Lurking In The Dark 22

0 16
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fantasy, Mystery, Fiction

I no longer wait for Drev whenever Ms. Halia asks him to stay every after class dismissal. But this time I did because I was the one who was bringing the lunch Mom made for us, and I forgot to give it to him earlier. He didn't sit with us anymore, he now sits within Irela's territory table together with her friends and some of her friends' boyfriends.

It was a bit strange for me to sit with Saleri. How amazing it was how she could keep herself from looking at Drev's direction, knowing that he and she still have the calls going on. She didn't even look jealous at all.

She doesn't care that her boyfriend sits with another girl? Or she is the second girl and Irela is the main one? How could she eat in peace? This is the right thing huh? That silly jerk.

Out of impatience of standing here at the hallway with a lunch box held to my chest (because I liked the feel of the heat on my chest) I eavesdropped on the conversation taking place inside. I would stuck my ear to the door. Luckily, the hallway was lonely since everyone was either having lunch or still in their classes, so I didn't have to look out for anyone and pretend I wasn't doing anything nosy.

I couldn't make out the words, all muffled and dull and I couldn't tell if it was Drev or Ms. Halia although their voice was supposedly very distinctive from each other. But I made out a few words.

Believe me...you are...alive...save...hair...

Get...weak...keep the...move

Whatever that was it was just probably another boring talk. It didn't make sense so I finally gave up and leaned against the wall. Drev came out of the door, frowning at my presence. Probably confused to see me waiting for him.

I shoved the lunch box to his chest. He took it and thanked me, and I walked out without saying a word. He didn't say a word too, he just walked behind me, I could feel the heavy ring around his aura so I turned, my hand resting on my hips. "Did Ms. Halia give you sneak peek of your grades and you found out you failed history because you wouldn't sleep with her?"

He smirked, a sad smirk. I wasn't sure if it was because I was right or because everything about him was sad and eerie. "No, nothing. Hey, don't you wanna sit with me instead with the twins and Saleri?"

A line formed in my forehead. "No way. You know I don't want anything to do with---" I didn't finish what I said, afraid someone will hear us since we were now in the entrance of the cafeteria. I just wiggled my eyebrow and somehow he got the message.

He exhaled, putting his a hand inside his hoodie pocket with the other hand holding the lunch box and it seemed that he clenched a fist since the cloth shaped into a circle. "Yeah, sorry. I think I should stop getting involved with the two?"

I walked a little farther from Drev when I felt Irela's eyes on me. She was laughing with her friends about something but her eyes were on me. Observing, far from threatening. It was a look of understanding to see me with Drev, knowing that we live in the same household. Yet it was enough for me to remember that no matter how she looked to be understanding of the relationship between Drev and I, I should stay away for the sake of avoiding potential trouble.

I snorted like I heard a joke. "I told you to do the right thing, but what you did was get involved with the two. And now you're telling me to cut off from them? Really, do whatever. It's up to you. There's no point giving you advice when you do your own meaning of--" I air quoted, "right. Which was clearly the whole way around."

We were walking slow for the conversation yet it was time for me to go the other way so we halted in the middle of the intersection aisle, surrounded by the cafeteria tables and sea of crowd that was blabbering their own businesses as we were.

If Drev was a bank he would be bankrupted by now from all the glances stolen from him. It was surprising how lanky guys like him could get attention. Since for me, muscular was better. Like Relis, my dear Relis. "I'm so confused with everything. Can't we just quit school?" Drev asked, his lunch box pinned by his arm to his side. He glanced at one of his admirers and turn abruptly to me.

"You want to quit school because of these two girls?"

He ran his fingers to his hair and exhaled. "No, this is actually not about them, I guess," he said, eyeing each of the two girls who were both talking. "It's something else weird. Can't we?"

I shrugged. I was hungry. "Quit on your own. I have dreams. Now, bye. I will eat my lunch. And next time, you might want to tell me what's the talk from Ms. Halia all about instead of this quiting school thingy. Because believe me, I'd rather have you quit school."

1
$ 0.21
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fantasy, Mystery, Fiction

Comments