Job Satisfaction

0 24
Avatar for Loner
Written by
3 years ago

Nowadays a lot of people are suffering because of the COVID-19 pandemic, employees suffers from those consequences as well. I heard about a big number of people being laid off from their job and if you are one of those, you will surely feel frustrated. While a lot of people are battling and suffering from the consequences of unemployment, a lot of employees on the other hand are also unhappy about their job. Some are not really satisfied and can't feel the joy they once felt after hearing the words "you're hired".

Others only goes to work for the sake of getting paid off at the end of the month, but they don't really enjoy the job and as a result, they feel suffocated and most of the time, they don't even feel like going to work anymore. But why do some workers or employees feel this way? Why can't they enjoy their job?

Sometimes the reason why an employee is no longer satisfied of his job is because it is already toxic. Toxic in a way that he can no longer enjoy the other things in life because his job is eating away all his time so can't go on vacation, spend time with his family or even eat with them and being unable to enjoy some leisure time. This happened to me about 6 years ago, I had a stable and high paying job at a certain company, it was very fulfilling at first, I love how I can meet and deal with various people each day, I was one of the great performers among the employees and the bosses really like me. And because I became a valuable asset of the team, I was forced to go to work ahead of the others in the team, and I was also forced to work 12 hours or more each day, so I practically lived in the office. I can barely go home, I can't enjoy the holidays and I can't go on vacations. So I thought "what's the use of getting a high paying job if I can't even enjoy the money I'm earning?", as a result I was no longer motivated to work, my performance became poor, and I only went to work because I can't find a new job yet. Sad to say, there are also employees out there who feels the same way I did back then.

Aside from feeling the toxicity in their job, what else can make an employee feel unsatisfied in their job? The lack of appreciation. Being appreciated for a job well done can really make someone more motivated to work and appreciate their job. At the same company I worked five years ago, I was deeply appreciated by my superiors when I was just a neophyte  on the job. I was also rewarded for my accomplishments and that made me really motivated to do a better job. Even when I was asked to render more time than is written on the contract, I was still happy to do it because I enjoy what I'm doing and my good performance is also well appreciated. However, a year after that, I was transferred to a new manager and the new manager is far from how the previous one is. I usually render more time at work, but it was not recorded and my over times are never paid. So I just decided to resign right there and then.

Moreover, a lot of workers also find their job unsatisfying because they are not getting paid for what they work for. They are paid with a lower amount than they should be paid for. Some resigns to find a satisfying job with a reasonable pay.

Some said that if you have a job, you should be happy and satisfied, but that is not the case for most employees. Nowadays, the number of employees or workers who are not satisfied with their job is increasing. And this is not just limited to regular employees, but it ranges from executives down to unskilled workers.

So if you feel unsatisfied in your job, remember that you are not alone. A lot of people are feeling that way too and this is an important issue because it does not only affect the individual but  the entire work force and production as well. Imagine  if one or more employees at a company with 20 employees does not go to work in a day because of lack of motivation, a lot of work will be pending and some work load will be passed on the present workers which will be quite a burden for them. Let's be honest, if you will be required to do more work which is supposed to be done by another worker who didn't come to work just because he or she is unsatisfied of his job, what would you feel? Honestly, I would be annoyed and dismayed by that and maybe in the future, if I keep being obliged to do it over and over again, I would also feel unsatisfied and disappointed with my job.

Job dissatisfaction often leads to absenteeism. This very common among the young employees. In another company I previously worked with, I had colleagues with ages 19-23 who are really prone to making absences. They usually fail to go to work even during the most crucial days that we badly need workforce. This usually affects us and the entire team. 

You Can Do Something!

But can we do something for us to be satisfied of our jobs? Definitely! First, you have to realize that when you applied for a specific job and was hired to do it, you have the responsibility to do it. You need to work for what you are being paid for, you must take pride in doing what you are paid to do.

If you are not satisfied with our job, try to find one that will suit and is in line with what you enjoy doing. When you enjoy what you do, and you have the passion to do it, you are more likely to find satisfaction in your job. Sometimes, the wage doesn't matter. No matter how big your wage is, if you are not enjoying what you do, you are bound to be unsatisfied in the end. So before you apply for a job, make sure that you will not regret applying for it in the end. 

Once you found a job or a work that you really find satisfying, you'll be more motivated to go to work and that ends a job dissatisfaction.

Sometimes, the problem is not the work itself, your workmates or colleagues and any other external factors but yourself. You just have to have the right mindset, so you can be more satisfied with your job. Try to cultivate a more positive outlook of your job and ponder on the reasons why you need to have that job. Think about it, the job that you are not satisfied with may be the dream job of other people, so try to value your job more.

Furthermore, if you can't do something to make your work more satisfying, interesting and rewarding, try to make your life outside work more interesting instead. If you do that, you will be rewarded of love, respect and satisfaction you might be looking for. Once you feel joy and satisfaction outside work, you might be able to forget the stress and unsatisfaction you find in your job.


4
$ 3.01
$ 2.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @sc
Avatar for Loner
Written by
3 years ago

Comments