My Simple and Mini Garden in Our Front Yard—Chili and Unknown Ornamental Plant

8 51
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago
This image was made by the author using Canva. The background image was captured by the author.

Gardening and planting can be great hobbies. Many people from the Philippines started to become “plantito” and “plantita” when the quarantine and lockdown started. They are the people who love collecting plants as their hobby. In my opinion, it is a good way to kill boredom and to have at least an activity in your home that is beneficial to everyone.

I love planting but I don't have a “green thumb” to take care of plants. I remember that I planted some tomatoes and other vegetables before but they all started to dry. Since then, I stopped planting but I am always fascinated with nature especially the plants; ornamental and veggie plants. 

Hence, I decided to plant some chilis and unknown ornamental plants that I bought from an online store. I did it because it was our project at the school where we needed to document the progress of our plants. But even though I already submitted my project, I decided to continue planting and make them grow. 

Furthermore, what keeps pushing me to plant is the dead plant that I had. It was from my friend so I want to take care of it. But it started to dry after weeks of taking care. The reason? I forgot to water it and its position was directly from the sun. However, to keep the plant (or at least its leaves) I decided to preserve its leaves.

I published a tutorial about leaf preservation and I added some useful tips for beginners if you want to start preserving leaves. Soon, I will share my preserved leaves in the community.

Going back to planting, here are some quick shots by me with my planted chilis and unknown ornamental plant.





I am also a fan of photography. This is why I am looking for the correct angle. However, I'm not sure if I did it correctly. I am only using my mobile phone to take these photos but somehow, the shots are better than old cameras. 

As you will notice, the plants are kinda distraught because I transferred them directly to the soil and some are to pots. People said that it will not grow well because the pot is small so I am planning to have a bigger pot or just plant them directly in the soil. But you know, I only have a small space for it so I can't do it perfectly.

My plants grew, what now?

Well, my actual plan is to contribute to the community. I am not a vegetarian, but I prefer vegetables to meat. So, if someone asks to get a plant, I will give it to them for free. In fact, someone already got one pot of chili and I am happy that they are asking me. So far, there are two pending people from the community who are also asking for the plant.

Furthermore, I will wait for the unknown ornamental plant to grow before I give it to the community. I want to know what plant it is. If many people ask me about the plant, maybe I can sell them and get some profit. Although my main objective is to give it for free. It is my way to contribute to the community even though I am spending money. But no, maybe I won't sell them. It's better to give than to receive. Something like a non-profit organization.

Planting and gardening are good hobbies. It can lessen your stress level and be more attached to nature than technology. 


All photos are captured by the author.


Links and promotions:


About me:

He is taking Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering who writes about cryptocurrency, finance, personal life, self-development, life and living and sort of how to's. He is new to writing industry where he writes on several platforms for more than a year.


Published: May 8, 2022

11
$ 5.81
$ 5.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @fantagira
+ 3
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

Comments

Nacucurious ako on how to preserve leaves Kami naman we stop planting some vegetables na because yung mga alaga ng kapitbahay ay makukuklit at inuubos kahit mga ornamental plants kinakain

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for reminding me haha I realized that I forgot to embed the link for my Leaf Preservation tutorial.

Here's the link: https://read.cash/@Laurenceuuu/leaf-preservation-a-new-hobby-and-knowledge-f3868819

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Magtanim ay di biro hehe charrrr ang cute naman, ako gusto ko talaga magkaruon ng garden ehhh, I tried pero wala talaga ehhh di ko talaga maalagaan ng maayus hahahh kawawa lang silang nammatay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your plants are looking nice and healthy. I personally don’t believe in having green thumb. It’s more about giving the plants the attention they need and looks like you’re doing great with this project 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe I also don't believe in green thumb, I just used it as idiomatic expression.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not a fan of planting din pero maraming pananim si papa dito sa likod namin. Dati meron kaming mataas na latayan ng ampalaya, source of income namim dati.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masaya magtanim kulang lang ako sa space haaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago