She is Hunted [RRFB]

13 43
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
2 years ago

Howard and I just got married. He works as a restaurant manager, while I am a customer service representative. We decided to live in his parents' house "temporarily" because it was spacious and we were still saving for our own home.

But the truth is, Howard is the only one who wants us to live here; I want us to have our own home, even if it means renting an apartment. However, in relationships, a compromise must be made for the two to reconcile, and I suppose I will be the one to make that sacrifice in this case.

Because of the pandemic, I am now working from home. Our company encourages us to stay at home in order to be safe while doing our tasks. Because Howard and his father were leaving to work, just my mother-in-law and I were left at home.

At first, it was a smooth sailing. My mother-in-law even brings me food to our room because I don't have time to walk downstairs. I merely fix my look when I get up in the morning, and I am already dealing with the plethora of complaints that our clients hurl at me. But, as time went on, she began to treat me differently.

Dinnertime came, we're in the dining room, four of us. I was anxious since I had nothing to do at home, so I helped my mother-in-law prepare the table as I normally do. What she said startled me.

"Darling, you don't have to act in front of Howard; we all know you're just trying to do something because he's watching." and she gave me a sly grin.

I am really offended. This is the sixth time she has done something like this to me. I am done with this. I rushed into our bedroom and shut the door behind me. Yes. I am upset.

When Howard enters the room, I am packing my things. He wrapped his arms around me and rested his head on my shoulder.

"Dear, I am so sorry for what mom did to you. I know you're pressured at work and coping with this is too much for you, but don't do it; don't leave me..." he begged me, his eyes welling up with tears.

"Howard, this is the sixth time, and I know you're aware of it. I'm sick of dealing with your mother, and if you don't go with me, I will leave alone." I've made up my mind to escape this hellhole. This isn't a place for me.

"Just calm down, dear, okay? I'll take the day off tomorrow and we will look for a place we can move to." He said this as he wiped away my tears. He pulled me in and kissed me, and the rest is history.

He took the day off the next day, as promised, and we drove to the apartment he found on the internet. The apartment is nice, clean, and peaceful, and the size is ideal for a couple.

"I think this is the one," I said smiling.

And the same day, we moved in to our new home. We're exhausted but happy. Finally, we've already left my evil mother-in-law's place. Fortunately, we only had a few things, so we were able to complete organizing everything in the house right away.

A month has passed and everything seems to be in place until I notice a man in a tuxedo with a sack on his head waving at me in our yard. Of course, it is strange... It is weird... Scary.

My heart was racing, and I was shaking with terror. I have a feeling something horrible is about to happen to me. I am alone now because Howard is at work. I tried calling him, but he didn't answer, so I immediately call 911.

"Hello, this is 911, what's your emergency?"

"Help me! Help me, please. Someone is outside our house. I-I'm in danger." I panicked as I talked to the person on the other line.

"Okay, ma'am calm down. Where are you right now? What is your address?" the person on the other line is trying to calm me down.

I told her my address, and thankfully, a police officer arrived at our house after about 20 minutes. My husband also came while I was telling the police officer about what happened, maybe because he saw my multiple missed calls to him so he rushed all over here.

"The man in a tuxedo with a sack on his head, he is now banging on the door and trying to enter our home." I said to Howard while still quivering with fear.

"We must get going, Sir, Ma'am. We'll keep looking for any possible leads in this case. We will keep you updated." The cop seemed annoyed and didn't seem to believe what I was saying.

"Look at me, what is happening? I can't tell you how many times this has happened, and no one has ever seen the person you are talking about." He said in a serious tone.

"Perhaps you can rest now, and tomorrow we will go see Auntie Anne." He added.

Auntie Anne is a Psychiatrist and Therapist. She has been a family friend of mine for more than a decade.

"Dear, I am telling the truth. Do you not believe in me? I am not insane!!" My eyes welled up with tears. That person almost hurt me, yet no one believed me. What I saw is real.

"I believe in you..." Those were the last words I heard before collapsing in his arms from tiredness.

Ding... Dong...

The doorbell rang, and I was startled awake. Howard took the day off because we had been awake all night. Even in my nightmares, I was followed by a man wearing in a tuxedo, and when I open my eyes, I have the feeling that someone is watching my every move.

I peeked through our door's peephole and saw Auntie Anne standing on the other side of the door. I assumed I had figured out what she was up to here. I opened the door and let her in.

"Hiii, how are you my dear pumpkin?" She said, as well as the smile on her face, expressed her joy at seeing me.

"Let's get to the point, Auntie Anne. I know why you are here. Howard told you, right?" I replied.

"Well, Iβ€” what's that smell? It smells like something is burning." Auntie Anne's words came to a halt as she smelled that unpleasant odor.

"Of course. It is winter, and the fireplace is lighted. Don't be ridiculous." I said. I really feel that our conversation is pointless, and I need to end it before I become annoyed.

"There is no proper ventilation here in your apartment. When was the last time you had your chimney cleaned?" She said. You can see the seriousness on her face, as if she knew what she was saying.

"Ever sinceβ€”", I couldn't finish what I was saying because I fainted.

I woke up in the hospital room. Howard and Auntie Anne's expressions were filled with worry, as if I were going to die in my current state. I stare at my husband, I am puzzled. He held my hand in his and looked across to the doctor next to my bed, as if he was giving him permission to explain everything.

The doctor understood and began to discuss my current situation, "We took a blood sample from Mrs. Smith earlier and detected more than 150 ppm of CO levels in her blood. I will go straight to the point, Sir, Ma'am. Mrs. Smith is not insane, she has been poisoned by carbon monoxide, which may originate from any source that consumes fuel, such as cars, fireplaces, leaking chimneys, heaters, and more; this is also why it is not a good idea to sleep in a car with the engine running. Its symptoms include dizziness, hallucination, vomiting, trouble breathing, and others.."

"How can that poison be removed from my wife's body?" Howard asks the doctor.

"Mrs. Smith has to be treated by inhaling pure oxygen. This treatment raises blood oxygen levels and helps in the removal of carbon monoxide (CO)." the doctor explains.

The night has come, and I am about to fall asleep. Auntie Anne has already left, and Howard is currently napping on the hospital couch in my room. When I closed my eyes, I felt something chilly brush over my skin. When I opened my eyes, I saw the tuxedo man standing near me, brushing the cold ax on my skin.

Is this still a hallucination, or what I'm seeing right now is real?

Hello, beautiful fellas!

I'm just taking a break from the series because it's hell week for me again. I hope you enjoyed my (not-so) short article.

I'm glad to see you here. I'd appreciate it if you could leave a comment down below. xoxo

Lead image via Depositphotos

6
$ 0.91
$ 0.50 from @Marts
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
+ 1
Sponsors of KirstenCassandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
2 years ago

Comments

Parang nagpe-play sa isip ko yung mga slasher films set in a remote US community, mga tipong Freddy, Jason or Mike Myers. Haha! Galing galing makapanindig balahibo! Sana may kasunod!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Uuuuyyy!! Isa sa mga favorite ko yung Freddy at Jason. Ituloy ko kaya no, tapos may pinch ng pagka-squammy ng Killer Bride. Hahahahha! Thank youuuu, Tito Marts! Aabangan ko yung story mo. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kwentong jeje-bardagulan lang alam ko haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay? Can't wait!! Hahahahhah! Simulan na yan hangga't wala si boss. Hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That tuxedo man with a sack on his head is the scariest ever! Maybe I will pass out because of great fear haha! Halloween is not yet over haha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahha! Trueeee, sissy. That's why I'm afraid of Slender Man; I'm a bit terrified of a person dressed in a tux and then in the dark. Hahhaha! Of course, Halloween isn't over yet, as long as your cutie DP is there. hehee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teka lang. Gusto ko sabunutan yung mother-in-law. Chaaar hahaha. Bagong kaalaman. Nakakapoisoned pala carbon monoxide. Nisearch ko pa agad ngayon haha. Pero wait, ano sadya nung nakatuxedo na may sack sa ulo? Ang scary non ay. Haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Samedt. Hahhaha! Naririnig ko kasi sa mga oldies, madalang ka talaga makakahanap ng genuinely nice na mother-in-law. Hahahha! Yaaasss poisonous yun talaga, isipin mo kahit gumaling na yung tao, may sakit pa rin sya na di na mawawala, it's either brain damage o heart and lungs problems. Actually, yung naka-tux na yun ay hallucination lang. Let's see kung magagawan ko ng back story. Whahhaha! Thank youuuu, Dziiiii sa pag-visit. Wufffyouuu! πŸ’›

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuuue. Parang wala pa akong nababalitaan na mabait na byanan. Except sa mother ko, ambait niya sa mga asawa ng kapatid ko e. Hahaha.


Ayan tama yan! Wait ko yan! Hahaha. Wuffyoutoo! πŸ’–

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Except din sa mom ko. Napakabait nun. Ganun yata talaga pag babae ang anak. Pag mother kasi ng lalake, halos eh competitor ang tingin sa asawa ng anak nila e. πŸ€”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit sa asawa ng kuya ko mabait naman si mudra. Mas mabait pa nga don kesa sakin e. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one’s got me! I’m a scaredy-cat, and I don’t like watching suspense thriller or horror films or even reading some, because it will surely gonna hunt me in my dreams. Hahaha but this one is just kinda interesting. πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, You don't have a choice but to read this. Hahahah! It's not that scary naman eh. πŸ˜… Thank youuu, as always!

$ 0.00
2 years ago