Not a Christmas Eve for Me

1 31
Avatar for Loner
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Thoughts

"Christmas is in the air. "

Most people say this whenever ber months starts. Many people are overwhelmed, happy and excited for christmas to come. It may be due to the joyous christmas songs they usually hear being played in the radios, malls - almost anywhere, the beautiful and flashy christmas decors, the giant christmas tree standing proud at the heart of the city with decorations that satisfies the eyes, playing in the snow, making a snowman and some are looking forward to the day of gift giving where they'll receive gifts from their loved ones. The pandemic made this year very challenging for most people, but the idea of spending christmas with the people that means to them somehow gives them hope. And maybe, all of us are hoping that things will get better few weeks from now.

It hasn't even that late since the clock strike 12. I can hear the merry voices coming from my neighborhood. Most of them are celebrating christmas with their families. But here I am, acting like the usual. Christmas is not something special for me. I'm currently in front of my computer, typing this. But don't get me wrong, though I'm spending the night alone, it doesn't mean I'm lonely, I'm not even a bit envious of how my neighbors spends time with their families during christmas eve.

Let me tell you why I don't celebrate chrismas at all.

Some may say that perhaps I'm an agnostic, an atheist or maybe I don't believe in Jesus. No. I'm not an agnostic, nor an atheist and I am a christian so I firmly believe in Jesus and that salvation will only be possible through him.

As a Christian, I studied the bible and tried to understand it, and proved to myself that what it says is true before I came to believe in it. One of the facts I learned while studying the bible is that Jesus didn't command his disciples, his followers and those who believe in him to celebrate his birth. In Luke 22:19,20 he commanded people to commemorate his death instead. That's the reason why his apostles (who are his close friends that time) and his early disciples nevee tried to celebrate Christmas. This is what 'The New Catholic' encyclopedia says:

“the Nativity feast was instituted no earlier than 243 [C.E.],” more than a century after the last of the apostles died.

Another thing is that there is no proof in history that Jesus was actually born on the 25th of December, the bible doesn't show nor say what his specific birthdate is.

My further research and studying taught me that Christmas actually came from pagan customs and rites, so I think that it's odd for real christians to celebrate this occasion which has pagan roots.

Others know that this worldwide occasion is rooted in paganism, yet they still celebrate it and questions other christians who doesn't celebrate it. They ask why it should be an issue when in fact, it just a time to be happy, at least once a year.

As I firmly believe and adhere to the principles in it, I am determined to obey whatever principle is written there.

Although I choose not to celebrate Christmas myself, I respect each person’s right to decide for himself in this matter. I don't interfere when other celebrate this occassion.

Some may say that I'm missing the so-called 'Chistmas spirit' which includes peace on earth and generosity through gift giving, but it is just a myth. As I learned in the bible, generosity and making peace should not be done occassionaly, we should do it every moment of our lives. I enjoy giving gifts even when there is no occasion or anything special. I love receiving gifts with no particular reason at all, and me and my real friends actually do it. And we also try our best to show love and be peaceable every day of our lives.

This is why I don't celebrate christmas, but I also respect the decission of other people to celebrate this occasion.

2
$ 6.44
$ 6.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Loner
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Thoughts

Comments

Hmmm. I also know some people who doesn't celwbrate it. Anyways, it's ypur belief and your choice so we can't do anything about it. Respect begets respect, so I respect people's preferences in life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago