Why does the way we dress contribute to how our fellows treat us?

18 42
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
1 year ago

Why does the way we dress contribute to how our fellows treat us? This thought has been running into my mind as I have witnessed several times how some people were treated based on their physical appearance. It may be sad, but that's the reality.

I even had an officemate who was not fond of dressing up for a purpose. There was a time we went grocery shopping, and he was only wearing slippers and a tattered shirt. Yes! A shirt, not pants. It was an OLD TATTERED shirt and could even be passed as a rug to some. He loves experimenting with how he will be treated with his OOTD ( outfit of the day). I found the thought crazy, but he has a point, as I can see how people were sometimes surprised when he started talking. He seldom speaks Tagalog, lol. Even though we are just having a normal conversation outside the office, he is still speaking in English, take note, with American Accent! Imagine people's reactions.

With that, sometimes I adapt his ways as we are often together. Well, I usually dress depending on where I am going too. One weekend, as I planned to visit a salon I shared on another blogging platform, I was wearing shorts, sandals, and a tote bag.

Funny as somehow I experienced being less in priority. I was waiting for my hair since I avail for hair treatment. I told one staff that I wanted to have my nails cleaned. There was no manicurist available at the moment, so I was instructed to wait. However, what I didn't expect was they chose to entertain the newly comers instead of me. No, I am sure they don't have an appointment. Well, it could be the way they dress.

I was annoyed and even ranted in our Discord server at Hiveph. Telling @Jijisaur that maybe they thought I didn't have money to pay since I only had a tote bag, and they were holding a branded bag! YEYEMEN ang PEG!

I had already decided not to avail of the service, but one of the manicurists approached me. She did a good job and, indeed, deserves some treats.

I feel good with my red nails that even match the color branding of the fast food where I chose to eat lunch. No, not in Jollibee; it's in Bonchon. I love their fried chicken in garlic flavor.

It was past lunchtime already, yet there were several customers walked in. Thus, I was surprised to see there was only one crew. She was the one taking orders, serving, and dishing out. With so much busyness, I was expecting her to be grumpy, yet I was surprised she was not! Even manage to greet new customers while smiling. Yes, though she is wearing a mask, I can see in her eyes that she is smiling.

It took a long time before my order was served, but I didn't have the heart to be mad at her even though I was already starving. Like how can I? Seeing her trying her best to cater to all the customers was enough reason for me to keep my mouth shut.

Finally, my order arrived, along with some treats. Here I am again with that motto, "I deserve a treat,"; which makes me inspired to eat more. Hehe, it is always hard to resist food. Food is life!

Who wants some?

Hello, read cash family. How's everyone? It's been a week since the last time I published here. I couldn't help but feel demotivated as it suddenly seemed everyone was leaving. I only have a few friends here who were gone, and I don't want to be left alone. So why not leave first? Lol.

Yet, I couldn't help as my hands were itching to write a blog here. So no, I will still stay here and will continue publishing from time to time.

HAPPY SUNDAY!

Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

December 11, 2o22

Manila, Philippines.

9
$ 1.06
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jijisaur
$ 0.03 from @Jane
+ 5
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ang sarap. Nag crave tuloy ako sis. Di ko pa natry sa Bonchon sis pero lagi ko yan nakikita sa mall. I like the color of your nails.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Masarap din sis and affordable..hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba sis. Sa Cebu pa ako gusto tumikim niyan sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako ngaun kahit ano na lng din, lalo at ksama ko anak ko, pero syempre ung anak ko maayos ang pananamit kahit mapagkamalan pa akong yaya nya😀

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe ako di talaga madalas din magporma...kapag need lng talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of people judge others based on face value. They place so much value in how people look to determine how they would be addressed even if they are borrowed clothes. I love it when people dress nicely too, at least modest but sometimes it depends on the kind of person some people are which influence how they dress.

It's disheartening how they treated you. They employed the face value approach.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well yes, it was really nice to dress good and feel good. Though most of the time I would dress based on occasion. In regular days? You will find me in my denim 👖 or 🩳.

It's okay,. That's the harsh reality of life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha I can imagine. Good one, darling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Curious ako dun kay He na nag eenglish tas with american accent pa haha. But seriously, I dont really care about my oufit. Susuotin ko ang guato kong suotin at if ever naman ma ignore ako sa pag bblhan ko, I'd rather find a new store nalang than ipagsiksikan pa sa kanila ang self ko. Charowt hahahaha. Bastaaa, bahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha mataas Ang position noon company saka English speaking talaga siya lagi...

Same...tamad ako usually magporma🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Lhes as long as there are available time we can write, keep blogging and practice. I appreciate the staffs even when you are dressed simple, sometimes the most undressed are the ones who have something they can offer, big time.

We are fond of Bonchon's sweet and honey chicken. Salute to that one staff. What happened to the other employees? Maybe they got virus. 😰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hi there Julalaine, yeah as long as there is time I would definitely continue publishing...

I am not sure but maybe there are still working in skeletal schedule and others were on break..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May mga ilan nga talaga po na bumabase sila sa pananamit, pero ika nga- Don't judge the book by it's cover, kasi baka di nila alam simpla man yan pero mahal ❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay true ka diyan ...Ang iba talaga Hindi lng maflex sa pananamit..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dpende dn sa occasion yung damit ko. Pero never ko pa natry tattered shirt 😅.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here ! Lakas lng Ng trip Ng kasma ko 😂. Mukhang pulubi tipong ayaw kami papasukin sa grocery.. Pero pinambili sosyalin🤣.. English speaking pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung ibang tao talaga sa pananamit nagbabase ang treatment sayo. Baka hindi nila alam baka mas mayaman ka pa ate Lhes! 😏

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga ehh... Pero Ang mayaman talaga simple lng manamit Like Sarah G. Akala mo simple lng pero Ang mahal pala Ng mga gamit.

Hehe Hindi Naman mayaman..may pambayad lng🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago