Afro hair

6 36
Avatar for Kommie
Written by
3 years ago

If you're reading this, you probably have interest in afro hair. Afro hair is common among Africans and those in diaspora of African descent. Do you have afro hair? You have a friend that does? Or you're just curious? It's good to have you here. Thank you for dropping by. I'll be sharing how I personally take care of my afro hair on a wash day.

I believe afro hair is beautiful and I especially love my kinky tight curls. The tips I use in taking care of my hair includes washing, making use my hair is always moisturised, making use of protective styles like braids and twists, eating healthy, sleeping with a satin bonnet to protect the hair etc. Today, my focus is on a wash day routine. I wash my hair once a week.

  • Prepoo

The night before my wash day, I prepoo my hair. This process is necessary for me because it helps to prevent my hair from totally losing moisture when using shampoo. I achieve this by applying water and moisturising oil on my hair after I must've combed my hair then I leave it on for the night. Moisturising oils include coconut oil, aloe vera, olive oil. I mostly use either coconut oil or olive oil.

  • Washing

The next day after prepoo, I wash my hair with warm water using my hair wonder shampoo. My shampoo is sulfur free and works quite well for my hair. I try to massage my scalp as much as I can in the process of washing my hair.

  • Protein treatment

After washing, I go on to apply a protein treatment. The importance of this step is that it strengthens the hair and helps prevent breakage and damage. This step isn't something I do on a weekly basis. I apply a protein treatment once in a month using a do it yourself (DIY) I make myself at home. For my protein treatment, I mix an egg with a tablespoon of honey, a tablespoon of olive oil and one banana. I divide my hair into four sections, apply the mixture, cover it with a cap and let it sit for at least 20mins after which I rinse it out thoroughly with water.

  • Deep condition

On days where I do the protein treatment, I don't bother with this step otherwise, it's a regular routine as it follows the washing. This step is important because it helps to replace the moisture that the hair must've lost as a result of heat and styling. This is also a DIY treatment with a mixture of an egg and a tablespoon of olive oil. I divide my hair into sections and apply the mixture evenly and let it sit for about 20mins before rinsing it off thoroughly with water.

  • LCO ( Leave - in conditioner, cream and oil)

After the process of deep conditioning, I go ahead to use a leave - in conditioner. I especially like leave - in conditioners. They make detangling easy, prevents breakage and split ends as well as softens the hair for easy styling. I use the cantu leave - in conditioner and also apply it in sections. Following this process, I add hair cream to my hair and then seal it with olive oil.

So guys, that is my wash day routine. If you have afro hair. What's your routine like? If not, I'll still be happy to know how you take care of your hair.

6
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Kommie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kommie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Very Informative. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you too you too for taking your time to read through.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Afro hair is always awesome for people who can maintain them. I love afro hair but I don't have... Well written dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your feedback. I appreciate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dont have afro hair but i got really amazed by knowing about it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed the article. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago