My Dream Careers

2 15
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

When someone asks me what my goal in life is, my immediate answer is to become a nurse. However, I realized it wasn't really to become a nurse. Yes, it is my dream career but I have had different dream careers before I have solidly decided what my course in college is going to be. This proved that to be a nurse is not my goal in life. My goal in life is to become financially stable without having to exert much effort or not having to work under the heat of the sun in particular.

When I was in pre-school, we were tasked to make a short speech which commonly started with a phrase, When I grow up I want to be a...

I was five back then, and my immediate thought is to have a career the same as my aunt because she is rich. I didn't know what her career is. I vividly remember asking my mother about my aunt's job so I could write it on my speech. My aunt is the one who supports my family in exchange of us, taking good care of her house while she's abroad. I have always idolized her because she is kind and generous. She's a nurse.

And so I wrote:

When I grow up I want to be a nurse. Because I want to take care of sick people.

As I grew up and had the chance to explore different careers, I was also able to discover my different talents and skills which caused me to consider taking a career different from my pre-school dream. It was around sixth grade when I started writing my own stories because I got inspired by Wattpad.

I wanted to become a writer.

I started having writer's block and the lack of motivation to finish a story. And it scared me because what if I would never be able to write a good one? Then all the time and effort I spend would be gone to waste. Worse, I won't have money to support myself and my family. Write because you love to write isn't motivational. Hey, we're talking about career, not hobby.

But at the end, I am happy that writing remained close to me. It helped me relieved myself from stressful thoughts. I am able to preserve my thoughts and see the changes of the way I think.

Later on, I took interest on things around me and capturing them.

I wanted to become a photographer.

Do you know that feeling when you take a really good photo but as you stared at it longer the more you thought that it's nothing special the way you took it? Like yes, it was a pretty sunrise. But there has been millions of pretty sunrise pictures. So I left this dream. I still love taking pictures though. Keep the memories :)

I wanted to become an archeologist.

I loooove discovering things from the past and learning their stories. I love history. I would like to experience the excitement on finding something untouched for many years. But I realized that this job lack the support from the government and it's not that known in the Philippines so I did not consider it at all. Still, I am very interested on reading new discoveries and imagined I made discoveries myself.

I wanted to become an architect.

I find it very amazing to design a building, have it erected, and admired by the passerbys. However, my skills in drawing is far from good so I did not dream for this career anymore. But my cousin is currently taking architecture course so I am very excited and happy for her! She posts her blue prints on social media and oh my goshhh, I can't wait for her to be finally graduate. I am sure she will do amazing with her job, she really does it with passion.

So, if you are curious what I chose. It's to be a nurse. Of all the career shifts I had in mind, my heart remained to the one I had when I was just a pre-schooler. I have no regret. Currently, I am a nursing student. I am learning the lessons with passion and great interest. I get tired sometimes but I know I can do it!

HAHAHAHA how do you make an exit. Uhh, au revoir?

ps. credits to Unsplash for the beautiful pictures

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Oh dear! Every profession you mentioned are wonderful. But you really needed to be confident before choosing them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I am confident of my decision because I could see myself doing this job in the future :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago