The Little Women Movie Review

0 17
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
1 year ago

Today I decided to reward myself with binge watching because exam week is over and I realized I wouldn't be able to watch a movie again once I get back to my aunt's house (it's where I stay while in college because it is close to the school). I watched about three or four episodes of Spy Family and four episodes of Maria Clara and Crisostomo Ibarra. But the movie that I will be reviewing and commenting on right now is the last one I watched today which is The Little Women directed by Greta Gerwig, because the movie touched my heart and made me sentimental about life.

It is about four sisters who each had their own characteristics, different personalities, and passions in life. The oldest was Meg and she married a penniless tutor (as what their aunt march called him). She was really in love with him but she would later on have a problem with their marriage because the tutor could not provide the things she fancies. She wanted a fancy life and was suited to be an actress on stage but she was so in love that she left this dream and ended up to be a housewife who takes care of her two children. I can't help but made her life sound really miserable, don't mind that. In fact, at the end of the movie, she grew contented of the life her husband could provide so it's not really as horrible as I made it seem.

The second daughter is Jo, she is my favorite in terms of personality because she is fun and she doesn't really care about what boys think. She doesn't try to be pretty or impress anyone. I think that's the reason why their wealthy neighbor fell in love with her. I think the other reason why she's my favorite is because she is Timothee Chalamet's (Laurie in the movie) love interest in the movie. I mean, who would want to be his lady, right? And she is a writer who sees enjoyment in life as an inspiration to write something.

The third one is Beth. She is the silent girl of the March sisters. She plays the piano and prefers to stay in the corner. She is the breeze the calms down her other sisters. She reminds me of a person who pushes everyone to pursue their passion because she really showed her support to Jo's writing and would always tell her how pretty her works are. You know we need someone in life who would keep us interested in our likes.

The youngest is Amy. I like her because she likes classy things, though I hate her impulsiveness when she burnt Jo's writings after she wasn't invited to a theater. She is good at painting and she is in love with Laurie. I like her because she seemed to be the most successful of them all after she went to Europe to pursue her dream as an artist. There in Europe where she got engaged to Laurie. I kinda feel sad in this part because just when Jo finally loves him back, he's now engaged to Amy.

The story is sad and happy at the same time. Because I witnessed how the four sisters grew out from each other. They pursued their different paths. The most melancholic part would be the part where they would go home to the house where they grew up and they would look at the corner and reminisce what happened. It's crazy how we wouldn't know how far we have reached until we saw something from the past that would take back all the memories. I kinda hate when that happens because it would make me sad, possibly cry, but I guess that's how life works. I have a life motto but after watching this it made me realize the importance of growth so now I'm adding another one to my life motto. It would be "Support their growth even if it means them outgrowing you." I'm sure there is a better phrasing than that but that's what I could manage right now.

I didn't value growth that much not until my boyfriend and I had to part ways for our own growth because we were starting to run out of space to grow so that movie really affected me. I might be sad because we are no longer together but at the same time I'm happy because now I would have everything it takes to become the best version of myself. To Gab, cheers to our success.

1
$ 0.26
$ 0.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
1 year ago

Comments