Lurking In The Dark 8

0 17
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

"How's your first day of school, Drev?" Dad asked like what he always does when it's Nuvian or I's first day of school. I predicted it right that he will do it to Drev when we eat dinner which made me smirked at my food.

Drev swallowed his food first and wiped his mouth with the napkin which only him in the house has the necessity to have one during meals before replying. "I enjoyed it so much, Sir. Thank you so much for sending me to school. You too, Madame."

It was a Kevan culture to call elder people Madame or Sir if you don't have a relation with them. And Lady and Ledu for people who were only a couple of years older.

My mom smiled warmly at him. Then Dad asked furthermore of what happened in his first day. I didn't have to listen since he was with me the whole time in school. And I'm a little mad at my parents for not telling me so I stayed silent throughout the whole dinner and strangely, Nuvian too.

When Mom asked Drev of how I am as a classmate, Drev responded that I am very nice and kind for showing him around which I was not even sure if I did that job right. In fact, I didn't show him around, I just went from period-to-period, not even caring if he was with me. I don't know if he was trying to win my trust or he just really doesn't know anything about reading emotions particularly my irritation at him. But again, I am not sure if I dislike him or not.

Mom then turned to me and asked the reciprocal of her question to Drev. "He is great," I replied, mustering my ability of hiding sarcasm. "I think lots of girls have a crush on him." At least that part was true.

She was delighted of my reply, that she actually gasped at Dad in satisfaction. "I told you it's a great idea."

After the dinner, Drev and I washed the dishes together in silence. He did the soaping and rinsing part, I did the drying because I wasn't in the mood to deal with the bubbles.

I took the plate that Drev handed to me. "You know, I'm mad at my parents for not telling me about their plan of sending you to my school." I dried the plate and arranged it on the rack.

Drev seemed to be surprised of what I said that it took him a moment before he took his eyes off my solemn face and rinse another plate. I, too, was surprised of my display of sadness to him. "Nevermind," I said which I thought didn't make sense since he appeared not to mind what I said anyway.

But I was wrong when he stopped the running water. "Why you didn't tell them?"

"That I am mad?"

"Yes."

"You don't say everything. There are certain circumstances when you keep things by yourself." I glanced at the small window that let the moon shines in. It wasn't a full moon but it was shining bright and the sky was cloudless. There are nights when I think, what if my eyes were as beautiful as the moon? That if one looks at them, they don't want to look away anymore. My eye color, on the other hand, is gray. I mean sure it looked pretty on Mom yet I never heard someone complimented me with my eyes.

I saw Drev smile from my peripheral vision. His old smile, not the one he gave me back in the road. "But then you didn't keep it yourself. You told me."

I sighed and rolled my eyes. "Whatever."

Then we went back to washing the dishes.

I glared at Drev over my shoulder. He was right behind me, clutching on both straps of his bag and eventually smiling at girls who called out his name. Trying not to ignore and be rude, but not even sure if he knows all of them. Funny how his name was spread in school within days like a virus.

"Can't you be faster?" I growled. I was running but he was walking swiftly with his long legs, only a few steps behind. "We're gonna be late." But we were already late.

We were heading to our hunt class and we were about to appear out from the bushes that covers the hallway out of sight from the class so we have to look very worried as we appear. As if afraid to be late again. But to be honest, I made sure that Relis had taken a spot for him to squat on through time estimation. Unfortunately, he comes to class right on time the bell rings which leaves me no choice but to be late.

"Why do we always have to idle at the hallway for minutes and run late to next class?" Drev asked, catching up with my pace.

I made a sharp turn. "You can go by yourself to hunt class." But the truth was, I was now more confident to walk into class late now that someone's with me. "Another reason why my parents send you to school is to socialize." And to lessen your shyness....

He ran his finger through his finger. "I'm comfortable with you even if you hate my eyes."

I was stopped by his reply, causing him to place his hands on my shoulders to stop himself from the effect of inertia. I turned to him, panting from the running I did.

"That people, they love my eyes. But they put pressure on me. I feel like I always have to be handsome, where as you, you don't even care if I'm there or not. It feels good."

"No, no," I mumbled, waving my hands in the air. At the same time there was this fluttery feeling I felt for what he said. Coming from him, it is genuine. But that doesn't mean I really trust him now. No, not yet. "I don't hate your eyes, okay?" Part of me is hassled of having to comfort him about his eyes when we are actually running late.

"When I woke up after I hit my head, you were scared of me. And since then, I always feel like you hate my eyes."

"Now you know I don't hate them." I looked into his blue-and-green eyes. It's still strange although as not as strange as before. But fortunately, I didn't admire them either. Let's say I dislike him - which is unconfirmed - for making me feel like he is my parents' new favorite not-blood related person. Of course, Nuvian is an exception of someone I am jealous of because he is a biological one. But really, I was glad I didn't admire his eyes because it was stupid to like something from your rival. Forget that I mentioned that he looks good with his haircut.

Childish, I know. But you can't blame me, I have a story of abandonment.

He smiled, looking down on me. "I think we should go now."

1
$ 7.21
$ 7.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments