Random questions to get you writing

1 14
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Writer's block is a condition and it’s real!

My plan when I joined this platform was to publish at least one article per day, but recently, I have succeeded in publishing just two in five days. That’s poor.

Though I've been quite busy for quite a while, I often have free time to write an article. But sometimes I find it had to put down my thoughts in writing, sometimes I don't even know what to write about. It’s been such that I have not published any article in more than three days.

Earlier, I was just reading up on other users posts for ideas on what to write, fortunately, I stumbled on Jane's “Random questions for a foggy brain” which gave me an idea on what to write about.

I visited the site she recommended https://www.teenvogue.com/story/21-questions-game they had more than 30 questions to be answered. So I selected as many as I could answer.


What's the weirdest dream you've ever had?

Has something ever happened in the real world and it seemed like you are reliving the scenario? And there is this strong feeling in your gut that “this has happened before”. Yes, I have.

I don’t dream much, and sometimes when I wake up, I could barely remember the details of the dream, just a few images here and there to make meaning of the dream. The weirdest dream I had is the dream within a dream. If you are in a danger in a dream, and you can’t run away or hide from it, the best escape was to wake up (though had sometimes). There was this dream I had, can’t recall what happened but I running away from danger. Two individuals, who I couldn’t place their place, chased me with a cutlass, and I was running for my dear life.

At a point, I fell, but couldn’t stand. Every attempt to stand and continue my run failed and the guys were fast approach. The next point of action was to wake up. And I did, but instead of waking to reality, I woke up into another dream. There was a flood, and my mattress was washed to the ocean, and I was attacked by a shark. I couldn’t run, as I was on my mattress and water. No place to escape to… I forces myself and woke up, this time to reality. Phew! What a dream that was.

If you could travel to any year in a time machine, what year would you choose and why?

If I could… I’ll travel to 2015. I lost my best friend. He died in an accident, which left his sister disfigured. I would have prevented them from making the journey.

What's your favourite colour to wear?

My favourite colour is blue. Navy blue actually. For years, I like anything black, white, grey, and blue. So I often combine these colours.

What's the worst lie you ever told as a kid?

When I was a kid, my little brother and I do walk to and fro school every day. Sometimes we return home late after taking a far route just to spend more time with our schoolmates. Mum always scold us when we do, this one day, she flogged us. I think that was the first time we were flogged, it was so painful we cried till we slept off. From that day, we kept to time.

But two weeks later, a classmate brought a new football to school, and everyone wanted to play even yours truly. I lost track of time. This time, we were walking home way late than we did the day we were flogged. While walking home all I could think of is reliving that day.

When we arrived home, the cane was already on the table waiting, and mom was boiling. I didn’t know how this lie came to me. I told her that we were late because we had to escape from a kidnapper. That a man was after us, we had to run and hid somewhere until the man left. I narrated it so well, that she couldn’t help but believe it. She hugged while thanking God for protecting her kids. She also praised me for protecting my kid brother. Soon the news spread down to school. Within days, everyone had their version of the lie story we were even called out during school assembly and the pupils were made to applaud our smartest. That was my first lie and a great one.


It’s getting late over here, my eyes are heavy. I will stop here for today. Thanks for reading.

3
$ 0.78
$ 0.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @Porwest
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Comments

I also experienced that dream within a dream.. Really so weird

$ 0.00
2 years ago