Fear : Earthquake

2 31
Avatar for LittlePicasso
1 year ago

"FEAR".

One word, with million of descriptions. Some may say ,"It is just an illusion created by the mind".whereas, some describe it in terms of emotions.Such as;"It is a feeling or emotion which comes out naturally when one feels danger" . Some people use it as a term to describe the person they are afraid of. BUT.....What if the "Fear" comes in the form of an " EARTHQUAKE"?

Yes!.... Yesterday, at around 9:30pm, my phone rang. It was an ALARM. I saw a notification poping out on the screen, which was claiming that an Earthquake was coming towards us and was less than 200m away. At first, I thought it was a lie. But within few seconds the bed, on which I was sitting with my siblings, started to shake. I again ignored it,assuming that it must be one of my siblings' trick to pull my leg.

But then ....my mom shouted,"EARTHQUAKE".

That's it... nothing more was needed to be said...All of us ran to wear our slippers. Our hearts were beating loud, Bodies were shivering, sweat and goosebumps appeared. The thoughts of the earthquake and it's devastations, that occured in Turkey, were adding fuel to the fire. And hence, we all went out of the building into the large barrel ground which was few meters away from our apartment. The scene outside was more frightening.

The children, the mothers holding their infants, the old, and hence everyone came dashing outside.The roads that were empty and dark, the grounds which were deserted;were now completely filled with people...Terrified people...Those people ,who never remembered God, were now reciting and praying and asking for God's mercy....Some were holding their cameras to record the building which seemed like it could fall at any moment.

Meanwhile, News started to surface.According to a news survey, the magnitude was about 6.5 and origin was Afghanistan.....what a major Earthquake it was...

Amidst to all the fear...I noticed that my mother dashed out of the apartment barefoot.She did it out of fear. All of us forgot the chilling weather outside and were standing close to each other with raised shoulders and arms crossed over the chest.It felt like each and every single part of our bodies was loosing strength......All of us stayed there for about half an hour, due to the fear of AFTERSHOCKS.Luckily they never came and we , just like everyone else, went again inside our building ...inside our apartment....And once again...it was just silence...the roads were empty again . Although it was later known that people have also died during the attack, the FEAR was far gone.

WHY? ....Why is fear associated with danger or an unsafe thing?..... If it is a TRUE feeling and everyone has it, then why was my dad at peace when I called him to see if he was okay or not?.... Why did he told us that it was okay and go back inside the home? ....Does he not FEAR?

The word F- E- A-R is an acronym of "False evidence appearing Real."(Actually ,I once read this while scrolling through google)..But if this statement is true then why to waste our precious time fearing the unreal?

Fear is truth, but the things we are afraid of are not worth it.And I think... Fearing the one that deserves to be afraid of is the ultimate way to courage .

At the end , the quote which I read on my friend' s story:

"WE FEAR CIRCUMSTANCES SO MUCH ,BECAUSE ,WE FEAR GOD SO LITTLE.

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for LittlePicasso
1 year ago

Comments

That earthquake was so frightening. Me and my sister could just hold our 2 nieces and rushed outside, bare headed and footed outside. Fear is indeed the feeling which hinders our power!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes indeed.. although it happened weeks ago but I still remember everything

$ 0.00
1 year ago