The Effect of Typhoon Rai on Me

0 8
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

My head is burning right now. I am not sure if it's because of the modules I answered or I'm psychologically disrupted because of the sudden lose of privacy since last month. Typhoon Rai ruined our house specially the room where I used to stay. Its left-side wall gave in, thus leaving the room open and unsafe to be occupied. So I have been sharing a room for one month and this might go on for a long time. For sure the typhoon affected my plan on self-care because just when I was inspired to shower and wash my face daily, we were cut off from water. I experienced bathing on mud-colored water because I had no other choice, feeling my body getting oily each day is worse.

We had to refrain ourselves from brushing our teeth because we had very limited supply of water. As expected, I had acne break out. Looking at the damage the following morning after the typhoon wrecked us, I was not affected by the damage on our property. For me it was easy to be resolved, we just have to hire people to reconstruct the fallen wall and clean the big stones that entered the house. But I didn't know that the typhoon will cause me long-term damage. This is not trauma. Not at all.

I was not traumatized by the strong winds I encountered that night (December 16, 2021). It was hard to open the door because the wind would push it back against you. The rain was strong and along the wind, it sounded like we were in an ocean being crashed by big waves. There were hurricanes not only one. Houses were buried feet deep because of the stone and soil that originally came from the mountains that was dug up by the typhoon and washed away towards the town.

Those experiences I had the night of the typhoon did not affect me at all. What affected me is the lack of privacy after my room was ruined. Writing this, I feel agitated that I am not alone in the room. I also have to endure the light coming from the window, I am used to my dark room.

It really affected my peace of mind. That's why now I am trying to cope from this change by doing self-care so I don't think much of the problem. If you think I am being ungrateful. Wrong. I am grateful we made it safe and none of us were injured. Four people died in our area and though that is still a casualty, it is a gift that not hundreds died knowing that it's a super typhoon. I am grateful we don't need the help from the government and we are eating fine. This is just a reflection on what I need to have in order for myself to grow and I'd say it's personal space so I could have time alone with myself and thought.


1
$ 0.44
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments