Ten things I've learned from travelling

4 15
Avatar for Lima
Written by
3 years ago

I took the time to compose myself, and with a few deep breaths I unlocked the door and in doing so unlocked a part of myself. The journey, as much as exploring a new continent, was a process of self-discovery and I don’t know if I would have had the same experience if I had gone with a friend. 

Travelling solo may seem like an overwhelming task but half the time you don’t even notice you’re alone. You’re preoccupied with the sights, sounds, smells and strangers. The strangers who may also be travelling alone and whose company you can take comfort in. Or the strange strangers who make you thank the Lord that you are travelling alone and not with them. Travelling alone forces you to get out of your comfort zone and be brave, whether that be jumping out of a plane or asking another traveller if you can join them for dinner. Each and every task brings you a sense of achievement.

So here’s what I’ve learned from travelling solo:

  1. It’s OK to be scared. You should do something every day that scares you!

  2. It’s OK to be scared BUT don’t be. The world is incredible; the only thing you should be afraid of is not experiencing it.

  3. You become insanely good at unpacking and repacking your backpack – it’s really an art form.

  4. You trust yourself a lot more.

  5. You prioritise you. So often in life we try to please everyone else. Travelling alone lets you reflect on what you really want.

  6. You should talk and listen to locals. Some of my best meals and beach trips have come from hidden insider knowledge.

  7. How to hold your bladder on long bus journeys.

  8. Where there’s a will, there’s a way. No problem is too big. Trust me, you’ll be the Einstein of problem solving by the end.

  9. Once you’ve started travelling, you can’t stop.

  10. You’re never truly alone. Backpackers are the friendliest community and you’ll never be alone unless you choose to be.

7
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lima
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Traveling is always nice.. Lot of experiences to gain... Please give me your subscribe.. I will give u back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's true that I am scared too when I was travelling alone because I don't know or I am not familiar with ways and places. But, I know that god will guide me everytime I am travelling on my own. Like I am safe and I am not scared because He is giving m a hint of the places when I am on my way to go home.

Travelling alone means you are akready an adult. You can not go to the places where whatever you want to go. You can take care of yourself unlike before when you we're young you have your parents with you. When my first time travelling on my own, I was really scared because I don't know what to say to the cundoctor of the bus because I dont know the name of that spot only the view but I'm glad that the stranger beside me help me with it. So that I am glad and not scared anymore in going to somewhere

$ 0.00
User's avatar Reo
3 years ago

Wow,love this article travelling is one of my hobby I love it alot,cause it give peace of mind😳

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It’s OK to be scared. You should do something every day that scares you!

I don't understand this place

$ 0.00
3 years ago