Broken glasses

18 40
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Today was a bit of a difficult day for me; not knowing what to write was the initial problem coupled with the fact that the light from my laptop screen was all of me...no that's wrong...it was all over my eyes and o was being tortured. I couldn't clearly see what I was typing because I was doing so without my glasses which was a really difficult situation. My glasses were right on the table beside the laptop but.... lemme stop here. At this point you're probably wondering why I chose to make myself uncomfortable while my glasses was right in front of me; it's not as simple as you think.

Glasses got broken

My glasses got broken this morning and I haven't been myself ever since; I was initially typing on PC without glasses without realising it wasn't on my face, then suddenly I heard a loud sound from behind me almost like when something got broken. Kaboom...it turned out someone say on my glasses by accident.. accident or not; you're getting me a new one. Well, my room mate sat in it and it got broken in a flash. Before you blame me for putting my glasses on the bed you should know I actually didn't place it over there; it was placed on a set of clothes which were on top a cloth box right beside the bed but I guess someone went over there and accidentally let it slip on the bed and a cloth fell on top which made it invisible.

"The room mate"... yes I'd refer to him as "the room mate"; the room mate sat on it and kaboom it was broken in a flash. Was writing on my PC this morning in a table, chair , and PC position and was feeling like I was in my office with the sense of business when it happened; heard this weird breaking sound "kpam", looked back and realised it was my glasses. This is the part where I shout out loud Noooooooooo! Not again!. I know this is the aoetbehere you begin to nudge me fir being careless because I mentioned "not again", this making it obvious that it had happened before. Here's the story;

I broke my glasses once when I was sick; I think about January or something. I had malaria and was basically losing my mind when I slept off with my glasses on and was having the weirdest dream ever (those kinds of dreams you have when you have malaria) when I suddenly heard a "kpam" sound from my dream, opened my eyes and realised my glasses was no longer on my face; I guess I removed it somewhere between having a weird dream and losing my mind. Looked at my side and realised the breaking sound was from my glasses; the lens didn't break but one of the arms was broken. At that point I had to go back to sleep while imagining that I was still dreaming. Woke up as early as 6am, went to the nearest store and had to re-attach the broken arm via super glue. Had to do the buying and gluing process really early before sunrise or I'd have difficulty I'm seeing because I'm photoohobic (eyes are light sensitive).

Today the same thing happened again and it's coincidental that the same arm broke once more. Guess what; I already bought super glue and I'm gonna be gluing it once more. I have a spare glasses in my glasses case but if I told you why I can't use it you'd tag me careless. The spare glasses is broken as well but worse than the initial; both arms are broken but ingress I'd have to glue those arms as well, which means I wouldn't bbable to fold the glasses anymore. I'd glue them for now till I'm able to get to the clinic for another frame.

Breaking your glasses unexpectedly can be really annoying; one moment you can see closely and the next all things are blurry and you cam hardly see clearly without squirting. Apart from the fact that I sometimes have difficulty in concentrating on words or seeing clearly; I'm also obotophobic which is a big disadvantage for me; going out today without my glasses was almost like torture; the world was too bright for me due to the sunlight, almost like the world was a gigantic torture chamber for my eyes. I had to squint before I could see anything plus my eyes were burning from the scorching heat of the sun almost like the sun intended to make fried potatoes and chips from my eye balls...haha.. ignore my laughter but it was a real struggle which I doubt any of my readers would be able to understand unless you're equally photoohobic.

Do not mention it in the commentd that I'm careless because I know I'm not; sometimes things simply happen coincidentally and we can't blame anyone. In this case you can't blame me because I didn't break the glasses; the glasses chose to break itself by placing itself under the spot where "the roommate" decided to sit.

My glasses is broken, taking a walk without it is basically torture; torture which I survived today but may not tomorrow. I'm gonna be gluing the glasses once more as soon as I wake up tomorrow morning, as well as the spare and abandoned glasses. I know I'm careless; just don't say it.

Happy glasses day......

Toodles!

Lead image from unsplash

13
$ 6.26
$ 6.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 2
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

It’s sad that you have to replace your glasses again this year. You just have to be more careful with it next time. These things happen though.

Your roommate πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I would have been really made at him if I were in your shoes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigooo, one of the most important thing was broken, if it's me I will really make a big fuss over it. I hate it when my things got broke because if someone's carelessness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter carefully you maybe if something happen, it will surely happen. Guess what, maybe God doesn't want you using glasses again. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine got bent out of shape today too. I think I'm just going to dump them and get another one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess your glasses was tired of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welp, all I can say is that you need to be more careful lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The glasses needs to be more careful. It likes going places on it's own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If your glasses could talk, he'll probably talk lots of sht bout you for not taking good care of him lmao

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Used to happen to me a lot when I was a child but thankfully not these days... buy contacts, they are so easy to use and comfortable too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't want contact lens. I like my glasses already. Plus... will contact lens helped you against light sensitivity? I don't think so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sweetie, I'm using contacts from 15 years..I never had any issues with them... and for light sensitivity, start using eye drops to refresh and calm ur eyes... I never had any kind of isssues whatsoever.. all depends on how we ll we read an research about it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't you want contact lense instead? Though it's also not good to sleep with it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nah I pass..I'd stick to my conventional glasses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha.. Owkies..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wear glasses and had accident s often.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happens to the best of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had something similar happen to me, it's so bad to be like this without glasses. by the way, i had them made and they cost a lot of money, here in venezuela everything is in dollars.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess it's much cheaper here. Looks like we need to be more careful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago