Never Give up: Results Cancel Insults

8 16
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

You’ve gotta normalize following your heart and head rather than what people say or command you to do because, in the end, you’ll be responsible for the result of your actions and decision. Don’t follow the crowd, always listen to your heart and take decisive actions.

A year ago when I started writing articles for bloggers and also doing other online gigs, I get to spend more time on my laptop and indoors. My dad was the first to scream at my “laziness”. He sees my stay-at-home job as a joke. He would prefer a job that will have me dress smart and leave the house every morning to return later in the evening. He wants me to go out there, struggle with my mates and earn a living.

Some ignorant neighbors and some of his friends nurtured the thought that I was into cybercrime. Well, they couldn’t comprehend why a young man would spend most of his days indoors with his laptop. This got my father even more worried. I had to explain what I do to him, he pretended to understand but I could tell he still preferred I go out job hunting or engage in something that doesn’t have to do with using the laptop and being in the house.

It got to a point that he couldn’t take it anymore. I was not contributing financially and there are days I collect money from him to subscribe to internet data. There was a day he threatened to break my laptop if I don’t go out there and get a job.

I decided to leave the house often. So I agreed with a friend to stay at his place during the day and leave towards evening. That reduced the pressure from dad.

So months later, I started earning some money enough to subscribe to internet data and contribute to the family upkeep. Dad became happy.

Some day he asked where I was working that pays me enough money to take care of my basic needs and still support the family. I told him the truth, that it was still the same online job. He didn’t complain this time, at least it’s paying off.

He was shocked when I confidently gave him 200 dollars to help pay for house rent. This amount was from my online gig income.

To date, my online hustle has helped the family financially – house rents, siblings' tuition, and other bills. My father has been proud of me ever since.

My advice to you are:

Follow your heart

When you find something you love doing and you are good at it get it started. Don’t let the words of friends and family, who don’t appreciate the value of what you’ve started to prevent you from moving forward with it. Of course, you can always listen to their advice and suggestions, pick the ones that are valuable to you and discard the rest. You know yourself better than them, and you know what you want and the goal you wish to achieve. Don’t let anyone deter you from living your dream.

Don’t Give up

To be honest, there were moments I wanted to give up. I spent a lot of time online and I could barely make enough money for an internet data subscription. Not having anything to show for the hours coupled with the pressure from my family, I almost gave up. But I didn’t. I kept pushing.

So even if it doesn’t pay at the moment, just keep at it. One day, your hustle will pay.

Results cancel insults.

4
$ 0.33
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Comments

Now a days, not all of us maybe, but mostly, are having a hard time doing the work to earn or gain something, especially for our financial needs. I also observed that more and more people are became fond of doing a lot of work using internet. A lot of online platform also arise this time of pandemic. Well, we just need to be wise in choosing the right platform suited for us, as what you have said, "Follow your heart and never give up!" 😊

Its nice meeting you sir!👋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for dropping by.

It's very important to research the platform on joins so that it won't be a waste of time in the end. Read.cash and noise.cash are great platforms I will recommend to anyone, anywhere.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I also recommend these two platform to my friends and cousins too.. I highly recommend it..hihi😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If one is determined and patient enough to succeed, there won't be any regrets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in Nigeria, cyber scam is rampant. So any young person who spends a lot of time with his system is seen as a "Yahoo boy" (internet fraudster). Many parents and older people are ignorant to the fact that earning opportunities abound online. They see it as a waste of time or laziness like you said, especially when it is little or no earning. Like you stated, follow your heart and never give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its not just common amongst Nigerians. Every region has their level of cyber crime. Some perform on larger scale. There are a lot of opportunities to make money using any skill set you have. But many prefer to take the wrong part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Times have changed. We can now work remotely and even earn more. I think this pandemic has made others realize that it is possible for us to be "lazy" all day long in front of our laptops but still earn a living :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of ignorant ones around here are yet to realize that someone can earn money away from the 9-4 work. But that can't deter me and should deter anyone from pursuing their passion on the internet. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago