Lurking In The Dark 21

0 16
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

I nodded. "Yes, sure. I will tell Nuvian and parents that. They would surely consider your suggestion," I said trying to hide my boredom. Nuvian chooses what path he wants, these people expecting him to play Atruf forever are putting pressure on him. And I don't like anyone to push pressure on him, and it's not time yet to talk about such matter. I mean I understand the concern but I know how Nuvian hates it when he is expected to win every single game.

He pointed in the air. "Good! Now, I think that is all to talk about."

I exhaled loudly as I got out from the office. Kevan schooling system, small matter that could be talked over the phone yet personal meet was more preferred. But I wasn't really bothered, I didn't mind the short meeting since I loved to drive, what drained my energy was the expectations put on my brother's shoulder.

Along the hallway, I met the same short girl with elfish features who was worried when Nuvian got into a fight. She seemed to recognize me because she halted to a stop and gave me a shy smile. "Hello, Lady Grassi."

"Oh, no formal greeting please," I said, delighted of her politeness. "Lily Kaler, right?"

She nodded. "Yes. Nuvian, is he okay?" Her blue round eyes looked up to me with worry. She was wearing a skirt and crop top, what street girls wear yet she managed to look decent and modest somehow.

"Uh, I'm not sure," I answered, thinking it was the appropriate thing to say. If I say "no" then she would be worried more, judging the sad look in her doll-ish eyes she was already worried. If I say "yes" then she would think that Nuvian was fake for how easy of him to move on when there she was in front of me with a sad look. Although Nuvian claimed that he was doing good, I know he still cares for Lily.

"I'm sorry but I just really have to break up with him. Things are going downhill with my Dad's work, I don't think it's time for relationships."

I was surprised of how both handled the relationship. Serious and mature. I didn't know what to say so I said, "Anything you want me to say to him?'

She took something from her pocket and handed it to me. "Please give it back to him. I, uh, got to go. Bye, Grassi." Off she ran, the heels of her shoes clinking loudly against the floor that it created an eerie and sad feeling. I had a feeling she was about to cry.

I stared at the bracelet on the palm. It was handmade, crafted from small seashells tied together by a blue tie. They clink together, creating a tingling sound of a small bell. And there was one stone of a color of emerald and when I held it to light, it illuminated a picture of Lily in a pretty dress.

"Grassi, are you going to leave without me again?" Drev asked when he saw me grabbing my jacket and heading for the door. "You left without me this afternoon."

I rolled my eyes. "You're like a baby and I'm your mom or I'M like a baby and you're my protective dad. It's not like we have connected intestines."

He just ignored my remark. "Where are you going?"

I groaned. "I'm going to the lake. To go swimming." Then I opened the door and felt him standing still, watching me. I glanced back at him, my eyes rolling in irritation. "You can come if you want."

He didn't say a word on our way to the lake. And there was silence from us except for the snapping branches under our feet and my constant groan complaints from all the branches that would hit my face. It was around four in the evening yet it was already twilight. Drev's skin glowed in the dark and so was my hair.

When we reached the lake, I made him turn and not to peek out as I took off my clothes, leaving myself in underwears. I ran along the wooden ramp and told him he could finally turn when I was already in the water. I swam again and when I resurfaced to the water, Drev was already in the water with me a few meters ahead.

"Wow, you can really swim."

He replied a smile to my praise and swam to me. He appeared out from the water and walked to me, staring me in the eyes as he took steps. I felt something heat up within me so I dipped myself.

1
$ 0.38
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments