Benefits of living in the countryside.

15 26
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

Thankfully I can now open my read cash account. I was worried earlier as I encountered an error. I thought there was a technical problem again but when I ask other users, they say they can access theirs. So I was thinking maybe the problem is my phone. However, same thing happened when I tried it on my laptop. I was thinking maybe I was blocked or spam? But then I couldn't remember that I violate any rules. Wew, that made me anxious.

For today's blog, let me share with you some benefits of living in the countryside. As I shared in some posts at my noise cash account, I typically grew up in the countryside. Not only that, it was an island somewhere in Visayas. Honestly, when I was still in the province, I never realized how lucky I was. Eversince, it was my dream to work in the city. I felt living there was so tiring, literally. Imagined always walking for kilometers sometimes or fetching water?

Now, after staying and working here in Manila, I realized all I want now is to live in the countryside and maybe do some farming.

So much intro lol,let me share it with you .

You won't suffer from hunger.

Since food is one of our basic needs, I can assure you that you won't from suffer in the hunger at countryside as long as you know how to stretch your bones, literally. When I was a kid my parents bought only rice and our viand will depend on whatever vegetables were in season. I remember if its' bamboo shoots season, expect that we will be eating a different menu of it. Bamboo shoots with coconut milk, atsara, etc. Same thing happened during season on winter melon and mushrooms. There was even a time my niece was crying because she got tired of our viand. She told my Father why were always eating " balid (wintermelon) uhong (mushroom) and vice versa. Well my father just laughed at her.

For our snacks or merienda, we usually eat cassava, cooked with coconut milk, in short nilagang kamoteng kahoy, boiled banana or whatever roots crops available that my Father planted.

As a normal kid, I also want some hotdog, tocino, chorizo for breakfast and perhaps some pizza for snacks. But during that time it was impossible. My parents couldn't afford it.

Lesser bills to pay.

Imagined paying for water, electricity , internet plus gas was also expensive. Then it's pandemic, you lost your job. How can you pay your bills? Good thing we are not paying the water bill as well as we are not using gas at home.

We are using water from a deep well, even the one for our drinking. Yes it is safe, we are not buying mineral water. It's like wasting money, not practical.

For our cooking, we have our dirty kitchen and we use charcoal. Oh, charcoal was not expensive in our place like only $2 per sack. Sometimes we also chose to cook outside our house like in the backyard if there are occasions. Then we are just using dried wood.

who needs gas ?

Just be cautious when you are cooking using firewoods or else it will be burnt.

This is the actual picture of our deep well that is why I mentioned above that it is tiring.

You can raise some domestic animals.

Having some domestic animals was also a great help in the financial aspect. Before, if we didn't have a rice, my parents would just sell some chickens. Our chickens are not kept in the cage, they are just wandering. We don't buy their food either, as we feed them before sliced coconuts.

Aside from chickens, you can raise cows, goats or even pigs without a fear that a neighbor might complain. Especially for pigs as the smell is not so nice.


Closing thoughts.

There are still so many benefits but I chose to mention only a few. You might get tired of reading. As I mentioned a while ago, I didn't appreciate my life before in the province. I just did when a pandemic hit worldwide. Imagine buying 3pcs of malunggay for $0.10 or a slice of papaya for $0.40, not even fresh! I told myself that time, it's only free in our place.

Not only that, I didn't realize back then that all the foods I am ate were all nutritious. Maybe that's the reason I seldom got sick before. I grew up eating fresh vegetables.

When I moved here in Manila, my immune system got weaker. Maybe because of my lifestyle and food intake. I even acquired asthma and some allergies. Well, maybe that's the consequence.

If you're gonna ask me if I regret working here? My answer is NO. Simply because I learned a lot after working in the corporate world. I became more confident and acquired some skills. As not all can be learned at school. Aside from that I got self satisfaction as I reached what I wanted. I won't live in what if's.

Have a nice day and thanks for dropping by.

Find me at noise cash @https://noise.cash/u/Lhes

7
$ 1.10
$ 0.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 5
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Since I was a kid I dreamt of living in a countryside I wanna escape the main city, I wanna be with nature

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Have you tried having vacation on countryside?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living in the countryside is awesome, the only problem generally is lack of work, which is what makes people move to the cities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You got it, that's the reason why I moved to city too..minimum wage in our place is not enough to send my sisters in college. That's the advantage, so most likely living on countryside was ideal for retiree

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Imagine leaving your chicken to wander about and still it is safe and also it's always peaceful even without much security. Nice to meet you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, there are times too and chickens were stolen, though it seldom happened. Nice to meet you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the air is cool, not polluted, far from noise.. living in a village is a peaceful simplicity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's one of the benefits too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I really like about the countryside is the peace and quite it offers. And yes, life can be really simple too :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's too,.our.place was so quite like you can hear are sounds of nature and our domestic animals. Aw , another is my Mother😁. But indeed life was so peaceful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, nature sounds are better than human noise, well except the noise coming from our moms' mouths, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best wishes for fixing your blogging problem.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Gertu, thankfully my account is now okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true sis. It's really good to live in the countryside than in the city. If you know how to plant's and raise animals, you can survive. Maybe earning money is hard, but if you know how to be contented and blessed, money doesn't matter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kung may source of income lng sis mas gusto ko na sa province. Napagod na ako dito sa Manila.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago