My journey into the University.

1 35
Avatar for Klismannm12
3 years ago

University education in Nigeria over the time has been reduced to nothing unlike when the first universities were created namely university of ibadan know as ui and university of Nigeria know as unn.back in the days of our forefathers it was a great privilege for a family to have a graduate reason being that as a graduate you are automatically entitled to a good living the moment the person steps out from school preferably the University not to talk of going ahead to obtain masters degree.Even the University hostels and libraries were all well equipped unlike where you get to see more than eight persons in a room meant for four persons. As if this one is not enough,light that was not a problem back then is a huge problem now not to talk of the regular Academic staff union of universities,my friend once told me that "academic staff union of universities" commonly abbreviated as ASUU is the highest strike of all times. Though this sounds funny but it's the reality.

I entered the University just like every other aspirant that got admission that year,but like my friend would say that Asuu is the best striker in the world,lol and behold we were supposed to start on November but due to the incissent asuu strike we had to stay back until March before we started after the Asuu strike was called off.Going into the school environment at first was a difficult and a burdensome one as I couldn't tell which was the main lecture hall from portals,admin blocks,and so on and forth.i couldn't step my foot into the school until late march after the strike was called off. Going into the school on that day to proceed with my registration was a bit hectic because their was need for me to locate the portal office where I was to photocopy the original documents as the school demanded that I submit 5copies each of my documents. So I had to go to the cybercaffine inside the school to get all these things done. After I was done with providing five copies of all these documents I left for the portal where I was to get all of them uploaded to the school website, on getting to the school portal the crowed there was something else as a result I was not able to get it done that very day as I slept over at a friend's place,the following morning I had to go to the portal early enough to so as to beat the que there,I succeded but met something else while inside the portal building as I was told to tip those who would get those things done for me if I want them to finish my own on time. So I gave them few bucks and in the process i became friends with some of them,and I must confess knowing them has been beneficial to me till this day though it was the wrong way because I have always been against bribery and corruption as these two have been Killing the country Nigeria for a very long period of time but you know man is to pay if man is to get through some of his problems.life has always been that way for we Nigerians. After getting through with my registration it was time for us to begin to hunt for a place where we can call our own. I forgot to tell you that my friend and I were going on these two things together, we became friends right from when we were in ss1 in college and now I could say we re more than friends, something strange happened on the day we went for registration at the school adminstration building,their was this woman who likes her skin color to mine and equally told me I looked like her son and that in the other world I could be her son's brother so she decided to help me do mine despite the fact It was not my turn for her to attaind to me but because of that she even jumped over ten persons and came to where I was lol and behold when she was done with mine she locked up her office and went down the stairs asking the persons left to go and come back the following morning including my roommate,when I tried to plead ony roommates behalf she told me I was more important and that I should care more about my self than others.those words sank deep into my soul as I have always put others before me.after the street that came with tht registration we left t look for a lodge as we swore we would never have anything to do with the school delapilated hostel.after touring the whole back of admin we finally stumbled upon a nice cheap lodge lols,we paid that same day and completed our payment the following day.later after we went back to our base that night to get our loads to school and on that good Sunday we left officially for school. Boys were about to turn men. That night we arrived our lodge we started to paint everywhere,my roomie is a designer per say and he sure knows how to work on those things,it didn't take us most of our time before we were able to paint the whole room,after which we ate the food I brought along with me then finally retired to bed feeling so tired. They following week we started doing what our mates,people who had admission with us were doing,it wasn't easy but we scaled through,.get ready for More!!!.

1
$ 0.83
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Klismannm12
3 years ago

Comments

Schooling in Nigeria isn't always easy but at the end we all scale through.

$ 0.00
3 years ago