Being a better friend

13 31
Avatar for Kommie
Written by
3 years ago

I hope you're all having a beautiful Monday and you're doing fine.

A relationship can be defined as the way in which two or more people behave and are involved with each other.

The importance of relationships in life cannot be overemphasized. I'm not only referring to romantic relationships here, but also relationships with family, friends, neighbours, colleagues, peers , mentors, mentees even the ones you consider as your enemies.

As humans, we all crave for and need social interaction. Without relationships, life can be boring and unentertaining. Having healthy relationships with the people around us makes like fun, fulfilling and interesting to live.

I'm trying to navigate the friends phase of the relationship. I have a lot to work on in that department and I hope I will get better with time.

Is there anyone here like me that just goes into hiding? Not talking to friends or anything like that. One of those moments that you just need to take a break from everything and be on your own. Well, I'm having one of those moments now.

I don't know what is really the issue with me, I can't really say. I can go days or weeks without reaching out to my friends.

I'm not sure if it's the fact that I'm an introvert. I'm always happy to be around my friends, I really appreciate them but I always find myself just disappearing on them without knowing.

I'm not certain it's the right way to go. I mean just keeping away from friends and all. I get these mood swings that causes me to distant myself from people. I tend to fold up and go into my space.

Don't get me wrong, I don't find it difficult to make friends, I like meeting new people and everyday and getting to know them. The vibe is always great but the problem comes when you have to be calling and texting to keep up. I'm terrible at that.

I find it easier to have one on one communication with people, we can talk for long hours and have all the fun.

This is one of the issues I'm dealing with currently. I've had some of my friends complain that it's as if I don't care about them. In honesty, I actually do. I guess I'm not just big on the whole calling and texting thing.

I'm grateful for the friends I have. I wouldn't trade them for anything. The ones that have stuck by me and are always checking up on me.

The truth is, I don't want to continue like this, I want to be a better friend.

It scares me to think that I'll wake up one day and realize I don't have any friends, because I've been so occupied in my own space and forgetting the little things that matter.

Is there anyone here like me? Do you have issues when it comes to keeping up with friends and being active in their lives? It'll be good to know that I'm not alone.

What about the people that had issues like this too? How did you cope? How have you managed to be a better friend?

For the really social people, how do you people do it?

16
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kommie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kommie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I've always had this problem with many of my friends, I was in many ways better friend then them, but when you grow up a little bit or when something "open your eyes", you will probably get rid of them, cause you dont need that kind of people in your life!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. It seems like you had issues with some of your friends. But it's okay, in working on being better too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You only have to make an effort to improve your communication with them, if you really care, since you do not like to communicate by call and text you could make a video call, it is almost the same as being face to face, it is an idea hehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. You're right. A video call can be considered as one on one conversation too😁. Will definitely try that out more often.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

YouΒ΄re welcome dear πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Interesting . Iam very much impressed to see this . Your article is very informative. Too good. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice post...upvoted!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always try to help my friends when I can and like to be constantly in touch with them so that I can continue the friendship

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeaa.. I'm trying to keep in touch with them more often.

$ 0.00
3 years ago