Motion Sickness

7 27
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

I'm in a vehicle at the time of writing; in public transport on the way to my university for submission of my project work, but I've been feeling extremely weird since the beginning of the journey; something called motion sickness or whatchamacallit. I'm having the butterflies in my stomach or perhaps the dragon fli th say you get the butterflies when you're in love but it's quite the opposite for me... I'm having the butterflies and the worse version if butterflies in my stomach coupled with slight dizziness perhaps due to the heat in the vehicle or something.

It's the usual car as a means of transport but the drivers here are a bit cruel; unlike Lagos where you have the usual three passengers at the back seat with one passenger beside the driver, here what we have is four passengers squeezed at the back seat and two passengers in front; almost like when illegal immgrants are being smuggled into a country with limited space in the delivery vehicle, and... don't judge me but this state is a sh*t hole without proper regulations , and transport officials treat people like stacks of fishes transported via a delivery company.

Right now I'm feeling weird in my stomach due to the weird air I'm breathing in the vehicle; apart from the fact that I've not had anything to eat due to going to and fro, and up and down like the devil, the poor condition of the road is making my stomach uneven. The vehicle literally throws defies gravity by throw all the passengers off balance each time we get into a porthole and a bump cos' Nigerian roads can be so uneven that a pregnant lady will or may lose the baby if she decides to do a 4 hour journey via this route.

Stomach is uneven, feeling dizzy at some point and maybe this really is what people mean when they talk about motion sickness. At this rate I'm wondering...if I'd ever be able to travel by sea or air without getting seasick or air sick, or maybe I'm simply feeling this way because I've been indoor for over two months and haven't taken any form of transport ever since.

Damn..we just hit another porthole and my stomach is just flew off its usual porion; now I can feel my intestine in my mouth...I'd rather stop talking about this before it gets worse. Probably wondering how I'm able to type this as it happens right? Well, I'm using my android notepad and will probably hit the publish button as soon as I get to the university.

Major reason I'm going to school is to see my project supervisor today for final review before printing my project write-up for submission and I know today is basically wasted.... maybe I'd take a walk to the restaurant and request for fried rice and spaghetti with salad as a means to cool off...while simultaneously taking cold Hollandia yogurt to completely kill the stress.

I've aways heard about motion sickness but I guess today is the day I experience first-hand. Maybe I'm not meant for this country and I'm simply unlucky to he born here...

I do not intend to rant today but I'm left with no choice... it's basically the first time I'd be publishing late due to being busy and having to run here and there to make sure my project work is in order.....

I'm holding myself back from talking about the poor condition of the road plus the dysfunctional university system but I'd rather not. I'd rather focus on writing about my intended achievement for the month of october on this platform; something I'm gonna write about perhaps tomorrow or the day after...

Thanks for reading...

Toodles!

Lead image unsplash

6
$ 1.93
$ 1.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Before, I also have that motion sickness when I travel by a car. But through listening to music I can divert my attention to different things I thing and that's the reason why it's gone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also felt dizzy when I was travelling sometimes during this pandemic. I have always struggled with motion sickness though so it was nott hat new to me. I was just surprised that even a vehicle with open windows made me dizzy HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was equally surprised yesterday..first time I'd experience such.. I'm guessing it's due to the fact that I haven't been in a vehicle for over one month...as I'm always indoor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try to always bring some candy in your bag or pocket. Sometimes it helps, at least for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll advise you go on empty stomach the next time you'll be plying that road... Save a lots of havoc. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I actually went on empty stomach..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

huh, maybe i didn't read that part. if so, engage in fasting 2 days before your trip then. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago