When it only knocks off your cap, you should be grateful.

0 30
Avatar for Lady-Acher
2 years ago

Hi Readers! Good evening from here, hope you are having a good day wherever you are. May the blessings of our day always fall in our hands. Today was busy for me as I have to hurry to work in the morning. It had rained earlier and everyone had to wait for the rain to stop before going out for work.

When it finally stripped rain,the road was so busy and heavy, a lot of people were in a rush and needed to be at their work places. There was a traffic downtown that delayed the movements even more.

As I was walking down the streets with my umbrella, I saw a man in a car speeding down, probably to meet up with time. He was on his lane actually but forgot that people would drive out from their home and other roads by the side. As he sped past me, I raised my head up to see who was driving in such a manner. He drove past me in a few seconds and was so down from me that I couldn't see him again.

I kept walking slowly down to the public transport but when I finally looked straight and saw that same car in speed as it was parked, I doubted if it was it. When I walked closer, I began hearing voices in an argument. In my curiosity, I walked faster to know what was happening and when I reached there, I noticed it was the speeding car I saw a few minutes ago that had hit another car coming out from a compound.

This created a scene of quarrel between both drivers. When I asked to know how it happened, the driver coming out of his house narrated how he was slowly driving out of his house to work when in a flash he got hit by his (over speeding driver) car that forcefully stopped him. I took a look at the car that was hit and I saw that it was just the front that was spoiled. The man coming out of his compound was so lucky that he was just about to come out and his front tire hadn't entered the road. If not, it would have been him who would have been hit roughly.

Unsplash image

The overspending man was apologizing for his wrong but the man who got hit wasn't listening to him, he wanted a new car for the damage and not his apologies. It was a serious misunderstanding that attracted a crowd before the man who was hit was told by a police officer that he should be thankful for his life rather than demanding a new car at first.

What if you were hit and got badly injured or have died in the process? Would you be demanding a new car or struggling with your life? ... Said the police officers to the man who got hit.

Those questions were what calmed him down and he listened to what people have been telling him. It was concluded that the overspending man will pay for his damages and repair of what he caused himself.

As I left the scene, I concluded in my mind that I wouldn't use public transport that morning to my job. I decided to trek a little distance even though I was already late for work. The questions asked by those police officers kept fresh in my mind. I kept asking myself the same questions till I got home now and as I am writing this article.

The big lesson for me is that "when something that was going to chop off your head only knocks off your cap, you should be grateful"

Dear Mr stranger

Awesome traveler

Why is your heart filled with anger?

Cheer up and avoid danger

Are you a dog in a manger!

Don't pull out your dagger

For you might commit murder!

And end up behind bars

He hit your cars right?

Count your lucky stars

For your car is in good shape

And your body is in good form

What would have happened?

What would have been the topic?

If you were on the streets already?

And got damaged by the speeder

What words would you have to say?

What car would you be seeing in your dreams?

Or would you wake up for a fight?

And go back to your everlasting dream?

Hold your anger

For that which came to chop off your head

Only knocked off your cap

Hear me with flaming passion

For this life is one, and only once we live!

Appreciate your stars

For you won't find them when they are gone.

Unsplash image

I used to think that people only hurry when they have no faster means to get them to their desired destination. I was in a hurry to get to work while trekking but if I has a car to take me, I would comfortably relax till I get to my job. People seems not to understand this, they would hurry with legs and also hurry in their cars. That is when these unnecesary accidents happen. We have to check our hurry habits otherwise we would be in a hurry to hurt ourselves.

Thank you for your esteemed time. See you in my next post.

@Lady-Acher

Lead image credit: from unsplash.com

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lady-Acher
2 years ago

Comments