JAMB Exam Experience: Power Failure

3 20
Avatar for Knowhere
1 year ago
Topics: JAMB UTME, CBT

My exam was scheduled for 7 am.

Well, there was a heavy rainfall this morning which continued till some minutes before 7 am. On getting to my center (Babson ICT Center, Ondo), the first gate was locked, I had to get to the other gate which was quite a distance. I was able to quickly do that because I reside in the town, I wonder how those outside Ondo (people who were assigned Ondo but came from Akure) were able to get to the 2nd gate.

On getting to the center some minutes after 7 am, no official was in sight. We were wandering around the school until someone called us and notified us of the right venue.

I immediately noticed a camera outside the center, I would later discover that they were 6 in total. 5 were inside.

As soon as the officials came, they poured fuel into the industrial generator and put it on, it worked well for some minutes until suddenly...probably because of the wet environment near the generator a wire bridged and cause an electrical fire. The officials were able to quickly put off the Gen before serious damage was caused. That set us back a while again as they went to look for an engineer and buy new wire.

While that was going on, the JAMB official from Abuja addressed us and we commenced with thumbprint verification. About 30 - 45 minutes after I had done my thumbprint verification, we were eventually ushered in.

The only COVID-19 protocol that was slightly followed was the use of nose masks. No washing hand basin, no sanitizer, no temperature check.

Remember I told you earlier that there are 5 cameras inside. We signed in and commenced our exams without any hitch. There were no security officials, only pencil was allowed (although I took my biro in) and no provision was made for a working sheet for science students.

2 hours, 60 questions in English, 40 in the other 3 subjects. The on-screen calculator worded fine, it can only solve basic stuff though, addition, division, subtraction, and multiplication. No square, no root, no log. 😥😢

I didn't take my phone there so I can't state the exact time we started, but when I got out it was just a few minutes after 11 am. Because I stopped with about 20 minutes left, I can deduce we started around 9:30 am

6
$ 2.01
$ 1.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
Avatar for Knowhere
1 year ago
Topics: JAMB UTME, CBT

Comments

You will get much better marks. Could you take the ballpoint there? Because it is easy to write and does not spread the ink. This way the paper looks neat and clean and the checker gives more marks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully, you would come out with flying colors. Just trust in all you did and pray hard. Exams sometimes turn out not how we expect them but again we have to prepare for the worst sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good to know that despite the glitch on power, you still had your exam. Hope you aced it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago