Get off your ARSEnal

10 40
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Going into every campaign in the past couple of years, I have always been optimistic of a better year, a year to celebrate the team lifting a major trophy like the EPL cup or a European cup (the Champions League or Europa League), but all we got was disappointments and FA cups.

Brandon Sanderson said that

Expectations were like fine pottery. The harder you held them, the more likely they were to crack.

So I find life as an Arsenal supporter a lot easier the lower I keep my expectations. For if you keep your expectations from someone or something low or totally off, you'll not be entangled in disappointment.

Where went Arsenal

Image Source

Before the 2021/2022 campaign kicked off, the Gunners were at the top of the league standing, I've searched that area but I can't find them. At least they shouldn't be far from the top zone, should they? Oh, sh!t, I just found them....

You can see them right? At the bottom. And they are likely to remain there or go even further down the table after game week three.

The Expected Disappointment

Screenshot source

On a lighter note, you can sometimes cheat death, rarely cheat taxes (one can avoid taxes depending on location), but Arsenal disappointment is 101% reliable.

The post in the image may be true for an Arsenal supporter. But if a fan is disappointed then he or she is not aware of the position of the club at the moment - 0 goals, 0 wins and 0 points from two games, and a likely zero goals and zero points from their first three games of the season (They face Man City next - a battle they can't come out victorious) are what is to be expected. For me, I'm not surprised at the turn of events, the Arsenal process is drowning. The disappointment joke is for those with high expectations, my expectations are so low that I wasn't disappointed.

How did I become an Arsenal fan

The Arsenal process is drowning. Tell me how to stay positive about sinking life rafts...?

Since I became a fan, the club has won only the FA cup, no major trophies. Within the same period, other top clubs in the league like Chelsea, the Manchesters (United and City) and Liverpool have won the league title and also a European cup (except Manchester city - who has won the EPL four times within the same period). Is Arsenal forbidden from achieving similar?

Screenshot source

Being a Nigerian is already hard enough, supporting Arsenal complicates it. Truly, how do I equalize? Perhaps I should port to PSG or Chelsea? Well, the truth is that I don't have it in me. This marriage seems to be a lifelong commitment, in strength and weakness. Till... we part.

Last Outing - Arsenal vs Chelsea

It was 90 minutes of torture. Totally outclassed in every part of the play. Maybe when the club solidifies its relegation position that's when the board and fanatic supporters will see a FAILURE. I don't expect much from the next outing, it could be worse than this.

Closing Thought

Having acquired the services of Aaron Ramsdale, Martin Odegaard, Ben White, Nuno Tavares, and Albert Sambi Lokonga it's quite okay to say that the club has been busy in an attempt to 'rebuild' the squad.

Arsenal may have signed five players already but how many of them will improve a squad that finished in the 8th position last campaign?

While Arsenal chose to spread 129 million pounds on 5 players, teams like Chelsea got one new addition, Romelu Lukaku, of Β£97.5 million to an already strong team, and Manchester City acquired the signing of Jack Grealish for Β£100 million.

The pressure is building, and the team's performance is far from competing for the big trophies.

The management, manager and players all have roles to play in turning the team's disappointing start to a fruitful finish. The sooner they turn around their fortune, the better.

6
$ 3.00
$ 2.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 1
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Comments

I don’t know much about football Hehehehe. I only watch World Cup matches. πŸ˜‚ but coming to talk about arsenal today. The gist going around can not even make me go for the club even if I am to start football today lol πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜πŸ˜‚ I won't even advise my enemy to join the club. The only thing they offer at the moment is disappointment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Despite the transfer made i believe Arsenal is still so many transfer windows away from reaching the top four level. Even if a miracle happens against city,that doesn't guarantee that Arsenal are back or a resurgence.

This might sound harsh, but i believe it's the truth. For Arsenal to regain their list glory they need a complete overhaul of the board and even the coaching staff. Arteta will only get them to the level Everton, west ham and co used to be. Arsenal need to part ways with him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing harsh in the words you said. It's a simple truth. And the rebuilding they need to compete with others is not that of spreading Β£130 million over 5 players when others buy one to two for as much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! The total amount they spent on 5 players is almost the same as that Man city spent on Grealish alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Also that which Chelsea spent on Lukaku. And Arsenal plan to compete with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an Arsenal fan and I share your sentiment. The team needs to get back on their feet if they wish to finish in the top 4. But I don't see that happening against Guardiola's team.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think so too. Maybe the "getting back in their feet" in the league will happen after the match against Man City. Meanwhile, we've got a league against West Brom to prepare for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Arsenal team has been an eyesore in recent years. My dad's a fan, and I can't help but feel sorry for him whenever his team gets thrashed on a match day.

Even though I don't have much love for the team, I really hope they get back on their feet. Else it'll be totally unfunny when people start equating the once mighty Gunners with teams like Aston Villa and West Bromwich

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eyesore is probably an understatement. Even I feel sorry for my fellow Gunners. They have no bragging rights in the viewing centre and out there in the streets. When others argue many Arsenal fans quietly watch from the side.

Else it'll be totally unfunny when people start equating the once mighty Gunners with teams like Aston Villa and West Bromwich

It won't come as a surprise. But I hope it doesn't happen in my time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago