The Power of Volunteering

5 34
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Mahatma Gandi said;

The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others

Key words:

  • Lose

  • Yourself

  • Service

  • Others

By vaolunteering, I mean service.

You see, so many people want to lead, but they don't want to serve.

Am serving you. Am not I?

I mean

Not I am?

Sorry

I am not?

Chai

Am I not? 🤭

When you give yourself to serve others and solve their problems, leadership will trail you.

You may want to watch this

Volunteering is not a scary word.

It sounds unattractive only to those who have not seen the value of giving their time, expertise and energy to a worthy cause.

Volunteering offers you the opportunity to gather the experience required for future roles in your industry.

Benefits of Volunteering

  1. Skill development: Being a volunteer enhances you native and interpersonal skills.

  2. Networking: Volunteering helps you meet people form diverse cultural backgrounds. You will learn to build relationships for the future. Relationships that last. Life is about Relationships

  3. Improved Self-esteem

  4. Better Job prospects: A volunteering track record on you CV often reveals an openness to team work and learning

  5. Personal Growth

Volunteering gives you two super advantages;

  • Opportunity and

  • Healthy Exposure

Volunteering helps you practice your native skill!

Mentoring

Another way to develop your skill is through mentoring.

Reinventing the wheel is sometimes costly. It costs you time and effort to create what already exists.

Mentors and Coaches are bridges to help you Dave time, energy and resources

Your wildest dreams is someone's reality. Your life's vision is someone's past

Did you get it?

Wisdom tells you to align yourself with such persons or systems and save yourself the hassle.

Isaac Newton said

If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulder of giants!

Mentors are:

  • Ladders

  • Shoulders

  • Platforms

  • Hills and System

Who is your Mentor?


I just went out to buy two bags of water. Carried one on my head and the other with my hand. As I walked home, my socks was pulling off my foam slippers. I needed help to remove my socks or carry one bag from my hand so I can remove the socks and there was this babe in front of me.

Nna eh.

I though of asking her for help, but I didn't. Before another babe will say I'm disrespectful and do I know who she is.

I kept walking. You won't believe what happened next. This babe slowed down, met me and told me that she will love to help me carry one bag of water.

Omoo, I was happy oo. I told her that I wanted to ask for her help but I didn't.

This act of kindness was unexpected.

I asked for her biodata immediately.

She is aspiring to study Law after staying 2 years at home.

Well, I have decided to call my contacts in the university she applied to this year for help securing admission for her.

That is the kind of virtue that makes men to seriously go after a lady.

I have her contact, I can't tell what will happen next.


Lead image is from Pixabay.

5
$ 1.70
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @ErdoV
$ 0.05 from @Crownofbeauty
+ 3
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Comments

I learned this late but i'm glad i'm doing it now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, you don already shoot your shot na! Na to enter Relationship with her 😅

Volunteering work is beneficial and one would gain a lot.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Na the surest thing be that.

Yeah there is a lot to be offered and gained from volunteering to a cause.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Volunteering is really a good builder. For one who want to climb a leadership ladder, you have to pass through serving others.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, in service to others do you grow. But many leaders today don't want to serve others. They prefer to be served.

$ 0.00
2 years ago