Happy But Sad

11 45
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

That moment when you're having a happy day then someone said something that ruined the mood that you're in.

Photo by Leah Kelley from Pexels

It was the 27th of February year 2020, it was my birthday at that time. I celebrated my birthday with so much glee, but...

In the morning, I woke up so early. I had my morning coffee as usual. Although it's my birthday, I never opened my phone because I planned to open my phone during my free time. After drinking my coffee, I prepared my clothes for work as it was a weekday and I still need to go to work. I never planned to go on leave on my birthday as well. With that, I prepared everything, I even wore makeup to make me look fresh on my birthday. Not to mention, I put an effort to look good on my birthday, because I want to feel gorgeous on my birthday.

The moment I arrived at my workplace, I was in awe when my co-workers surprised me with a balloon and cake as they shouted, "Happy Birthday!". My heart felt warmed knowing that they were so thoughtful to make me feel happy on my birthday. I got teary-eyed as I never expected that they will do such a thing. My closest friend in our workplace even gifted me with a necklace with a heart pendant. She knew me well as I love any necklace with heart pendants. My morning that time felt so great as I started my day with good vibes.

In the afternoon, I ordered some food for my workmates. We were only a few in the office, around 20 people I guess. This was my previous job by the way. Going back, I ordered food for us all. As the food arrived, we ate the food and we enjoyed the food so much. After eating, we drink some cold lemonade which made us feel refreshed. Needless to say, I could say that I had the best birthday ever at work. The moment they surprised me, I could feel that they cherish me as one of their workmates as they're thinking to me.

After we're done eating, we prepare ourselves again since we still have a lot of things to do at work. We continue doing our tasks with a smile on our faces as we enjoyed the moment beforehand. I also invited my closest friends at home since I prepared some food for my birthday for my family and some friend.

After our work hours, I went home with my friends. I was so happy again that my family surprised me. They also prepared food for me aside from the food I ordered. My nephews even hugged me and gave their letters to me; I was so happy. Overall, my birthday went great that time. I enjoyed it a lot and I was beyond grateful for another year of my life.

Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty

Then here comes my free time. I opened my social media accounts and I have seen a lot of greetings from my friends and family. They were all sending me their greetings with best wishes for me on my birthday. I was having fun replying to their greetings when I read one message. It was a message from my co-worker. She was absent on the day of my birthday so she was not present on the day of my celebration at work. What she said, somehow offended me. Although it's quite true, her message ruined my mood in some way. She greeted me with happy birthday but she added words of body-shamming; she was so insensitive on my part.

We're not close friends I tell you. She's from the other building. I admit, that time I quite gained weight because of my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS). My doctor recommended I drink a certain medicine that resulted in me gaining weight. Anyway, I don't know what have I done to her that she's so hard on me on my birthday. You know that feeling when you're so happy but someone ruined it in a snap. And women are supposed to support women, but what she said somehow lowered my confidence.

At that moment I thought about the things that she said, but later on, I realized that I should not soak myself with negativity on my birthday, so I just moved on from those thoughts. With that, I realized that there will always be days in your life when you're at your happiest then someone will throw negativity towards you to ruin your mood. It's then up to you how are you going to handle it.

Moreover, even though I was hurt by what she said, I just forgave her. Right now, whenever I thought of my previous birthday, I just thought of the happy moments that happened. What matters on that day was the happy moments I spend with my friends and family. I will always be grateful for that.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Above all, people will always have something to say. With that, I learned now that we should not soak ourselves in the negativity that they bring into our lives; it will not help us. Let's learn to stay positive and be happy no matter what other people will throw at us.

So that's how my birthday went last 2020, how about you, what significant moments happen on your previous birthday?

Lead Image Source: Photo by Ylanite Koppens from Pexels

11
$ 3.18
$ 3.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
+ 2
Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

Comments

Hello my dearest friend and Best Wishes For You sometimes happiness and sometimes sadness comes around don't focus too much on sadness just believe on you , you can do it and everything

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for the reminder my dearesg friend. I appreciate you a lot, you're always there believing in me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't listen to those people who are always eagerly to ruin your mood, just think about positive and good sides. We need to remember that we don't need anyone's appreciation or approval, we all are beautiful in our own way.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for the wonderful input my friend. I'll wear these thoughts of yours always to avoid negativity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoy the beautiful time and life my dear friend ❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I will my dearest. You too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are what you are. Stop listening about others and from others about you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes my friend Luci, I will. Thank you for the reminder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never listen to what people say, stay away from anyone who tries to annoy you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes my friend, I will as the energy that they're giving are not healthy for my mental health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People always hurts you if you get focus on them people should get a positive response and give you a feel sad moment, Happiness is only you when you ignore that kind of person and if this insit again in your mind then again replace that moment and enjoy your self

$ 0.00
2 years ago