This is getting too much

17 34
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🤠 how have you been today? Today was a bit fun for me and it's probably because my sisters didn't go to work and they were home all day. Before now, I am usually the only person at home every day, until my youngest sibling comes back from school, so it does get boring sometimes.

My parents traveled today and if it were in the past, it would be a very happy moment for me coz it will mean I will stay up all night watching TV, but these days it makes no difference if they travel or not coz I am always in my room and I also can stay up all night if I want to without my parents forcing me to go sleep 😆.

Anyway, earlier today, I was checking news updates on nairaland and I came across an amusing post. The title reads: Lady Dumps Her Boyfriend For Not Getting His voter's card to Support Obi That's very extreme and totally uncalled for and I want to congratulate the boyfriend for sticking to his choice no matter what.

For those that don't know what's going on, it's election season in Nigeria and everyone is gearing up for the presidential election which is taking place next year. During the Philippines elections some months back, I read so many articles from Filipinos here about the behaviors of some people in their country when it comes to the choice of candidates and how relationships are broken because of politicians.

I remember telling someone that something that extreme doesn't happen in my country but it turns out I was dead wrong, recent events have shown that the same thing is happening here, if not worst. A few days ago, I came across a tweet on Twitter about someone threatening the life of a popular figure in Nigeria simply because the person doesn't support a particular person, isn't that just stupidity?

The supporters of one of the presidential aspirants are starting to behave like extremists, they bully and insult anybody who's not in support of their preferred candidate. I also support this person but I am never going to shove my choice down someone else's throat! Everyone has a right to choose whoever they want to, you only have to state the reasons why you prefer a particular candidate and let the other person decide if they switch or not.

We are still in the middle of the year and people are already dumping each other because of the difference in choice of candidates, what will then happen when the election day is near? What will happen if their preferred candidate loses the election? They will kill everyone or what? Elections aren't a do-or-die affair, but people are ready to sacrifice their lives for politicians who don't even know them personally.

The one that still annoys me is the voter's card registration, everyone is shouting "go get your voter's card", do they know how difficult it is to register these days? I mentioned earlier that my sisters didn't go to work today and what actually happened is that everyone at their workplace was given today off so they can go register for the voter's card.

One of my sisters left home as early as 7am to go register at one of the centers and she came back later in the afternoon looking pissed off and saying she couldn't do anything at the center. Apparently, she got there and met a large number of people and discovered there was a list and people were taking numbers, the number she ended up with was 137.

Image source

The registration officer didn't arrive until 9am and it was just one person; one person that will be responsible for registering over 200 people and counting, that's just ridiculous. After a while, the supposed list got all messed up and different lists were flying everywhere with nobody knowing which one was real, the whole thing was very disorganized and she got frustrated and left.

Initially, I planned on going tomorrow to go register if my sister successfully registered today, but listening to her experience discouraged me from going, I can't afford to stand in the sun all day and end up not being able to register. I will probably have to think of something else, maybe looking for another registration center that's a bit organized.

I just can't wait for the whole thing to be over but we still have over 8 months to the election day 😩 I am getting tired of all the arguing and fighting, and the worst thing is that it's only some of the supporters of one of the aspirants that are behaving this way, I don't see the supporters of the other aspirants misbehaving this way, can't they just take things in moderation and campaign sensibly?

A very big thanks to @Jane @foryoubtc09 and @DanLawan for their sponsorship renewal

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Friday June 17, 2022

11
$ 2.05
$ 1.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 6
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

I hope we get to experience the day after election day because the way I dey see things, only God can save us

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It will be well bro, I just hope anybody that ends up losing won't resort to violence

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahala be like wetin again? Looking at what is currently happening on our general class group, I think PO may get a hard time winning if his supporters continue to behave like this, cos some people will just deliberately go n vote for another candidate just to show day they have their choice to make. Also threatening someone's daughter is too extreme, I think he should be arrested and charge for intent to murder and society peace disturbance

$ 0.01
1 year ago

PO supporters are just making things worse for him, they don't know that everything should be done in moderation but in their own case they are doing it excessively and it's now toxic

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are people getting craz because of politics? OMG

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They are definitely getting crazy and toxic

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The whole thing is now looking like a comedy for people want to laugh, from one study to another. Internet is just cruising right now. Hahah🤣. Sorry to say but I vowed not to suffer what I passed through in school with Queue. I have my PVC already, so I'm out the street.

Menh, I easily get pissed off by those crowds. Wtf!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You get luck sha, you're already have your PVC but people like me still don't know how to get their own 😩 I no fit handle crowd abeg

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eyah doh! Go hustle for am and then we will welcome to the league 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What!!! That comment is too extreme. Daughter? On top Election. I don't know why some people think backward. I wish there's a way to caution people on social media.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's because social media is a faceless platform, that's why people feel they can misbehave and get away with it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah yes elections really make things horrible at times because ppl are fighting too much. There's also news of one student who committed suicide because of bullying of the supporters of one candidate. It's not the candidate's fault but the supporters unacceptable acts gosh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Damn, someone taking their own life is a bit extreme, those bullies just don't know when to stop, the politicians don't care about them!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The election period is the most crowded period visited by many people, in my country it is also very crowded, and there are also many noisy politicians when the election period is taking place.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here, it gets very crowded this period and that gets very annoying after some time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm really getting tired of the whole thing. Everyday they will be anonncing go and get your voters card when they haven't provide machines in adequate number. If they like let them keep on fighting nonsense. They're not sensible enough that is why. The election day isn't even close they have started seperating from relationship.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The whole thing is just frustrating, the way people are taking this election is becoming too annoying, imagine relationships being destroyed all because of politicians, it's rubbish abeg

$ 0.00
1 year ago