"From Baby Sitter to House Cleaner to Office Assistant to Camp Director"

6 25

I've been working for an NGO for atleast 13 years now. My role has been always shifting and changing depending on what is needed to be done. I started as a baby sitter baby sitting missionaries' kids of different nationalities. I then became a house cleaner cleaning rooms, CRs, washing laundry, eventually promoted to work in the office and finally became a Camp Director.

BABY SITTING FOREIGN KIDS

  • It was hard. I was still young. I didn't know what to do. The kids were too rambunctious and too cheeky. Some of them hides from me. I had to chase them, feed them and bathe them. The most difficult part is to talk to them in English!! Yup, nosebleed indeed! My English was limited. I ran out of English! I only have many 'yes' 'no' and 'maybe'. Yes, it was exhausting because I also wasn't used to it. But I needed the money, so I did what I had to. But for months that I have been with them, I finally knew how to tame those little dinosaurs. Slowly, respect is built and they are learning my boundaries. I began to love them and truly cared for them. They were so energetic and they also make mistakes but hey, they are kids! ofcourse they will! Even us adults make the worst ones. But my love for those kids grew like they've become my little brothers and sisters. Whenever I put them to bed and read them stories, I always feel loved by these kids. They would usually ask me to stay until they've finally fallen asleep. Little did I know, these kids already captured my heart.

  • LESSON: 1. Whatever you give your attention to, you will develop an affection. 2. You gotta do what you gotta do to make ends meet. As long as you are doing what is right and you didn't compromise then you are good.

HOUSEKEEPING/ HOUSE CLEANER

  • Then I got promoted from baby sitting to housekeeping/cleaning. They needed extra hands to clean the big white house. There were 3 big rooms and 2 smaller rooms, a dining hall, a lounge area, a spacious kitchen and an office area. And yes I had to clean them all with my good friend, Mrs Mj. We would do laundry together, and then proceed to cleaning the house. I usually would be assigned to be cleaning the CRs. Phew! That was challenging! Not because of the eeky yucky things but because I was feeling ashamed of my job. I felt insecure and inferior. I felt like I was the lowest for being assigned to clean the CRs. But there was a time when I was cleaning one of the dirty yucky toilet bowls and I remember murmuring to God why I ended up doing what I was doing. Suddenly I felt like God wanted me to go through that because He wants to teach me that my identity is not attached to my job or position or role. My identity is only found in Him. I am a child of God, the Most High!

  • LESSON: 1. Trust God in the process. 2. Be humble. 3. Cleaning CRs is never the lowest form of job.

OFFICE ASSISTANT:

  • When I was finally promoted to the admin office, one of my responsibilities is to make PowerPoints. I love having a computer, and being asked to do something by using the computer. The only thing is that I was asked to do a PowerPoint presentation which I really didn't know how. My ignorance with computers was amusing. I was so nervous, asked my myself 'where do I click on this screen? I panicked, I got confused and I can feel that my confidence is slowly fading...but before it did, Mr Youtube has saved my day. I search it and Youtube it. And Voila! My first PowerPoint was beautiful and colorful. There were more designs that writings🤣

  • LESSON: You can learn anything you set your heart and mind into.

CAMP DIRECTOR

  • Then I was assigned and promoted to become the Camp Director. I've been Camp Directing for 10 years now. I've ran both Youth camps and kids camps. This job is one of my favorites. Being a Camp Director has given me joy to provide a safe place for youth and children to play and have fun while learning the valuable and important lessons in life. Being a Camp Director, one of my responsibilities is to make sure that schedules and camps are run well leaving no space for a lot of unforseen events. It is my job to make sure that the participants will have an amazing time and hoping they've learnt something that is of value and apply it in their personal lives. My favorite part of this job is running games for it is this time that I see tears combined with sweat and triumphant celebrations.

  • LESSON: Life is about timing and season, so learn to know your season and fully brace it. I started as a Camp Director at the age of 20. This means no age, gender or status can dictate what you can do and achieve.

These are just some of the work I have experienced. Each one has taught me many great lessons in life. I wouldn't trade my experiences for anything else for it made me stronger, determined, humble and grateful. I only shared this to inspire and not to boast for it was only through God and His mercy and grace that I am able to be where I am today❤️

May we all appreciate our own little success and process!

Thank you for reading❤️

Sponsors of LadyThinkerBell-2023
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 2.24
$ 2.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Sequoia
$ 0.02 from @MizLhaine

Comments

I am inspired by your humble beginning and how you thrive and do your job well. Congrats for that! May the Lord guide you for your next jobs ahead.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you @MizLhaine!! I am excited for what is ahead for I know everything is for a season only❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am inspired from you. i must day you did a great job

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you @Laiba1 !!! I'm glad I've inspired you with my job stories🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kani jud nga testimony and journey nimo te ang isa sa pinaka insipiring para sakoa. Who would have thought nga from being a baby sitter, i promote diay ka ni Lord padung kung unsa man ang naa ka run ate Ju 🤗 The process maybe long and hard but if it is really for you, wala juy makapugong 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes langga❤️ Trust the process. It maybe painful at times and slow but HE knows what HE is doing🙂 I only shared this to inspire and not to boast for it was only through God that I am able to do all of this🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago