What will you do in this situation?

24 28
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🤠, how are you today?

My day was a lot busier than I thought it will and that's because I did some activities I didn't plan for. From engaging on readcash and hive to curating some articles on dreemport, down to an unexpected and very long phone call, then finally doing some coding exercises gotten from the computer science course I am taking with Harvard, I didn't take a break from morning till later in the evening.

Source

I am very tired right now but I am glad about the number of things I was able to do today, I just hope I can keep up that energy tomorrow. It's one thing to start doing something but it's a totally different ballgame when it comes to keeping it consistent. But enough of my rambling, let's just go over to the main topic.

A very expensive gift

I was browsing through Twitter earlier this evening when I came across a somewhat interesting post. A guy tweeted that his friend is feeling worthless because his girlfriend was gifted an iPhone 13 and a huge sum of money by her best friend who is a guy

The boyfriend was planning on gifting her a pair of Nike sneakers worth about $50 but someone else just gave her an iPhone 13 worth around $800 and also $1000, and that made him very insecure and suspicious that she was probably having an affair with her "best friend".

Before you start criticizing him for not trusting his girlfriend, I will like to point out that it's normal for anybody to feel that way in a situation like this. Ladies might not know how it feels but let me cook up a scenario you might relate with. I used "cook up" because the scenario is actually going to be about food 😆

Now, imagine you cooked a basic dish for your partner and you took it to his house to surprise him but you met him eating a very exquisite food that looks a lot more expensive than what you brought, and a beautiful lady is sitting next to him who he introduced as his best friend, how will you feel?

Too much?

Source

There might not be anything going on between them we can't help ourselves from feeling the way we will feel when faced with something like that, emotions aren't something you can just flip on and off like a light switch, different factors can trigger them and sometimes we can't escape some of those emotions.

Ok, I think we should all be on the same page at this point, now let's go back to the main issue. The truth is that I will have the same reaction the boyfriend is having and a lot of thoughts will run through my head because that's a very expensive gift which is around $1800, why will anybody just do that if nothing is going on between them?

Secondly, why will someone have a best friend of the opposite gender when they are already in a relationship? Isn't your partner supposed to be your best friend? This topic of opposite-gender best friends trended in my country a couple of months back and a lot of crazy things were revealed (I even made an article about it here).

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I learned a lot of things during that best friends viral era. Some people sleep with their best friends and over 90% of those who aren't doing it want to do it, even the ones already in a relationship with someone else. Do you think it's possible for a male and female to be best friends without one of them falling in love with the other? Personally, I don't think it's possible.

You might argue that you have seen male-female bestfriends where neither of them is in love with each other but can you even tell when one of them is in love? It might be that one of them was in love in the past but got past it and moved on but the point I am trying to make is that at one point or another, one of them will catch feelings.

It's just the laws of nature, you can't fight it, and neither can you cheat it. When two people are always spending time together, will it be hard for love to join the party? Sooner or later, one of them will want something more than just friendship. Some of the so-called best friends even cuddle and they call it harmless, like wtf?!

Image source

With the viral best friend brouhaha that happened some months back in my country, it isn't surprising to see that young man in the screenshot I posted earlier suspecting his girlfriend of cheating with her "best friend", who wouldn't think that way after reading some of those crazy stories?

Most people on Twitter advised him to remain in the relationship but he should no longer take the girlfriend seriously, he should just be enjoying her company for now until she decides to leave on her own. Twitter is seriously the last place you should ask for relationship advice 😂. Scratch that, social media as a whole should be a no-fly zone when it comes to relationship advice, only use them if you know you're tired of your relationship 😆.

What do you think about this issue? If you were the guy, what will you do? Will you tell her to return the gifts at the expense of coming out as an insecure and controlling individual? Will you break up the relationship? If you were the lady, will you accept such expensive if you know your partner is not going to be comfortable with it? Let me know what you think in the comments below, coz right now I don't even know what to think, all I keep replaying in my head is; "she's definitely cheating" 😂

Source

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Tuesday July 5, 2022

11
$ 2.37
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Aimure
+ 2
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

I agree with you, when in a relationship your partner should be your best friend and not having bestfriend elsewhere it hot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What type of playing is this?🤣 That gift is too much for ordinary "bestie bestie" haba! Or except the so called best friend is into Yahoo... infact being into Yahoo makes it more clear that he must have been chopping food(Yahoo People no send).

If I'm the guy, I'd go for plan B(backup gf) and play along till when she start manifesting, I'll now shock her with my plans.

I'm sure the advices given to Him on the comment have shattered him already 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's very obvious that the bestfriend is into yahoo, it's only them that can afford to lavishly spend on someone else girlfriend. The boyfriend was even considering to go and start doing yahoo too so that he will have enough money to compete, but his friend talked him out of it. Imagine doing yahoo because of woman 🤮

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm, that's something indeed hehe. But I think it depends on how the other party will receive your present or gift no matter how "not expensive" it may be. If she (or he) treats the more expensive one with more importance then that's the time I would react (maybe, lol).

And if he/she is receiving a guest, he/she should have at least told you in the first place so you wouldn't be caught unaware. That's where the trust issues come out I guess when the other party isn't open or transparent to the other.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's just it, lack of communication is what usually leads to trust issues. The boyfriend might be feeling insecure because the girlfriend haven't made it clear the type of relationship she has with the bestfriend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey kush. How far? It be long o. Hope you are holding up strong? On the matter, you have said it all, social media should be the last place you should ask have for relationship advise. Truth is there friends who can just think of u as a very invaluable person and decide to gift u something huge. So, I'd advise he keeps to his relationship albeit not totally relaxed but make sure he is strong enough to take anything. Also, to avoid stories that touches, he should never 💯 trust a woman

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lmao 😂 that last part sha. That's just the short version of it, never trust a woman completely.

How you dey jare? You have been a ghost around here for a while, hope all is well?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahala for who trust woman completely o.

Omo, I dey o. Just engaging in new stuffs and also a friend came visiting so no time at all. This one sef na midnight I dey type am😴😴

$ 0.00
1 year ago

if its me, i will still be in the relationship but will be on the watch between both of them to see for myself if something is going on. i will act as if i trust her so she wont feel insecured.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, that's actually what I will do. I need to gather everything first before I can confront her, there might be nothing going on after all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People are not okay oh .. why would you be gifting my girl something that is more expensive than I can give her na malaria or ment. ?😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂 the matter tire me bro, that guy no just get conscience

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As in ehn 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have guy friends even though I have a boyfriend already. But I make sure to let my man closer to them, so he will feel comfortable and he will get a chance to know them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's how it's supposed to be. Having male friends when you already have a boyfriend isn't abnormal not weird, but it becomes something else when you have a particular friend who you spend a lot of time with (sometimes even more than your boyfriend), the boyfriend is definitely going to feel insecure and jealous

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm.. If there's no strings attached between them, well, I think there's no need to worry about. It could be just a mere giving/receiving an expensive gift.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah that's what I thought too, but again if you were in that situation you can't stop yourself from thinking there's something going on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, we can't really deny the fact that we will think that there is something fishy. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I go Sha tell her make she explain their bestie relationship, because I no understand that kind one.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂 exactly o, I have heard too much stories about besties and I better be safe than sorry

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the boy has some trust issues here. I don't see any problem from gifting a pricey gift because above all, we're friends. Haha. That's so bad if the boyfriend suspects the best friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The girlfriend has a male bestfriend who isn't friends with her boyfriend, that such of expensive gift is inappropriate in this scenario, the boyfriend is definitely going to feel insecure about it considering the way a lot of girls in my country cheat when they meet someone with a lot of money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can be a harmless and no-strings attached gift though. I won't read meaning to it tbh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

With the way things are happening among besties in this country? I will read all manner of meaning into it o, one has to be extra careful these days

$ 0.00
1 year ago