An Afternoon Walk

18 58
Avatar for Loner
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Diary

November 24, 2020

A Loner's diary.

I'm feeling really bored and empty today. I get off work early, because I don't have to stay longer. I was working from home and I'm loving the set up as is. I'm living alone in a medium sized bachelor's house with a spacious garden filled with different kinds of plants, I didn't plant them, my mom visits every two months and attends to those plants. Sometimes I tell her that she probably loves those plants more than me but she would just laugh and slap my arms for not looking after those plants. The neighborhood is quite good, I've met some real nice folks during some of my rare afternoon walks. Across the street lives Mr. and Mrs. Hawkins who are probably at their 70s, they have a dog named Terry which for some reason doesn't bark at all, or maybe he does but I just can't hear it. To the left lives an Asian family, I'm not sure whether they're Chinese or Korean though. And I've also met this David guy who looks more like a nerd than me.

I have this feeling of emptiness today for some unknown reasons so I decided to go outside for a bit and get a breath of fresh air. Maybe I could drop by the supermarket and get back home before dusk. I was contemplating whether to ride my bicycle or just go for a walk. In the end, I decided to go for a walk and take a stroll in the neighborhood.

Grabed a bottle of water, locked my door, kept the keys in a safe place on my garden and off I go.

I met Mrs. Hawkins and we had a little chat, bid her goodbye and I continue to walk. I walk and walk without any destination in mind. I was just enjoying the moment. Did I told you that the neighborhood is one of the cleanest neighborhood I have ever seen? Yeah, that's the reason why I decided to move here. There are pine trees planted near the road and the landscape is just awesome. I continued to walk until I reached a park with a giant crape myrtle tree in the middle with blossoms that looks like purple to me. There are also a couple of unoccupied benches which seemed to be inviting me to sit down. Without any second thoughts, I settled myself to one of the benches and took a sip from the bottle of mineral water I brought with me.

It was nearly sunset and I can feel the gentle touch of breeze. Ah this is life! Now I don't regret going outside even for a short period of time.

Moments passed and I was astonished to see a group of pigeons who landed just a meter away from me. I was sitting still and not moving an inch as I'm afraid I might shoo them away. They look so beautiful that I had the urge to feed them but to my dismay, I realized that I only have a bottled water with me.

So I diverted my attention and busily admired the beauty of the place instead and even imagined how great it would be to see some children playing in that park. I wonder why there isn't a single kid today, hmm? I gawked in space and didn't realize that I already fall asleep, not until a small ball hit my forehead. Ouch! I get up and looked left and right. Culprit spotted! A little boy, probably 5 or 6 years old is staring at me and gestured me to give him his toy. I didn't budge, I just stared at him. He run towards me. "Mr. I'm sorry for accidentally hitting you, can you give me my ball please?" Alright, he's begging and I'm not the evil adult not to forgive him. "Make sure to be careful next time, okay?" He nodded and ran.

I sighed and realized it's already late. It's nearly dusk so I need to hurry and go to the supermarket. I took a glance of the park one more time and off I go. I'll make sure to come back here some time this week.

Hello everyone, I don't know what to write here but I feel like sharing my afternoon walk experience. I know it's lame and boring so forgive me for that. I just want to freely express myself here and I think this community is really cool. Maybe I'll just publish my daily journals here. What's your say hmmm?

9
$ 4.82
$ 4.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
Avatar for Loner
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Diary

Comments

It's not lame or boring I read it till the end. I just wonder why kids go to the park at dusk. Your neighborhood sounds like a nice one. Wish I had one like that here.

You can write about what you like as long as it's clear it's a diary (date or..)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are really good with words, I enjoyed reading your article, too bad you only had 3. And maybe, it's because of pandemic that is why there are no children in the park.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. You can look forward to my future articles. I discovered this site late and I don't have much time to stay here because I have commitments outside this community. But I'll try to update during my free time hehe. I totally forgot about the corona that time because I was too submerged in the place and that's probably the reason.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looking forward to that, or maybe you are too submerged from thinking of her, ehermm, haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, this is nice. I really love the story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so detailed that I can even imagine myself walking with you Mr. Loner 😅 This is really awesome and I wonder if I can even write an entry on my diary that is as cool as this! 🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks pandagirl. I'm sure you can if you put your heart and mind to it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Attention to detail. From the neighbourhood to the reason to seek fresh air. You are very good with them that it feels like one is part of the walk too. I didn't find boring!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great that you didn't find it boring! I was wondering if someone will even read it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

By the way you describe your neighborhood, I can say that your from a foreign country.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Probably? Where are you from?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

From Capiz

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never heard of that country, just now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a province in the Philippines. Are you not from the Philippines?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see, it's an Asian country. I'm Dutch.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh, that explains it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm curious, what made you conclude that I'm from the same region?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What I mean is that, how you describe your place explains it you being dutch. That is why I said that I think you're from a foreign land.

$ 0.00
3 years ago