JAMB UTME: Get to Your Center Early

1 17
Avatar for Knowhere
1 year ago

I left home at 6:24 am, I was already freaking out that I was going to get to my center late. But, I was able to locate my center easily, because it is a well-known secondary school around my axis. The verification process was very organized. The officials in charge were so docile and relatable. I was surprised when I saw security officials at the gate, a male and a female, like I said earlier, the process was organized, we were asked to queue, boys in a line, girls in another line. The female security searched the females and vice versa. However, I was disappointed that the examination which was meant to commence at 7 am, commenced at 6 minutes after 10.

Another thing that surprised me was the CCTV cameras in the examination hall. To my utmost surprise, the COVID-19 protocols were not adhered to, there was no temperature 🌡️ check at the entrance, there was no provision to wash our hands, and only a few candidates and officials were putting on their face masks. I remember vividly that there were 3 invigilators with us, I mean duh 🙄 , it was just yesterday, haha 😂. There were technical glitches, the server connected to our computers had an issue and most of us had complaints about our computers. But, as I mentioned earlier they were organized, they had someone who handled the glitch and it our computers was back to normal. I was shocked when some candidates who needed to solve were allowed to take in their pencils. Because I have heard a lot of stories like you wouldn't be allowed to take anything into the examination hall. Nobody was allowed to take in a rough sheet, they were to use their mock slip which we were required to bring to the exam center with us.

The computers were already powered when we got into the hall, we just had to input our registration number and start our examination. My UTME combination is government, CRS, English, and literature. so, for government -40 questions, CRS- 40 questions, English - 60 questions, and literature- 40 questions. provisions were made for both a mouse and a keyboard. Although, I used the mouse because I am better with it. I don't know if the onscreen calculator functioned properly because I had to reason to use it. I ensured I ended my examination 30 minutes after the end of the exam to avoid stories that touches, so I have no idea if the computer shut down automatically.

I think candidates who would be sitting for the next examination should know is get to your center early, The exam board is unpredictable, study hard, and don't hesitate to tell the invigilators about any technical issue they notice before the exam start and also follow instructions.

2
$ 1.51
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Knowhere
1 year ago

Comments

I remember writing jamb twice during the Pen and paper periods. It's quite easy now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago