Our Cutie Caleb and Some Facts about Bunnies

19 34
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago

How did Caleb Come and Go

Last quarter of 2019, my sister's secretary in her clinic gave my nephews two baby white bunnies with red eyes. They named the female bunny Misty and the male one Caleb. They look like twins. The only difference is that Misty's legs are a bit yellowish compared to Caleb. Unfortunately, Misty suddenly died before she can ever grow up. We don't know why. Caleb is the only one who survived and grew healthy. They don't let him out of the cage so he won't eat and destroy the plants in our yard. This is why we didn't have the chance to train him to get used to lifting. Being prey animals, rabbits are scared of being lifted. It makes them think that their predators are the ones carrying them. But some domesticated rabbits are used to lifting and cuddling because of owners who do that to them while they are babies. I would have done that to Caleb at an early age if I only knew about it sooner.

Around June this year, an accident happened and it made Caleb bid goodbye. Dad is so bored so he tried to clean Caleb's cage. He tried to lift Caleb perhaps to clear the space he's about to clean, not knowing that Caleb is scared of being lifted. Caleb struggled a lot that he accidentally scratched dad. The next day, dad gave him to our neighbor.

Behavior

Caleb eating leaves and feeds
My art tribute to Caleb

Rabbits love eating. Whether they're full or hungry, they always want something to munch. They eat veggies, leaves, fruits or feeds. This applies to Caleb as well. Since we have a lot of plants, we feed him with leaves then we add some feeds for his last meal for the day. He would devour everything I feed him in an instant. He really enjoys it. Later on, you'll see him munching in the air when he just finished his meal. He's also munching the wood and his cage.

This art tribute (2nd photo) I made for him gave me a surprise. I just want to take his picture with his name spelled out of dried leaves and flower. To my surprise, Caleb enjoyed eating it. I didn't know that he eats dried leaves and flower and some glue. I put some glue so the leaves would stick to the wood. I really can't believe he eats that much. He would even enjoy munching even objects that are not edible.

Caleb's hygiene time

Rabbits don't take a bath like cats do. They clean themselves the same way that cats do. I heard that there's a tendency for them to get sick when you force them to take a bath. Perhaps the water makes them feel cold and they can't take it.

Caleb relaxing

Rabbits are untrusting to both humans and animals since they are used to being a prey. They don't let their guards down. But when they lie flat on their stomach and their feet stretching freely like the one shown in the photo above, it means they are relaxed and they feel safe when you're around. I often see Caleb in this relaxing position and he lets me pet him and squeeze his tummy lightly. Rabbits are usually scared when you do that to them but Caleb likes it since he feels relaxed with my presence because he associates me with food. Still, I wasn't able to carry him. Feeding him didn't take away that fear.

Caleb beats the heat

A few months before Caleb left us, it was summer. I was surprised that Caleb jumped on his water and plunged himself like this. Perhaps he can't take the scorching heat of summer so he wants some water to beat the heat. He's been like that until he runs out of water.

Relationships

Junior visits Caleb

Cats are one of the predators of rabbits but our most friendly cat, Junior is an exemption. She climbed to Caleb's cage in search of food. Caleb is unexpectedly relaxed with Junior's presence. Junior showed him motherly love. She just groomed him like her own son. Then here goes Caleb sniffing Junior after getting groomed.

Marky visits Caleb

Dogs are also predators of rabbits but our Marky is an exemption just like Junior. Marky is extremely friendly to everyone and he enjoys being with Caleb. He loves to play with cats as well as Caleb. Since we can't let Caleb out of the cage, I let Marky and Junior visit him sometimes. Rabbits are social animals and they get bored when they're alone. Knowing about this fact, I let Caleb enjoy the company of Marky and Junior. I feel happy seeing Caleb at ease with our friendly dog and cat.

Fun Editing

Caleb in a Snowball

Caleb became my subject for editing just like our dogs and cats because he's attractive just like them. I experimented on one of my phone lenses, the fish eye lens. This lens has a circle effect that gives your photo a round shape. I tried it on Caleb and I imagine that a snowball look will suit him so I edited his photo and added some snow, leaves and sparkles using PicsArt app in my phone.

Caleb's Party
Easter Bunny Caleb

Venturing into the art of photo editing, I practiced other photo editing software using my laptop this time and Caleb has helped me with my practice as well. For this party and Easter edits, I used Photoshop to remove the background. I used Medibang software to edit the background and draw the objects I added. I used MS Word to put texts and egg shapes.

Unicorn Caleb

My imagination got wild and I came up with the idea to turn Caleb into a magical unicorn. I felt that it will suit him since he's all white and this close up photo will be the best one for the project. I still used Photoshop to remove the background and change the colors of the flowers on Caleb's head. Those flowers are originally the yellow bells in our yard. I used different brush tools from PicsArt, Medibang, and Gimp for the sparkling colorful clouds and the unicorn horn. Lastly, I used MS word for the rainbow gradient background. This is personally my favorite edit, the most beautiful remembrance Caleb has left me.

Caleb may have been given to our neighbor but I have a feeling he will have a good life there because he will be with a female bunny. I hope he will have a few babies with the female bunny he is with now. I'm sure their babies will be very cute like them. I miss you dearly Caleb. I wish you well and I hope you live a happy life with your fellow bunnies at the neighbor.

5
$ 3.65
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Geekgirl
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of KrisCastro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago

Comments

Aww I didn't know you had to give Caleb to your neighbour. I am sure he will have fun with the female bunny though😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dad had to give him to prevent accidents. I hope he lives a happy life and have babies one day with the female bunny he is with. Rabbits are social animals so I know he won't feel lonely in our neighbor's custody.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well it is good he can be with fellow rabbits too, and maybe have mini rabbits of his own

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, he will spend a good time in your neighbour custody. And also he will make a good relationship with whoever comes into his life. In previously, he did that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I heard there's a female rabbit so height even have babies one of these days. I wish him well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very sad that your Caleb was taken away from you. Hopefully he is very happy now. You had a lot of fun with him.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I miss him dearly. Looking at the bright side, at least such accident can be prevented especially with dad's reflexes getting slow. He has fellow rabbits who will accompany him so we won't get bored anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Caleb is so cute. I hope he has a good life with your neighbors

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah me too and hopefully cute babies too someday coz I heard there's a female rabbit in his company.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then for sure cute baby rabbits are on their way ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay may ganun din sa rabbit? Parang sa aso pag nakatihaya exposed ang belly pag tulog ibig sabihin they feel safe. Kainis ang dept of agriculture, pino promote ang rabbit meat. I kennat! Huhu! As for Junior sis bantayan mo pa din parang takot ako na baka pwede nya pa din saktan c caleb. Waa ewan praning lang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo ganyan mag relax ang rabbit hehe. Ako din i kenat talaga. Naawa ako pag kakatayin ang hayop eh. No worries naman kay junior. Sya nga madalas pumasok sa kulungan. Pag walang makitang food umaalis din agad. Sa 10 years ni junior kasi samin sanay na sya makisama sa iba ibang animals. Lagi kasi nya sila nakikita.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg I actually can't .. this is the second bunny's picture I have seen today after seeing one in @Lucifer's page... I find rabbits so adorable and squishy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes they are so squishy especially their tummies. I love squeezing them. It's so soft. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have also our rabbit beforw but sad to say kinain ng mga asong labas. Nakakalungkot po ang nangyari, mataas naman ang cage nila kaso naakyat pa ng mga asong labas , hinala namin sigbin daw kumain kasi wasak yung buong katawan nila kalahati nalang naiwan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yung dog kasi isa yan sa mga predator nila eh. Exemption lang itong pets namin kasi sanay na silang magkakasama. Grabe naman ang brutal ng nangyari sa rabbit nyo. Wasak talaga yung katawan. Ano ba yung singbin?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo sis. Isang uri ng mga wakwak na parang aso lang din pero tumutuwad kung lumalakad. Marami daw yan dito sa amin. Search mo sigbin sis sa google para may idea kana. Kaya bantayan mo rabbit mo sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala medyo creepy. Nakatuwad maglakad. Tinignan ko sa google mukang mythical at payatot na aso. Meron ba talaga nun sa mga probinsya? First time ko makarinig nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhaha creepy talaga yan sila. Malakas yan sila kumain ng kalabasa na hilaw at uling. Mga haka haka yan dito sis sabi ng mga matatanda totoo dw ang sigbin

$ 0.00
2 years ago