Lurking In The Dark 23

0 14
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

After the human anatomy class was hunt class. And to do the the usual thing I do of being late to hunt class, I idled at the hallway. I stared at the bulletin boards, pretending to be interested in reading them while Drev was standing next to me who was actually reading. His hands were clasped behind him and he had a look of interest in his face. I followed his gaze and was led to the section of archaelogical discoveries. He suddenly cleared his throat and looked down on me (because I was only as tall as his armpit). "Oh my God," he said under his breath.

I frowned. "What?" I touched my face for dirt but stopped when he leaned against the board and closed his eyes like he had the weight of the world and was looking for a way to keep it off his shoulders. "Is everything okay?" I asked again.

"Jesus," he sighed. As time passed by, his voice was getting clearer and clearer although never the full one but there were still times when it came back to the whisper voice. "This can't be."

I smirked. "You said 'Jesus' and I realized I don't know what your religion is. I am Leran."

Drev was facing the balconies of the hallway that gave you the view of the statue of Sergeant Ford standing stiffly in the middle of the hot day. Drev's back was against the wall, staring at the statue and I was given a chance to look at his profile through my peripheral vision as I studied the decorations of the edging of the board. His nose was straight, no bumps.

"I don't have one," he said. He looked preoccupied more and more everyday, I see no reason for him to be in terms of performance in school. So perhaps, it was about his dating life. I couldn't tell that he had a sex life since he doesn't do meet ups, or he sneaks out in the middle of the night? Aha, perhaps the reason why he looked like that was the fact that he doesn't have one. Ew, I don't wanna even think about that at all.

I nodded. "Oh, okay."

When the bell rang, we ran to hunt class. Mr. Lacna was already handing out slips to be signed by our parents. When Drev asked for two, Mr. Lacna handed him two slips as he looked into Drev's eyes over his spectacles that was hanging lowly on the tip of his nose. Mr. Lacna cleared his throat that sounded like a growl and watched as Drev handed my slip to me. "Surely your guardians will let you go to the hunting." And when none of us answered he added, "It was unexpected of you Mr. Agustine. I have observed you in my class and all I could say is you're silent and observing. Spectacular! How did you do it?"

Drev nodded which seemed to be forced matched by a small smile, unappreciative of the compliment from the old man judging from his lack of response. Unexpectedly, he held his hand, palm looking up the sky. Mr. Lacna was surprised by the gesture that he asked, "Yeah?" He looked at Drev's hand and then at him with his brow cocked. "What about that?"

"Hunter's thank you."

"Yes, yes. How could I forget?" Mr. Lacna said as he shook his head in amusement, pressing a thumb to the middle of Drev's palm as a sign 'you are welcome'. He held a hand to the class as if telling as to take a ground to squat on. "Great. Perhaps we should start the class now."

We will have the tadalsi hunting next month using the new kinds of traps we learned this year. If only our permit was signed by our guardians. I couldn't wait any longer because of excitement to be working with Relis.

1
$ 0.43
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments