Journey through Art

9 32
Avatar for L0neRider
2 years ago

Art for me is another form of therapy, another form of getting away from the world and all it’s tribulations. I started drawing since I was a kid, my dad at first didn’t support me at the time. He would say I had better things to do than to sit and start drawing things. Most times back when I was little, whenever I had any image in mind, I would put it down no matter where I was and it even made me draw in almost all my school books.

Image from unsplash.com

Well, hello beautiful humans, hope we all had a great week last week. Today I would be letting you all in on my journey as a self-taught artist.

Image from unsplash.com

How it all started.

It all started when I was a kid around five years old, I used to own tons of comic books, my best was one titled ‘’Terry’s a little hero’’. I can still remember it all because not one day went by without me trying to sketch Terry and his friends. That was when I started having a thing for drawing. I would literally waste the drawing book I was provided with for school on drawing Terry. My dad didn’t like it because to be honest, I feel I really wasted a lot of books both drawing books and normal notebooks on learning how to draw.

At a point my dad saw he couldn’t do anything else than help me achieve my dream and I got my first sketch pad when I finished primary school. I started buying more comic books, I bought Supa Strikas more because they were gotten easily and at a cheap price.

Image from unsplash.com

Challenges.

I grew up with my dad and his wife, my step-mother. I wouldn’t say she was encouraging at all because for some reason I couldn’t and still don’t understand, she hated anything I drew. I started perfecting my art to a reasonable extent when I was thirteen years old and so I started making my own comic books. I had made about two of them and left them at home, went to school only to come back home to find out that she had burnt them with the excuse that I had to focus and study. It happened a couple of times and whenever I told my dad about it, she’d stop for a while then continue later on.

At a point, she broke all my pencils, hid my coloring pencils and tore my drawing books but all those times she did those things, I’d always have something more to draw about. I could say she was my best motivation and source of inspiration instead of a challenge.

My only challenge till date.

‘’When the mind is shady, you get dark arts, when the mind is clear you get outstanding art but when your mind is blurry, the picture doesn’t come out well’’

That’s one line I use to comfort myself when I can’t seem to be getting any inspirations or imagination of anything to draw. That has been one challenge I can’t seem to overcome. Most days I feel like drawing things but I just don’t have this clear head and the whole image I’m trying to put out gets spoilt and all. It happens a lot when I’m angry, sad or overthinking and most times I think it just comes with the new age you attain and the responsibilities.

Some of my recent drawings.

I call this one ‘’CHILL KONG’’. I spent about an hour getting this done because I had to stop at intervals to get some other things done. What gave me this idea was the movie ‘’SING’’. I had just seen the movie and all that was in my head was this picture so I just had to put it down before it faded away from my head.

I did this one back In August last year after I came back from the camp where I met @the_northstar It had been a while since we started chatting after the camp and one day while I was just making random sketches, I felt she would be happy or impressed if I made her something. After I made this, I posted it on a group chat where herself, her friend and I hung out almost every night and her friend Jessica who is also my old-time friend got a little jealous so I had to make another one.

After Jessica wanted me to make something for her, I did this. It was one of my first tongue-out drawings. I only had the ability to draw guys flawlessly but when I did this, I felt like I unlocked a new skill or chapter in my game of drawing.

Life can hit us at times when we least expect, I did this one paying tribute to my mum. I really spent time putting information into most details of this drawing. She died during the pandemic and that’s why I drew us with the nose mask.

@the_northstar had her birthday last year after the camp and I ran out of ideas of what to give her as a birthday gift and all I could think of was a piece of my art containing little details of things she loved like the choker and sticking out her tongue while taking selfies.

There it is people, my art journey, thank you all for coming this far with me.

Article type: Random article
Date: 24th of January 2022
Author: L0neRider
Sponsors of L0neRider
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.58
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.02 from @Kristofferquincy
+ 1
Sponsors of L0neRider
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for L0neRider
2 years ago

Comments

Amazing dear. Can you art my name?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah sure........ it'll take about two days though, I'm currently busy with school work but I'll make it I promise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your CHillKOnG drawing looks like one of those APE NFTs..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah... true 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Art is more than a way to escape the world for a bit, art is a voice , a language, a language so powerful that with just a random splash of paint on a page has meaning. Art is life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Art truly is life. I'm glad you know that my friend.💪🏾❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad I do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🥺🥺🥺🥺 This is so beautiful. ❤️❤️❤️ Challenges are there to make us stronger. ❤️✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I'm glad I got through it

$ 0.00
2 years ago