You are unique!

0 8
Avatar for Lizwrites
1 year ago

Yeah, You're unique!

Never allow people to call you what you are not. I was awake last night surfing the Internet when I came across a post of a 16year old girl committing suicide because she was bullied in school. I read that she was always bullied by her classmates because she was fat and the poorest in the class. She was bullied to the point of depression and she committed suicide. That's shocking.

This incident made me remember an old schoolmate who was also a victim of bullying and body shaming. It was my last year in secondary school when a new student was enrolled in my school. She was brilliant but was the fattest in her class. She was always quiet; never talked to anyone for a week when she resumed.

Then it all started when she wanted to start a conversation with her seatmate but she got snubbed. It happened thrice and she got the 'message' that her seatmate doesn't like her, even her classmates. Her classmates started treating her badly. They called her all sorts of names and mocked her. Once she sat on her seat in the morning, she wouldn't stand up until the closing time was announced not even in the cafeteria. She 'crawled' into her quiet mode. She was always alone with no friends and no one to talk to in school. She lost interest in school and her grades began to decrease drastically. She wouldn't participate in any activities in school, not even sports. She later got depressed.

It was a tiring evening when I was locking the classes as one of my assignments as a prefect. I met her alone, in her class crying. I was shocked, then I inquired what the matter was. She narrated everything to me. I felt sorry for her and consoled her. We became friends, even though I was in a higher class. 

She started feeling free and stood up against her classmates. She ignored their insults and didn't allow their words to get to her. She didn't let them define her; She became active and lively, even in her academics. Later, her classmates stopped the insults and bullying.

We're in a society where people are criticized for things they do not have control over. It's so sad to see a young girl being criticized because of her body size or height. I was once criticized because I am tall.

At first, I felt I wasn't good enough, I started feeling less of myself. People's comments about me made me have low self-esteem and feel withdrawn. It was later I discovered that no matter your height or body size, people will always criticize you. I started appreciating everything about myself. I started placing values on myself and ignoring any hurtful comments.

Many people, especially ladies have been victims of this circumstance where they are criticized for their body shapes, height, and scars. Do not allow anyone to define you; you're fearfully and wonderfully made. Never give room for low self-esteem. Whatever they criticize you for is what makes you unique. Value yourself and you'll be valued.

I hope this article helps some dejected souls.

Thanks for reading💖💖

Image source: Unsplash

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lizwrites
1 year ago

Comments