Lurking In The Dark 24

0 19
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
1 year ago

I was in the middle of a desert, surrounded by nothing but the oceans of sand stretched far. The sun was directed on land in straight angle that my shadow was shaped into a ball right below me, yet I couldn't feel any heat. I felt small and heavy, squinting my eyes hard from the shining light of the sun. The place felt hopeless like a den of death, waiting for me to collapse in the middle. I didn't know the way out, I didn't know why I was here. All I know was my desire to be away, away from this lifeless place but nobody seemed to be coming to rescue me. I was alarmed of what was happening, I wanted to cry for being alone in this place yet I couldn't help myself to. All I did was look around and look around, waiting for a miracle.

"Where am I? Help!" I screamed, and strangely my voice echoed though there were no mountains or obstacles for the sound waves to bounce back. It was like screaming into a well.

A blurry image of someone walking towards me appeared. It was strange since the surrounding was in sharp edges yet the person was blurry, I couldn't see his face at all. He held his hand to me and I didn't know why I reached for it, I didn't know him. But as I touched his cold hands, the edges sharpened until I could finally made out his face.

"Drev?" I whispered under my breath and it echoed again. Everything disappeared and I was suddenly aware that it was only a dream. I sat on my bed, thinking of the dream. But used of having dreams, pleasant or not, I just came downstairs to have a drink. I saw Drev sitting on the couch at the living room with the telephone held up to his ears. I rolled my eyes as I went straight to the kitchen. "Saleri again."

I finished drinking and as I put the glass in the sink I noticed Drev leaning against the door frame of the kitchen entrance. "Why are you still up?" His hair was a mess like it had been ruffled and uncombed for years. His hands were crossed on his chest. "Aren't you supposed to be asleep?"

I shrugged. "I had a dream, that's why. How about you?" I asked although it was clear that it was because Saleri. I leaned against the sink and listened to the humming song coming out from the midnight radio. I wondered if he put it on to make himself in mood as he flirted.

"I hope it was a pleasant dream," he said and I nodded in assurance that it was. He walked up to me and leaned against the sink beside me. He drew a long sigh. "What would you do if the person you care about is in danger?"

"Is this some kind of 3am talk about life and bla bla bla?"

He chuckled. "Maybe," he answered, running his finger through his hair and looking at it for a fall out, I guessed. "What would you do?"

"Save that person no matter what it takes, of course. Even it means risking my own life because what is the point of living if the person I love is gone? Why? Is Saleri in danger?"

"Right," he answered, ignoring my question regarding Saleri. Maybe he looked stressed lately because he was having a hard time choosing between the two girls. And in the moment of silence he added, "You like that guy, Relis."

I looked at him in shock. "Am I that obvious?" It was already too late when I realized it shouldn't had been my response. I should have denied yet I was caught off guard that it was hard to think at all of what to say.

He shook his head. "I mean, not really. But it's just that we are always together so I just seemed to solve the puzzle. All those late arrivals to hunt class, always sitting right next to him, and the way you blushed when you have a small talk." I blush?

"Keep you mouth shut." I glared at him. He shook his head in amusement and his hair swayed freely as well. "Don't tell anybody, Drev." There was a sudden dimming of the light and quick soft motion landing on my lips, I shook my head and everything was back to normal.

"I won't." Drev stood straight, placing his hand inside his pockets. "Good night, Grassi."

2
$ 0.30
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
1 year ago

Comments