Got My First Client on Upwork With High Hourly Rate

31 80
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

People who know me know that I always look for an opportunity on the internet to earn money and freelancing is one of the industries that I want to pursue. I have tried several freelancing platforms like Fiverr but it was during my young age when having a government ID was tough (well, until now).

Now, I decided to try Upwork and learn more about it because many people are having good feedback from it saying that it is a huge opportunity.

Check my profile on Upwork

Trying my luck, I created my profile and consumed my free connects to send proposals to clients who are offering a job that suits my skills, niche, and service. But fate is not on my side because my connects are wasted for submitting proposals because no one hired me. 

I used my connects until I reached 18 connects. It was not my intention to consume them all, I am just trying my luck at getting hired.

Luckily, one day, a client sent me an invitation for an interview. If my memory serves me right, I never submitted a proposal from this client but he directly invited me. We discussed the things to be done, and he sent me the documents that I have to do, and assess it, then when we both agreed, I submitted the proposal to open the offer.

I set my rate to $8/hour, and he never complained. He is easy to communicate with. We agreed on my rate, in fact, he never questioned it.  Meanwhile, me having trust issues, so I checked his profile first before accepting the job.

He doesn’t have any reviews, but he spent $700+ from his previous job offers. Before accepting the proposal, I told myself that if it turns out to be scammed, I will think of it as a lesson and forget about it.

The project that he gave was rushed. I had to complete seven landing pages with SEO-rich content. There is already a draft from each page, and there are also resources, but the subject is not in my niche so I had a little difficulty with it.

However, I did my best to process every piece of information given from the resources, write content with keywords, and resist it even if the subject is not in my niche. 

Also, since it was my first offer from Upwork, I had to explore the platform. The things that I have to do during the work, time tracker, payment method, etc. I learned that we should use a laptop while working to track the time that will be documented in your working diary.

Overall, I finished the job with a total of 10 working hours. I did it for almost 3 consecutive days, but most of the hours are not documented because I paused it while exploring the platform. My client put a 40-hour limit each week, but since the project is rushed, I had to finish it as soon as possible.

My first job was exhausting since I have to learn everything on Upwork before doing the job. At first, I didn't even know that there was a time tracker. If I do not open it, I will not be paid what I deserve — probably?

Furthermore, I had to wait for several weeks before receiving the invoice payment because Upwork has a schedule for releasing the payment for each freelancer. In my case, I had to wait for 2 weeks before receiving the whole payment. The fee is also a pain in the ass! Deducting 20% from the payment is too much for me.

Nevertheless, I was satisfied with the rate that I received. I never expected that he would accept my $8/hour offer even though I have not landed jobs in the past, he was the first one!

For now, my goal on Upwork is to accumulate at least $1,000 that I can use to buy a laptop. It would be a long journey, but my earnings here are dedicated to my laptop funds because I really need it for my work and studies.


Hello, everyone! Thank you for reading my content. As a simple appreciation, you can get my 5 FREE Minimalist and Aesthetic Wallpapers

📖 Get my e-book: How to: Write and Earn on Hive (Beginner’s Guide)

☕ Become part of my goal by buying a coffee from my Ko-fi shop

🗒️Help me to reach 100 followers on my newsletter and receive a weekly email from me!

Expected email content(s): Weekly writing prompts + short blogs.


Published: November 3, 2022

14
$ 2.47
$ 2.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Unity
$ 0.02 from @JLoberiza
+ 5
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

Comments

Uwu, yun oh, congrats Lau and more and more projects to come, hmm visit ko nga what its all about haha

EDIT: Need pala real name haha Pass na ako uwu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, yonong!

Yep need niya is real name since it is international freelancing platform. Need din ng verification.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Deducting 20% from the payment is too much for me.

Well done, and don't worry about the 20 percent commission. As the earnings from the same client cross the $500 mark, the commission will reduce to 10 percent, and when it crosses $1000, they will take only 5 percent as commission!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh thank you, Debesh! Didn't know about this information. I hope there are more clients to attract on my profile.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yes, if you are persistent, there are good chances that you will get it. The formula of reducing commission applies only to the SAME client!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Got it hehe! Thanks again!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow ang galing naman sis. 🥰 Congratulations! 🎉 Kaya bilib ako sa mga taong katulad sa inyo. More blessings to come sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po, di po ako sis hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sir pala. Sorry Laurence. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yehey! Sabi sayo eh ma credit din yan.. congrats! More clients to you soon. Ako e explore ko ulit Upwork pag naka adjust na ako sa nag hire sakin .. sa FB ko lang kasi nakita yun. Good luck to your goals! Rooting for you. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po! Hindi muna ako nagpost kasi baka di macredit since di ko maverify account ko hahahaha pero ngayon okay na. Good luck sating lahat hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow... Congrats on that and good luck sa mga upcoming jobs 4 u...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks po

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations keep going !

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakaka inspire nmn kayo.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Aww, thanks po!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations! I am not able to land a job yet in Upwork or onlinejobs.ph hopefully one day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll try to expand my work in onlinejobsph as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabii, Lau! Congrats sayo. Kung maganda naman ang kita dyan sa Upwork, go lang. Make sure na focus pa rin sa studies mo. Haha. Bet ko din sa Upwork at nakagawa na rin ako ng account and all. but di ko na pinusue since hindi na kaya ng powers ko. Lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat, denn! Nagtatry palang ako sa Upwork, laki din ng earnings hahaha. Of course 'di ko napapabayaan studies. Side-hustle lang hehe malaki kitaan ng programmer sa freelancing, good luck din!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maganda rin sana yan kaso mukhang di ko kaya. Focus muna ako sa cryptoblogging tutal mas madali at mas convenient yon para sa akin. I think hindi ko kakayanin kung isisingit ko pa yung freelance. By the way, congrats haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go lang kung san mo kaya! Mali nga ginagawa ko eh, napagsasabay-sabay ko haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako din my upwork account kaso wala pa akong nakukuhang work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congratulations

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow congrats on your first job and also for your first salary.Sakit nga sa bulsa yung fee nila kaya yung boss ko direct na siya sa client niya di na sa upwork.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! Sa upwork mo din siya nakuha?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

not me po but yung boss(my cousin) ko sa work eh freelancer din ang trabaho niya dati sa Upwork siya kumukuha ng client ngayon na matagal na siyang freelancer at marami na siyang client na matagal na rin niyang client direct na siya sa client niya pag my work na ibibigay di na dumadaan sa upwork

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh okay okay gets. Nice naman! I also want a long-term client haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes mas maganda ang long term client

$ 0.00
1 year ago