WE113 - Going up or going down?

17 47
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Space, Ocean, Prompt

Hello everyone, how are you today?

I recently clocked one year on this platform (yesterday) and I discovered today that I am also one year old on hive πŸ˜†. I remember I created an hive account the same day I created my readcash account, so yesterday was also my one year anniversary on hive. Sometimes I wonder how things would've turned out if I spent more time on hive, but it's no use crying over spilled milk right now.

Anyway, this article was my entry to the weekend engagement challenge on hive (original article here) and the question was: You have the choice of traveling to space for a week or spending a week on an exploration vessel diving the depths of the ocean. What do you choose and why?

Background source

I had to weigh both options carefully before I arrived at the answer I needed but before I reveal that answer and the reasons why I picked it, let's take a walk as we explore my train of thoughts concerning both options.

First, what is space? According to Merriam-Webster dictionary,

Space is the region beyond the earth's atmosphere or beyond the solar system.

The only benefit I see of going to space is that I am going to see the earth from above; just one big globe floating in space and maybe see a few asteroids and space rocks but that's it. I will probably get bored after an hour or two, that's if I even manage to go up there without going unconscious πŸ˜‚ (I have an extreme fear of height).

That leaves me with the ocean and honestly, that's the best option for me coz the ocean is just beautiful! And also because I am an aquaculturist, that's what I'm currently studying at the university. There are lots of creatures under the ocean and one week won't even be enough to see all of them!

I imagine going on that exploration journey in a big spherical submarine-like vessel with most of it made of reinforced glass and having powerful LED floodlights all around it, so we can have a very clear view as we explore the depths of the ocean. Seeing creatures like sharks, seals, dolphins, and different species of fish will keep me entertained for hours.

People go to aquarium parks just to see those creatures but seeing them in their natural habitat while in a vessel is a better experience, it's like the opposite of an aquarium! What do I mean? Well, an aquarium is basically a cage where sea creatures live in the human world and we humans look at them within those cages but an exploration vessel is an aquarium for us humans as we go into the ocean world, a key difference is our aquarium can move all over their world πŸ˜‚

I can imagine spending months under the ocean and I won't even get bored because I will keep coming across different species of sea creatures. There are lots of mysteries under the sea and scientists have said that we are yet to scratch the surface of what has been discovered, man has only explored about 5% of the ocean and we still don't know what's hidden in over 95% of it.

Apart from animals, other things like plants and even the bottom of the ocean hold lots of secrets but we can't even go to the bottom of the ocean because of the high pressure of water. Just merely thinking about it, I can already tell there will be lots of moments where I will open my mouth in complete awe, one of those "how is this even possible" moments.

As an aquaculturist, I have been taught about different fish species found in the oceans as well as plants but I have only seen them when they are in captivity or when they are dead, it is a big difference and a unique experience to see them in their natural home. Well, it's all fun and games until we hear someone yelling; "release the Kraken!" πŸ˜‚.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Tuesday August 9, 2022

All GIFs gotten from Giphy

10
$ 1.53
$ 1.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Space, Ocean, Prompt

Comments

Happy anniversary to you. Some have fobia for going down. For me I like trying out things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here bro 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohooo, Happy Anniversary πŸ₯³πŸ₯³. Anyways I think I will choose on going up than go down as I dont know how to swim. And I feel like I will drown if ever I tried it haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You don't need to know how to swim if you want to explore the ocean, you can stay inside a submarine vessel and won't even come in contact with water 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Anniversary my dear friend May you have a fruitful year on both platforms. Huhu, I really love the ocean, though it scares me somehow because of big creatures there might eat me or what hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ I understand your fears and I am scared of the same thing too. Even though we are going to be in a vessel, who knows what might happen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Different hilarious thoughts came knocking as I was reading.

What if the vessel happens to get loosened while in the see or say it's not strong enough and a shark comes knocking on your door?🀣.

What if the control is Lost and no way to bring the vessel up🀣.

And last, it's good if you'll get to mermaid's kingdom🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lmao. Believe me I also thought about all these scenarios and even if I will like to believe that those vessels are very strong, something bad can still happen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're great! Wow, big congrats to you my friend, such big achievements you have can inspire more to us thank you😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for your kind words ma'am 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow... It's double anniversary for you and that's amazing. Congratulations, brother. Cheers to many more to come.

I would prefer diving into the depths of the ocean too. I want to see those creatures and explore there. I prefer there to the space...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The ocean looks more fun and interesting in my opinion 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I absolutely agree...so many fun things to see.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey . do you have discord? Dm me @Jane1289 I have something to tell you..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I tried sending a request but it didn't work, they said I need your four digit tag

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow happy anniversary! 😁 And lol I'm in panic mode while reading spending months under the ocean 🀣 I should learn how to swim first maybe I will really appreciate it. I tried once should take the courage for the second.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ I know how to swim but I'm not really good at it, but I guess I don't have to worry much about that when exploring the ocean since I will be in a submarine, unless something happens to the submarine

$ 0.00
1 year ago