps me in releasing my bottled up emotions.

People detox. This is just the term I use but yes, I disconnect from toxic people. I really enjoyed the features of facebook which are block, unfriend, mute, turn off active status, see less, and hide. I did it not just once but it was worth it. It's a form of letting go of people who are not good for my mental health. It's not as though I was trying to make it look like I haven't moved on or I haven't forgiven them for their previous offenses. It's more of not wanting to bring back the past. I will never want to act as if nothing happened since the relationship cannot be restored the way it was before. I will always choose to do the best I can so I can be healthy. It's not a form of selfishness but a form of self love.

  1. I started writing at my own phase.

I've started writing one liners. It's like a compilation of quotes just to warm up mind before writing full articles again. It's conditioning myself so I won't feel overwhelmed before writing again.

I add a paragraph or two to my pending articles. It's to refocus myself in a specific topic and finish what I've started. I have this sense of wanting to put things in order which includes finishing what I've started. I don't like the feeling of having unfinished business and pending articles.

I take my time writing. I don't pressure myself by putting a limit or a deadline to what I write. I write when I feel like it. I'm the boss of my own article. It's to make me feel more attached going back in writing meaningful articles.

I never forget to journal important details. It's difficult to organize my thoughts and ideas if I just let it stay in my head. There are times that I forget what I'm supposed to write because I was unable to write it the moment I've though about it. Important details include my journey for the day in bullet form. For example I went to mall to buy a few things with my brother. Then I add the amount of money I used for the day and the meal I have eaten. I also include how exhausting it is but how I made me feel better.

I always do my daily devotion. Whenever I journal my devotion, I use different colors of marker for a specific topic or ide. For example, green pen for the date and day, blue for the title, black for the notes, orange for the verses, and violet for important details. It makes me want to write more so the next time I open my notebooks it'll look more colorful due to my devotionals which continuously grows in number each day.

  1. I allow myself to enjoy.

Watching kdrama. I've had this series of kdrama which I watch during my spare time. My life doesn't just revolve around writing so I also do some stuff during my leisure time.

Watching anime. I watch one piece every Sunday afternoon or evening since I go to church every Sunday morning. As long as I have finished doing what I must accomplish for the day. It's like a reward for myself for doing a good job.

Video call. My siblings has their own families and their own homes so we don't get to meet often. We have a group chat where we chat with one another or video call. It usually takes at least an hour but that one hour is enough to keep my mind off my worries.

Read manga. I read manga when I feel like it. I don't usually do but when I want to see the further episodes of the kdrama, I read it to spoil myself and ease that clift hanging feeling that is left whenever the kdrama episode has ended and I needed to wait for another week for it's new episodes.

I sing. Well, I'm not a good singer but since I love listening to music the people in the house has to bear with my voice. I jam with my youngest brother who is a good singer and a good instrumentalist as well. He plays the guitar, ukulele and even the beat box. He's a good singer and when ver he plays, I sing along with him.

Watching movies. Before this was what I liked doing but now, I just do it seldomly. Now, I enjoy watching kdrama than movies but I still do it from time to time.

Cleaning. I don't know but I feel some sense of fulfillment if I see the house clean. It's like my thoughts are organized together with the mess I cleaned up. I clean whenever I'm agitated or I have too many thoughts running on my mind.

Exercise. I don't exercise that much but I see to it that I take at least 10 minutes per day to do a routine exercise from youtube. I do it to keep myself moving even when I'm home.

  1. I condition myself to write.

I don't want to have another writer's block or to see writing as a burden so I make sure that I write whenever I want to. I don't pressure myself. I just write all my thoughts and publish it. But of course I take in consideration the readers and likers of my post. I don't want to feed them with trash or with rush articles just so I can have something to post about.

As you can see, I wrote everything that happens to me since I feel secured of my privacy here in read cash. It makes me want to write more knowing that no one is going to judge me for writing what I've written. I don't also want to cause ruckus, burden or any negative thing to my readers since most of them also want to just enjoy while reading.

I'm not saying that this is the case for everyone but this is what I did in order it get back on track after being in hiatus for having writer's block. I hope this somehow gave you an insight of what you can also do if ever you have also experienced writer's block.

Love_16

January 13, 2021

Wednesday

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 3.02
$ 3.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

Comments

It really a big help to me dealing with writer's block.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad to help 🦋

$ 0.00
3 years ago