Don't plug in and fail to switch on

2 23
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Currently your excuse is that you came from an extremely poor background. You know this very well, so you know your problem. Now, instead of looking for a way to get out of that problem you're looking for excuses to comfort your situation.

Well, comforting yourself won’t help you get out of your broken or lack of resources state.

It’s either you do what you need to do to get out of it or you remain there. God's grace doesn’t aid laziness so don’t even go there.

The bad thing is that you could make these excuses for year’s and because nothing changes, you will then transfer the same problem to your children. And once the same problem is transferred two things are bound to happen. It’s either the children continue with the excuse card or go in search of a solution.

The game may go on like that for year’s until someone stands up to put an end to the trend.

Start today to build something for the future so that your children won’t be laying blocks when others are leveraging on already made resources. Your children don’t have to go through the same hardship as you.

Remember the Bible states that a good father leaves wealth (not debt or bad image) for his children and his children's children.

Something to learn from.

My plan was to complete and publish this article last night but I couldn’t. Why?

While typing the article with my phone, the battery was running low and I needed to charge it. I quickly brought out the charger from my bag and plugged it to the nearest socket close to the head side of my bed. But guess what? In my eagerness to plug the phone and continue the typing I forgot to switch on the socket. I continued typing the article after I plugged the phone, my attention never went to the battery icon, I was just focused on penning down my thoughts. Then, came the 2% battery alert. What!

At first, I thought, I didn’t properly plug the charger, so I adjusted it, but no effect, then I saw that the socket was not switched on. OMG! Well, I immediately reached out and switched it on. But unfortunately, I was only able to get it charged to 6% when power supply was interrupted. Interrupted So I didn’t get to finish the article before going to bed.

Some of us are like that.

The socket signifies financial opportunities. Our financial life can be likened to my phone battery needing to be charged. We plug in by making a decision to improve our financial status but fail to switch on the socket (intentional or otherwise) which has to do with acquiring the basic skills needed to build an income stream and improve our financial life…We fail to take action. We make decisions but never take actions. We simply fold our hands expecting income to start falling from the sky.

Remember I plugged in my phone and expected it to charge, but it didn’t. Why? I didn’t switch on the socket. I had to stretch out my hand to switch the socket on. Are you expecting money to come to you without doing the required work? It won’t! The truth is that your finance will run down like my phone battery. Some wait till you hit zero percent.

Don’t plug in and fail to switch on the socket. Plug in, switch on the socket and get to work and you will get your desired result

11
$ 3.49
$ 3.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
+ 4
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Comments

The first part of your post is spot on. Something I have been saying for a very long time, that poverty begets poverty. It's like the social welfare programs in the United States. People become SO dependent on these handouts that they literally become just part of life, and the way things are done. And that's dangerous since most of the parents on these programs tend to teach their kids not about the personal failures that have put them into these situations and how to get out of it, but rather teach them how to do all the same things THEY have done, which is nothing but find ways to get more out of the system.

You are right. Sometimes someone DOES break out and break the cycle. But it never happens often enough, and so it becomes difficult to get people out and become successful, productive members of society.

But the onus is of course on the one who allows themselves to be poor and who do nothing to NOT be poor. It's on them, because it is not like there aren't enough opportunities to get out of the system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had a similar experience. I plugged in my phone without switching on the extension box. I woke up two hours later and my battery didn't move an inch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago