Mobiles - The Advancement

6 45
Avatar for LeonaReed
1 year ago
August 13, 2022

Our culture has already been transformed by technology. With the passage of time, new and latest electronic gadgets have been introducing to the society. Mobile, especially smartphone, is one of the fast growing technologies, and has been holding the world (called modern world) very rapidly and fastly. Mobile companies are on the run and fighting the war to provide latest smartphones, having more storage, lots of new & unique features, eye-catching design/color, functionality, and accessories.

The importance of technology including the smartphones in our society as well as in our lives cannot be ignored or denied. It has made our lives much easier, quicker, faster, and modern. However on the other hands it has made the increased the human distances.

Nowadays, almost everyone has a cell phone. I will not be wrong if I say every third person has a smartphone. Even kids have mobiles phones at a young age nowadays, and they also know how to operate it.

Kids being quick learners, learn how to use/operate phones & other electronic gadgets very fast and easily, even some kids are better than adults.

unforeseen circumstances happened

Uncle using mobile

My Uncle, who is nowadays around 80+ (Alhamdolillah), don't know how to operate or use mobile, even doesn't know how to make or accept a call.

He told us this story himself.

One-day (around 15 years ago from now), he had been to his daughter (son-in-law)'s house. Actually, he had been for some personal important work there, and the place was near as compare to where we live.

Son-in-law told him that he can give company my uncle, as he was also going that way for some other important official works. However, on the midway they have to go on different ways.

His daughter and son-in-law given him a mobile (having keypad). He didn't know how to use a mobile, so he didn't want to take it. However her daughter and son-in-law insisted, that all he has to do is press the OK/ACCEPT/GREEN button when the call comes and mobile starts ringing. He unwillingly took the phone and both father-in-law and son-in-law left the home. On the way, son-in-law also educated him, how to pick a call etc. Also deleted all call history, and left the only one number (son-in-law) and told him in case he wants to call just do like this and that.

On the way back, my uncle has fished his work earlier, he instead wait decided to go home, and took a bus... He could go home easily because he was a retired police, the only thing he can't do is how to use mobile.

The son-in-law, after finishing the work, thought to ask the father-in-law what was going on. So he made a call, but unfortunately my uncle didn't respond. He waited a few minutes and made another call again no response.

In the bus, my uncle said, everyone was looking at him, because the phone was so ringing loudly. I, once, tried to attend but I couldn't. I hold the phone next to my ear, considering I have attended it but still it was ringing. A young man sitting next to me and observing me, started conversation..

  • Man: Uncle it is your phone, ringing.

  • Me: Remain silent, and said nothing, and the call ended, however it started ringing again after a while.

  • Man: Uncle it is again ringing.

  • Me: I looked at him angrily and said, "What should I do?"

  • Man: Uncle it might be emergency, you should answer the call.

  • Me: I don't know how to attend. If you are interested, then you attend it.

  • Man: Give me. When it was rang (maybe for 6th or 7th time).

  • Me: Hello...

  • Son-in-law: Hello, where are you. I have been waiting for more than two hours. Even you haven't been responding to call.

  • Me: I have been going back to (your) home and will be there in 10-15 mins.

  • Son-in-law: Okay, Stay safe. See you soon in home.

I reached home safely and told the whole story to grandchildren and daughter. They were laughing.


From this it can be observed that the advancement doesn't, sometimes, carry elders with itself. My uncle was an intelligent police of his time, but could us operate, even attend or make call.


Lead Photo by Paul Hanaoka on Unsplash

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
Sponsors of LeonaReed
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeonaReed
1 year ago

Comments

Haha funny story. Ya that is sometimes the story for our elders. I had a co-worker who's 60 now who it took some time to get use to it. He just came on aboard with a smart phone about 6 months ago.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, but he is a education person and spent most of his age as a police, meet lots of people but still he doesn't know how to use

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ya I know it has nothing to do with ones education level. I think it has more with one either accepting technology or having an understanding of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly the point, I am talking Great

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mobile phones have become the barrier in our lives, because we talk to strangers, forgetting who is with us at home, and this is a mistake that we must notice, even children feel that their parents are busy under the pretext of work. I hope we save this era with a dose of sanity، Thank you my girlfriend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am 100% agree to these thoughts...It has increased the distance, despite having the same person very next to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago