Experience Is The Best Way To Build Knowledge, Not The Internet

13 69
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🀠 how are you today? I was supposed to write a tutorial article for two apps I mentioned in my previous article because some people asked for it but right now I won't be able to do that because I am mentally drained after publishing an article earlier today on hive πŸ˜†

To be honest, it is not easy to write 2 articles in a day, there are days I have to sacrifice coding because I am too tired at the end of the day to do it (coding itself is another mental tasking activity!) but I believe it will eventually get easier.

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. ― Confucius

We've all experienced the internet. You know, the place where you can get all of your information about any subject by just typing it into Google or YouTube or other related platforms and getting results, it's pretty incredible. You can find out how to do basically anything, you're never left in the dark.

But sometimes, that's not enough. We need to get our hands on actual things before we can truly understand them. And maybe even more importantly, we need to experience things ourselves in order to truly understand them, to know what they feel like, what they smell like, and how they work.

This is especially true when it comes to learning about technology. Whether it's learning how to use an app or an email program or even a computer itself (or more), learning by reading about it is not going to cut it you need to experience it yourself before you really understand it!

Source

There are a lot of ways to learn something new. Some people prefer to read about it, and some people prefer to watch videos or listen to podcasts. For example, when I was learning how to code, I watched a lot of video tutorials on coding and walked through the different processes step by step. It was great because the tutors knew what they were talking about and they could explain it in an easy way for me.

At that point, I always said to myself that I understood what is going on but when it is time for me to apply the knowledge I have gotten from those tutorials, I will realize I have forgotten most of the things. Now, it's basically the same thing in other aspects of life, it's easy for you to say you understand something when you haven't gotten a hands-on experience with it.

When you get hands-on experience, you learn by doing and when you do something new over and over again, your brain gets used to it. It doesn't matter if you're just playing a game or writing articles: if you get your hands on something new every day for at least a few hours each week, then eventually you'll be able to figure it out without thinking too hard about it.

Source

When it comes to writing, you can find articles and videos all over the internet on how to become a great writer, but you will never become one just from reading those articles, you actually have to write and implement the knowledge you have gotten from those contents. So, instead of learning by watching YouTube videos or reading articles, or listening to podcasts, maybe you should be learning from your own experiences instead.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday August 20, 2022

Lead image model source

6
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @Kacy01
$ 0.01 from @MaeAntoinette
+ 3
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

True kushyzee that's true. The learnings from the experience is different from the internet we've seen. Experience is teaching a lot. Based on my experiences too, I learned from it that help my future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly Ramona, experience is the best teacher and we always have to practice whatever we are learning so that it will stick in our memory for long

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes kushyzee that's true that's why I'm really thankful to all the experiences I had in my life because I learned from it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No doubt, the internet is a class and teacher on its own, we are now learning almost everything on our own on YouTube especially.

I thought of something one day, since we can learn barely everything on YouTube, very soon People would leave school to settle for knowledge on the internet, now imagine surgery and medicine being learned on YouTube 😱

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The funny thing is that you can actually learn surgery and medicine online πŸ˜† but you won't have access to state of the art laboratory equipment found in universities to practice with. Even if you want to buy them, they are very expensive and it will be cheaper to just go learn from a school.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the problem getting knowledge online. We got too many and it causes us information glut. We tend to forget them overtime unlike experiencing in first-hand.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There's something called tutorial hell; that's where a person keeps watching videos and reading articles about a skill they are learning without actually practicing what they are learning

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right, experience is the best way to learning new things and it will stick.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a way for us to train our brain to get used to new things, instead of just looking or listening to tutorials on how it works

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always prefer hands on or what they say "actual" rather than reading or theoritical. I learned fasterπŸ˜†,

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here, that's the method that works for me and it's a type of learning called kinesthetic, we are both kinesthetic learners πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. It is not just about reading and watching those tutorials. We should learn the hands on of it. We can never really say we learn something from that when we never get to experience how it will be done.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly ma'am, it's easy to visualize what we have learnt in our head and think we have understood it but a true test of knowledge is if we can experience how it's done

$ 0.00
1 year ago