Leadership

1 15
Avatar for LadyM
Written by
3 years ago

I made her wait behind till everyone marched to their classes. I noticed that the case became as major concern for everyone as a lot of students stood up the stairs, the lawns the rails and even from their classes to watch my next move. I had to show strength or weakness and either ways, it was going to cost me a lot. With all the peeping eyes, I just could not let her go so the next person would not take my words for granted.

I noticed she was comfortable with the attention and had suspected I was at a loss on the right action to take so she made a move and told me she had to go to class and that she would not wait any longer. She proceeded to walk away and I stood there clueless. I called on her to return but she kept moving and with each step, my infuriation increased.

With the fear of appearing weak, I walked towards her, shoved her by the shoulder and made a move I have regretted till this day. I raised my hand and slapped her. Unexpectedly, she raised her hand and slapped me back. The impact of this slap was really heavy as her long fingernail got me injured in the process. There was an unusual calm in the school as everyone found her guts really surprising. Being that it was going to be a quiet day for me, I am certain this explains why I had no cane with me on the day. Without a second thought, I had pulled out my belt and my not fitted trouser going down slowly.

It was a serious gaffe and we got separated by people. There and then, I got the biggest leadership lesson of my life. We faced a school panel and after writing series of report and explanations, I was set free by the panel but she was punished for the action.

I felt so hurt but the whole incident that even with the panel's decision. I walked up to Chidinma to apologize and constantly visited the spot she was serving her punishment to help her through and with this singular act I felt better again. The good thing was that I learned from it.

don't lead people by hitting people over the head - that's Assault, not Leadership - Dwight Eisenhower

The incident was my turning point as it totally changed my ideals on leadership. I had no need to consistently command or demand respect from people.

I returned with a different attitude to life. This time, I was particularly interested in building people and I invested quality time with other students who had academic issues so rather than seek an opportunity for a staff meeting so as to show superiority, I rather went through sincerely looking for needs to solve and Yes, This was the magic!

I had developed the body parts theory of leadership in a bid to define what leadership is....

To contribute my own quota to the theories on leadership, I propose The Body-Parts Leadership Theory. Walk with me.

Leadership is like the eyes. It looks out for the good in others, notices the weaknesses as well and sees the background of its subordinates. Leadership can see the reasons behind reactions of other people and tries to sort them out without being shallow about it. A good leader knows even the thought processes of those he has to work with. It's not magic, it doesn't have to be magic.

To be continued...

By: Gedeon

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for LadyM
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Excellent

$ 0.00
3 years ago